We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Britannia Hotel
Ranked #129 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My room was not ready when I arrived, but the front desk representative was very friendly and provided me with some juice and cookies and helpful tourist maps when I waited -- I've not seen this done at other hotels.

A particularly classy touch is their complimentary fruit basket with a mini bottle of wine (the best wine I had during my visit) waiting for new guests. I stayed for 5 mights, so they sent a car to pick me up at the airport.

The breakfast buffet was excellent - good food, variety and service, and the housekeeping was also excellent -- they repaired my retractable clothesline right away. The bath was very modern (even had a TV).

The only negative was my room did not have natural light - the window had metal slats that did not open, presumably for security, as I was on the first floor. I was able to open the window to sense the temperature and rain conditions, but would greatly have preferred more of a view.

Location is only a few blocks from Republica metro station. Also walkable to Termini station if you have luggage with wheels.

Room Tip: Room 101 has a full size bed but not much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear RFJ,
we wish to thank you for taking the time to share your good feedback.
Thank you also for pointing out our way to welcome our Guests, we use to say that we wish to be Home for you all, so we start from the moment you enter.
Your room is a nice and elegant room, it is true that for security reasons rooms on first floor facing the street or areas not property of Britannia, are protected by grills.. we are very happy to read that this did not reduce the quality of your days in beautiful Rome..
We all hope to see you back.
The Staff, Hotel Britannia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

460 - 466 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights at the end of April. This is a great location with a concierge, Simona, who helped us with our planning before we even arrived. Her hospitality and ability to make one feel at home was so appreciated.The breakfast by far exceeds anything else that we have seen in a Europe hotel. Not only did it offer all the continental options but included delicious scrambled eggs, meats and marinated vegetables. This was a great way to start the day. The room that we had was a nice size and offered amenities such as a pair of slippers. What a wonderful start to a lovely vacation! Don and Denise, Florida

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fiftyisfabulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Don and Denise,
Thank you from all of us for your enthusiasm, for enjoying your days with us, for sharing your beautiful feedback. Thank you for telling our breakfast much better than the way we would..

We hope to welcome you back.
Simona & the Staff, Hotel Britannia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights in Hotel Britannia and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was small but certainly adequate and the bath was large and attractively decorated. The breakfast included with our room was delicious and offered a variety of hot and cold foods. The staff were all very friendly and helpful; after 3 days they felt like family. The location was great for touring the fountains, the Pantheon, the Coliseum and Forum. We walked many places or took the metro which was only 3 blocks away. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xNYcabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear xNYcabby,
We would definitely welcome you back and again, you and anybody sharing their impressions here.. We wish we had hundreds of rooms to welcome everybody everyday, new and old Friends..

Thank you from the Staff.
Hotel Britannia, Roma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

After 5 days at hotel Britannia we decided that this will become our new home in Rome whenever we’ll return and in this way we wish to thank everyone in the service minded staff who made our stay so very nice! At our arrival we immediately felt how well the staff took care of us by offering us something to drink in the cozy bar before showing us our pleasant, clean and comfortable room. To our surprise we also had beverages free of charge in the minibar as well as a boiler for making coffee or tea. In the mornings we enjoyed a fantastic breakfast buffet filled with all that one could wish including a lot of tasty fresh fruit! We had a good night’s sleep even if the beds were a little bit too hard. But that was compensated by the gentle touch of the helpful receptionists. We highly recommend hotel Brittania and say Arrivederci, we’ll meet again!
Lena and Jonas, Sweden

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lena p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

This is the way we love to take care of our Guests, Lena and Jonas, and is the way our Guests (you) let us do it.
Thank you so much for appreciating and for sharing your wonderful impressions..
Waiting for you to come back..

Simona & the whole Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had stayed at the Hotel Britannia several years ago and was very impressed with how pleasant and helpful the staff was. For this reason, my wife and I decided to return to this hotel when we recently spent three weeks in Italy. We stayed in the hotel for one week in March of 2013 and were not disappointed. Again, the staff could not have been more accommodating. Our room was on the small side, but it was comfortable and nicely decorated. The complementary mini- bar was refilled daily.
The location was very good. Walking is not a problem for us, so we could walk to most attractions. Otherwise, a taxi would be necessary.
The complementary breakfast was probably the best we experienced during our stay. In contrast to a large chain hotel, this small boutique hotel has friendly atmosphere. We truly felt like a guest in a European.
We would definitely return to The Hotel Britannia on a future visit to Rome. We will recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for staying with us once, William K.. thank you for coming back some years later.
You (and so many Friends) enjoyed our way and this makes us enjoy the same way..
Once again, thank you.

Simona Rongione and the Staff
Hotel Britannia, Roma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Britannia is as close to perfect as we have ever experienced. The entire staff is very helpful and informed, the rooms are beautifully appointed, the breakfast is lovingly prepared with many selections, and although the Hotel itself is very close to all the major attractions, it is quiet and peaceful inside. It is not a huge impersonal Hotel and is a perfect introduction to the friendly and welcoming atmosphere that Italy has to offer as an authentic experience. Additionally, I would book directly with the Hotel as they may be running some specials!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atshemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear atshemi,
you wrote the perfect "promotional" message, describing the Britannia the way it is: we work everyday (with our Guests) to make it what it is. Breakfast is the "summa" of our policy: Home and confort during your days in Rome.
Thankn you so much for your time and for sharing.

Best regards and please, come back..
The Staff, Hotel Britannia. Roma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Rome. We spend 3 nights in a lovely room with a nice size balcony, surrounded with vegetation, but yet, sunny. A laid-back atmosphere, in the center of this urban city. The room was beautifully arranged and comfortable to the last detail. It seems that who runs this hotel, planed it from the point of view of the guests needs and pleasure+ more (in the bathroom there was an option for operating sunbathing light!).
Wi-fi, mini bar in the room, cafe in the lobby - all without an extra charge.
Most of all, was the staff and service, which were all, from A to Z, welcoming, helpful, and professional. Special thanks, to the great Guest Manager, Seniora Simona who made us feel at home.
Next time we will visit Rome, we surely stay here. This is our home in Rome!

Room Tip: Ask for a room wirh a balcony. they have 4 of them. we had room nu.402. it felt like a quiet mini pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Hi, Golan B.
It was nice to meet you everyday, each day so enthusiastic and nice.
You got exactly our mood and you gave back your corteousness.
We appreciated your generous and wonderful feedback and your time to share it.

Thank you from your "home in Rome"..
Simona Rongione & the Staff, Hotel Britannia. Roma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#19 of 1,271 in Rome
4,333 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#6 of 1,271 in Rome
6,963 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,271 in Rome
2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#39 of 1,271 in Rome
1,400 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#40 of 1,271 in Rome
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Hotel

Address: Via Napoli 64, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $115 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Britannia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally situated in Rome, The Britannia Hotel welcomes you in a historical elegant building within the Hills of Viminale and Quirinale, at short walking distance from the famous Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps and from the main sights, 15 minutes away from the Coliseum area. Friendly and caring Staff, cosy and quiet ambiance, quality service, large and rich american buffet breakfast will help you feeling home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Britannia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing