We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best hotel we stayed in Italy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Britannia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Britannia Hotel
Ranked #131 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best hotel we stayed in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed there at the beginning of October in a room with our private terrace and it was absolutely amazing. Very clean, comfortable rooms with a feel of something luxurious. We will definirely return one day!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank User15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you User15.
You enjoyed, you would come back.. you share this feeling here: what else we could ask for?
Thank you very much, we would be happy to welcome you again.
Best regards,
Simona Rongione, Guest Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    356
    71
    29
    16
See reviews for
229
614
26
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We arrived later than expected and despite this, the team quickly and efficiently accommodated our room request. The room was well laid out and the bathroom was sparkling clean. The location could not have been better, walking distance to many tourist attractions such as the Trevi, Spanish Steps and the Four Fountains. The hotel is situated on a quiet side street, off of via Nationale, guaranteeing a good night sleep - which is exactly what you need after a long day of sightseeing. Also, a marvelous surprise, we had a complimentary mini-bar (beer, soft drinks, juice, still and sparking water).The breakfast buffet was abundant, with fresh fruit; everything you could possibly want was there - even stripped bacon. The wait staff was extremely friendly and courteous. The entire team was professional and friendly throughout our 3 day stay. We greatly appreciated Simona's 'can do' attitude and couldn't have asked for more. Definitely would go back - location location location

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NBrunswicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear NBrunswicker,
we realize we couldn't ask for more than our Guests' words. Every new feedback is a boost, every single Guest taking the time to write has our deep gratitude. goos things mean we managed being home to you, bad things help us to understand and to introduce ourselves in a deeper way to reading travellers.
You write beautiful words, thank you very much.
Best to you.
Simona Rongione, Guest Care. Hotel Britannia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Having already travelled through Europe for seven weeks, our last port of call was Rome, before the journey back to Australia. With little to no knowledge of the city of Rome, my wife and I used Tripadvisor to assist us with our hotel booking at the Britannia in via Napoli.

And we were extremely pleased with the outcome.

The location of the hotel is perfect in terms of walking to most of the city highlights and also has easy access to transport, a myriad of eateries and stacks of shops to please the ladies.
The hotel is very well presented with tasteful furnishings and decor and our room was elegant, spotlessly clean with a very good standard of amenities and facilities.

The American Buffet breakfast was excellent with a very wide variety of food choices - one of the best breakfasts we had while in Europe.

From the moment we checked in, we felt welcome and quite comfortable.
All staff were friendly, positive and consistently helpful. Mr Rossi, the hotel manager, was a true gentleman, and we appreciated both his sense of humour and his helpful advice and recommendations to some of the most excellent restaurants we have ever dined at.

A special thank you to Simona who is really an integral part of guest relations. Her warm personality, her problem solving approach to guests needs and requests, her positive, friendly disposition, encouraged an atmosphere which was a great pleasure to enjoy.
An enjoyable and memorable stay in Rome.

Greg and Mary
Gold Coast
Queensland
Australia

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Greg Y,
the very moment you entered we understood you would have been our victory, enjyoing what we are and exchanging the same mood, as well as our failure, pointing out what you "did not like" and your funny "i don't like anything and I don't like anyone" soon became our daily call.. Thank you for "disliking" us so much in your "terrible" feedback on Tripadvisor.
We'll be happy to see you back. True.
Best regards to you, Greg and Mary.
Simona Rongione, Guest Care, and the Manager at Hotel Britannia, Roma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very nice hotel! Friendly staff, rooms, location ( walking distance), good Breakfast. We arrived very early, but we immediately offered to settle in the room. The room was large and with its own terrace. TV in the bathroom. Simona - super! She helped tourists with the solution of their problems. Simona helped with ticket reservation to the Vatican, advised several good restaurants nearby, showed her favourite places in Rome in the map. In the birthday of my husband, when we came back in our room, we found a bottle of champagne. Every day was replenished mini-bar, it was included in the room rate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAYYA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much, MAYYA B.
we are happy your days in Rome were more enjoyable for staying with us. We love hosting Guests that are Friends, we love sharing their celebrations and we love helping them love our beautiful city with suggestions and information.
Thank you for being so nice, please come back..
Best regards.
Simona Rongione, Guest Care. Hotel Britannia, Roma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Need I say more? Faultless and friendly service in truly elegant surroundings. Concierge advice just enabled us to get the maximum out of our short stay. Historic building, moments from Metro and buses and easy walking distance of ancient monuments, Trevi etc without being "touristy" Superb breakfast. No other meals served but this is fine because who wants eat in the hotel with all that cafe culture out there. Small but really convenient car park on site just rounds it off. Next time in Rome, won't go anywhere else.

Room Tip: Parking limited so pre-book. Don't sleep through breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you, Mike G.
Very nice words and great advice to more travellers about coming down in time to enjoy their breakfast, that is the only very -generous and quality- meal we serve and you are right: Rome is rich and waiting to feed you for the rest of the day.
We'll be happy to welcome you back.
Best regards.
Simona Rongione, Guest Care Manager at Hotel Britannia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Britannia Hotel provided a great location in the heart of Rome, excellent as a base for sightseeing.

It's situated in a quiet street, Via Napoli, but in a very convenient position. It is approximately 10 minutes walk from Rome's Termini rail and bus stations and about 5 minutes from Republica metro station. Buses also run along the adjacent Via Nazionale. My wife and I tended to walk to most of the city's attractions from the hotel, exploring some of the wonderful streets, shops and restaurants while en route. For example, the Colosseum is about 20 minutes walk to the east and the Spanish Steps about 10 minutes walk north.

It is small but efficient hotel offering a personal touch. The staff are friendly and helpful, especially Simona who made us feel very welcome. We arrived way ahead of the 3pm check-in time but our room was made available very soon after arrival - while waiting we were offered complimentary drinks and biscuits.

Although our room was 'compact', it contained all that was required for our stay. This also included a complimentary mini-bar (beer, soft drinks and water). This was a nice touch. We did experience a little 'noise leakage' from a neighbouring room - TV and high spirited conversation - but this didn't detract from our overall experience at the hotel. Breakfast was included and the wide ranging selection set us up nicely for a day's - after all it can be hard work being a tourist!

The hotel is probably best suited to couples looking for a quieter stay away from the sometimes hustle and bustle of the larger, more impersonal chain-hotels. The Hotel Britannia is small but suited our needs very well and we decided that, when we return to Rome in the future, this would be our first choice for accommodation.

Room Tip: Request a room with a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Londinium741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Londinium741,
thank you for the time you dedicated to writing such a beautiful and detailled feedback. We love you understood the mood, you caught the mood of our rooms, not big but comfortable and offering all services, most of all we love you point-out our meaning: a quite, intimate home for our Guests.
We hope you come back.
Thank you very much.
Simona Rongione, Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Brittania in mid September for three nights - for us it was perfect in every way. The rooms are clean and tastefully furnished and the added bonus of a fully stocked fridge with complimentary drinks every day was fantastic. The location of the hotel is also excellent - right in the middle of the action, yet still quiet at night - what more could you ask for. The bus terminal and metro are a block away which we found very useful. For a small hotel, the buffet breakfast breakfast was bette than expected. The thing that stood out for us, however, was the friendly helpful front desk service - as soon as we arrived Simona gave us ten minutes explaining what there was to do in Rome and gave us useful tips. This personal service continued throughout our stay by all the hotel's staff. Thank you Hotel Brittania - we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDudes555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thanks to you, TravelDudes555.
If you really come back, we'll be happy to be home again to you.
Best regards,
Simona Rongione, Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel
Dharma Hotel
#60 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#51 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,931 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#64 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Hotel

Property: The Britannia Hotel
Address: Via Napoli 64, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Britannia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally situated in Rome, The Britannia Hotel welcomes you in a historical elegant building within the Hills of Viminale and Quirinale, at short walking distance from the famous Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps and from the main sights, 15 minutes away from the Coliseum area. Friendly and caring Staff, cosy and quiet ambiance, quality service, large and rich american buffet breakfast will help you feeling home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your The Britannia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing