We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful romantic hotel”
Review of Hotel Lancelot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Lancelot
Ranked #29 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed at the Lancelot for two nights post cruise,I had found the hotel on trip advisor and was definitely not disappointed.

I booked the hotel via email and all correspondence was very fast and efficient I upgraded the room to one with a garden terrace and it was just so beautiful. We arrived early at the hotel around 10.30am and reception was exceptionally nice and friendly we even had breakfast (our second of the day) there was a nice continental selection of bread,cheese,smoked salmon,cereals etc which was all lovely. Our room was ready about 40mins after arriving the security man escorted us up to the room,showed us how to work the shutters and then brought our cases. Our room which was on the 1st floorwas lovely and cool and airy and quite quaint the terrace was just beautiful was a mosaic table and chairs and lots of plants and
shrubs. I was so glad I had booked it!

The terrace was great for drinking wine on and it also was good for socialising we had 2 couples on either side from New Jersey (hello if u are reading this we hope u enjoyed ur tour) and we really enjoyed chatting with them! I also went up to the terrace on the 6th floor which has stunning views and had a lovely chat with another American couple and a French lady.

The hotel is in a great location very safe and only 2 mins walk to the colosseum we walked everywhere during our stay there are also lots of nice restaurants near the hotel so an abundance of places to eat. The hotel do offer dinner which I heard was good and we would probably have booked it to try if we had stayed longer they even offer to make you something different if the set menu does not suit so very accommodating! I also loved the owners little dog that wandered in the reception it was cute and we even seen it being transported in a backpack on a scooter with the owner which was a sight to see.

You will not be disappointed if you book this hotel it's beautiful and the staff are very friendly we just wished we could have spent longer but having just came from a cruise we couldn't complain.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poppit-harvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,834)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lancelot
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,173 - 1,179 of 1,834 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was a wonderful experience for our family of 4. The front desk staff was superior, and helped us with all we needed. The check in was easy, and the rooms were very good. As usual for Europe, small, but they worked fine for us. The breakfast kept us full throuh the day, and the selection was very good.

The location was equally excellent. On a side road, we were able to walk just about everywhere. Close to the Roman Forum and Coloseum, the location was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liverdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel Lancelot was a wonderful oasis in bustling Rome, on a quiet street just a short stroll from the Colosseum. The family room was large and airy, with a wrap-around balcony. The hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful with tickets, restaurant recommendations, bus routes, taxis, etc. It was a great value. We would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sullsfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Returning once again to this exquisite "Italian Hotel". We had to return after our last trip in 2007. Hotel Lancelot exudes the Family Flavour of hotels in Roma. The welcoming atmosphere, the food is 'Par excellance".... never had a bad dinner! Great presentation and soooo tasty!
3 course with coffee and liquer to follow. Hotelier Mrs Khan and her family take exceptional care to meet and eat with their guests which makes it a real family affair. Rooms are very comfortable...ample but simple and clean, TV in every room and even if you don't manage to get a Balcony... there are several terraces you can relax on. A complete example of the best Rome can offer and such a great base to explore the eternal city, 350 metres to the Colloseum..... Ciao Bella... we will continue to Return ...
Mary and Bryce Jones... Mandurah Western Australia

Room Tip: All rooms are of a good size but if you want to view the Colloseum at night... request a room with a...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marynbryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Great location right behind the coliseum
The building is very nice and has parking for an additional 10 eur/night; the staff is very helpful; the rooms are large and clean, all different with nice simple furniture and mini bathrooms.
Nice breakfast

Overall very good value for money. will certainly return!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanixNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

The Hotel Lancelot is such excellent value, so well located and beautifully run by superb staff, it's easy to overlook the building itself - a small work of art , an Art Deco gem, very subtle and understated but gorgeous in every detail. If you want something overstuffed and glitz, this is probably not for you. If you want a hotel that clears the head (it's just round the corner from the wild and chaotic Colosseum - on the wonderfully named Via Capo D'Africa), it's a jewel.

Room Tip: We had two different rooms, one with a large terrace (smaller room) and one with a small balcony (la...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magdalen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The location of this hotel is fabulous. 5 mins walk from Colosseum and rest of ancient city... The hotel was good till one night we realised that water was dripping continuously from our AC. Next day we found out that our friend had water coming out from shower cublicle and making the bathroom wet. We complained and issues were taken care of. But then i met couple of other families (a Chinese and American) who had issues with their toilets... The breakfast was decent but lacked eggs which we had gotten so used to eating at every other place we stayed at across Italy. They dont have tea/ coffee kettles in the room and for your bed tea i had to go all the way to breakfast room... The staff were good but i think they need to do periodic maintenance of this place and change a few things around.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Varunnayyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#139 of 1,267 in Rome
1,004 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#14 of 1,267 in Rome
618 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#71 of 1,267 in Rome
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Residenza Maritti
Residenza Maritti
#13 of 1,267 in Rome
380 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Monti
Princeps Boutique Hotel
Princeps Boutique Hotel
#20 of 1,267 in Rome
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lancelot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lancelot

Address: Via Capo d'Africa 47 | Colosseum - Celio, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rome
#39 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#44 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $127 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lancelot 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lancelot is a peaceful haven at a short stroll from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. The friendly english speaking staff are always willing to help you with suggestions and tips on discovering Rome's treasure's. A distinctive feature of the Hotel are the " round tables" at which people from every corner of the earth meet and converse over breakfast or the generous evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lancelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancelot Hotel Rome
Hotel Lancelot Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing