We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel of two halves” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Locarno Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Locarno Rome
Ranked #614 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A hotel of two halves”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Small group of three, staying in single rooms (103, 108, 109)
For: Great breakfasts, clean, good location near to Piazza del Popolo and within walking distance of Flaminio Metro station (several hundred metres)
Against: All three rooms were small, had no working TVs (staff ignored requests to fix), no working safes, incredibly dim lighting, showers with defective doors. 108 also had a shower suitable only the thinnest of people. All rooms needed redecorating and modernising.
Comments: There must be better, more modern, better equipped rooms in this hotel. However, the basic singles we were allocated would only qualify as 2 star accommodation - so if you use this hotel upgrade to deluxe or superior rooms. Beds are very firm - I loved this but not to everyone's taste.

Room Tip: Don't choose a basic single room unless you are happy with 2 star quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nomadfromherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    262
    103
    106
    74
See reviews for
106
276
57
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I didn't hate my stay at Hotel Locarno but I didn't love it either. The hotel lobby/building/bar/eating area are lovely - old world charm feel with all the touches. The staff were nice but not overly friendly. The breakfast was really nice - lots of options and good service. Eating in the courtyard was a treat that made the stay better.

My issue was with the rooms - they are very outdated and very small. There was barely any light in the room which made it very difficult to do anything. The bed felt like a university room bed - not all that comfortable. The TV was extremely outdated - not that I watched any. There was no place to put my luggage so I resorted to balancing my carry-on on a chair. The side table was old and worn as were the fixtures in the room.

The bathroom was very outdated and in need of some TLC. The tap leaked the entire time I was there - there was just no way to stop it. The shower was very small and turning around or moving around was a challenge. While it wasn't a huge issue - I did notice a lot of ants about the room and I don't think it was bc the rooms were dirty.

One of my biggest issues was the noise level - if you are a light sleeper I'd reconsider or ask for a room that doesn't face the street as mine did.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aslondon33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in March. The hotel is a short walk from the Vatican and convenient for some of the other major attractions, Piazza Novena, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon etc. The room we stayed in was quite small and dark with the bathroom being compact -but as we were out most of the time we did not mind. All areas of the hotel were spotlesssly clean. Breakfast was delicious with a plentiful selection of food on offer. Afternoon tea was a revelation and the hotel has a wide choice of teas on offer, including their own blend. Every member of staff we came into contact with was unfailingly polite and friendly and knew their jobs very well. We would certainly consider staying here again if we ever return to Rome

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pukeko54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had the most wonderful stay here. Great bar, and good location to visit the most of Rome's attractions. Hotel is situated on a quiet street, but with several good restaurants in the neighborhood. Very reasonable prices for the location....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bol186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Locarno for a week. The location off the Popolo is excellent. The prices are quite reasonable.The rooms are uneven in quality so ask to see a few before you check in. We ended up with a very nice room,The breakfast which is included is good enough with a nice variety of offerings. It is served inside and out in a courtyard, These same rooms turn into a lively bar frequented by elegant Romans in the evening so it makes for great people watching.

Room Tip: we had room 403, very nice, large, two windows with soundproof glass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retiree72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
319 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel is on a quiet side street and we stayed on the building across the main hotel. It was charming to stay in the restored old mansion, for we had read some reviews that the main buildign was noisy at night. We just had to cross the street to go have breakfast and enjoy our evening cocktails with the city folks coming there after work.
The patio was so charming with an old fountain, in the evenings they had electric heaters to warm the guests.
The hotel personnel was more than happy to guide us to where to go and see. This hotel will be on my list next time we go to Rome because we walked everywhere, even to the Vatican.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4historyandculture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We only popped in for an afternoon drink in their courtyard bar, but it was an excellent experience. Lovely covered outdoor terrace bar with patio heaters and a really cool vibe to it.

The staff were friendly and if we're back in Rome then we would definitely check out staying here as the hotel looked amazing and in a great location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClashCityWomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Anahi
Hotel Anahi
#168 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Valadier
Hotel Valadier
#240 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Campo Marzio
Piranesi Palazzo Nainer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#118 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#57 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#141 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Locarno Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locarno Rome

Property: Hotel Locarno Rome
Address: Via della Penna 22, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#284 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Locarno Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel back in time to the 1920s!Near the splendid Piazza del Popolo, at the very heart of Rome, is a romantic and intimate guesthouse sought by actors, directors, writers, producers and musicians. Its two buildings are adjoined by an open garden where in spring and summer guests can take their breakfast and lunch or just an excellent aperitif. Enjoy relax and atmosphere in our bedrooms and suites strictly antique but also featuring modern facilities.Hotel Locarno: we’ll make you feel welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Locarno Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locarno Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing