We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby chic and lots of atmosphere...”
Review of Hotel Locarno Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Locarno Rome
Ranked #595 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Don't visit this hotel if you expect a new and functional hotel. If you like flair and history you will love it...I always come back and enjoy the feeling of visiting an old aristocratic uncle...each room is different, very nice and friendly stuff, old bathrooms with art deco style and chandeliers, great garden to start your day with a delicious breakfast...it belongs to rome and I feel at home meanwhile. it made my business trips feel like holiday.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room, management will be helpful and find you another ne, they are all di...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sistamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Locarno Rome
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 758 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

We visited hotel Locarno in August 2012 and stayed for four nights. We got a very good deal on the net (422 euros) for double room, which itself was very small, but had all the amenities you could need. Air condition worked, but was little bit underpowered and there was some things that were a little bit broken, like the soap cup in the shower, etc - which really didnt matter or had an effect on our holiday. Otherwise the room that we had was clean (except under the bed) and we were more than capable to use it for sleeping (and some extra hobbies).

Do not trust the room photos in advertisements. They are suites - not normal, much smaller rooms. But like said, these smaller rooms are very good

Staff was extremely friendly and we truly thought that we were welcomed. Breakfast is very good and the garden is fantastic place to eat it and start your day with a cup of tea. Also, their bartender was very helpful - even opened our wine bottle for us (which we´ve bought from nearby store) which we drank one night on the rooftop terrace (which is really HOT on summer midday).

Location is very good, if you think about staying a little bit away from the most important tourist attractions (you can walk to spanish steps, trevi fountain, Vatican or Pantheon without problems), but with a cab, you can basically move anywhere within 10 minutes. I would recommend to take a trip to Trastevere (every night) and spend time in there walking, eating and drinking - and then take a cab back to the hotel. It takes only 10 minutes and its really worth while. And costs about 10 euros.

If I would go back to Rome, I would stay in hotel Locarno.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jarkko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Located on a quiet street off Piazza del Popolo, Hotel Locarno is quite a treat! Every room is unique , and their suites look like they have been unrestored over a century! The grapevine informed me they are regularly booked by returning celebrities and constantly used by design and fashion magazines for their photoshoots!
We had booked two rooms, and after a 12 hr journey were very enthusiastic to check in and curl into bed-my colleague was alloted a lovely large room , and mine was a beautifully decorated one, but the large window opened out to the noisy ,buzzing courtyard that is alive until 2 AM! the shutters wouldn't come down and the hotel was full up! after much protest , the hotel night team finally found me an acceptable solution.
The Breakfast is delicious , both hot and cold, but their cakes are truly divine! One has the option of eating out in the coutryard or in the gorgeously decorated 1920's room adjacent.
The crowd is eclectic, smart young fashionistas, families with kids and single travellers! and everyone is welcomed warmly by Angelika and the other staff!
The bar is a great space to meet people and the courtyard is always busy, more at night when it seems to take on a "clubby" scene!!! I hear that it is a funky nightspot for the creative industry!
GO HERE IF:
You want a Chic but "shabby" and homely atmosphere.
Air Cons do work adequately, even in peak summer, but never really "cold" .
Bathrooms have either baths (old ones on legs, which sometimes are wobbly) or showers.Suites come with both.
Safe and mini frig in room.
Room service availible.
Good clean linen and towels and amenities.
Wallpaper and furniutre a bit "shabby" but it adds to the character of the hotel.
Efficient and friendly staff and good tips from the Concierge.
Great location.
Taxis arrive in a ziffy.
Free WIFI.



DONT GO IF:
You expect 4 star comfort as in a modern hotel.
Service is good but some patience is expected.
Rooms may not be of the size and comfort that you expect.
Decor in rooms not consistent.
Bathrooms NOT modern , some require renovation.
NOT a Business Hotel.

I have fallen "in love" with the Locarno and will return !
For families I recommend the large suite on the top floor! or one at their property DEPENDANCE across the road with a smart terrace and two connected bed rooms.
The Locarno has a property called the ANAHI DEPENDANCE right across the road, which is brand new and lovely too! preferable for people who want "new" with character! residents enjoy all the common facilities with the Locarno.

Room Tip: Avoid the ones next to the Courtyard! too noisy! The suites are great! very "antique" ! e...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Designdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed by accident (needed a room) and they were very friendly and nice and the price was aceptable. Very basic room, nice bath room (size and quality); great bar. Close to Piazza de Popello. Close to transit and easy walking distance. Great staff.

Room Tip: We got the last room, so no advice gere.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDGS-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Excellent hotel, although slightly overpriced. Staff were friendly and helpful and location was excellent for seeing the sights of Rome. We loved the secluded, open air terrace where breakfast was served. Rooms were clean but we would have preferred a shower rather than the bath and hand held shower.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

All of the reviews of this hotel were correct; the service is very uneven, with one particular staff member being extremely unhelpful. I booked a specific type of room, but did not get it. Only after asking three times did the manager acknowledge the mistake and discounted my stay. Breakfast service is extremely slow, so don't count on getting coffee at 7am. The internet did not function for the last 1 1/2 days of my stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannesCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel was charming, howevere we satyed in an annex which was ok too but the rooms did not have that art deco flavour the others in the main buiding had. Apart from that it was great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Piranesi Palazzo Nainer Hotel
Campo Marzio
Hotel Anahi
Hotel Anahi
#104 of 1,267 in Rome
470 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Valadier
Hotel Valadier
#261 of 1,267 in Rome
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Residenza di Ripetta
Residenza di Ripetta
#363 of 1,267 in Rome
641 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#153 of 1,267 in Rome
1,577 reviews
Campo Marzio
Grand Hotel Plaza
Grand Hotel Plaza
#696 of 1,267 in Rome
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Locarno Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locarno Rome

Address: Via della Penna 22, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#283 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $287 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Locarno Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel back in time to the 1920s!Near the splendid Piazza del Popolo, at the very heart of Rome, is a romantic and intimate guesthouse sought by actors, directors, writers, producers and musicians. Its two buildings are adjoined by an open garden where in spring and summer guests can take their breakfast and lunch or just an excellent aperitif. Enjoy relax and atmosphere in our bedrooms and suites strictly antique but also featuring modern facilities.Hotel Locarno: we’ll make you feel welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Locarno Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locarno Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing