We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet, good location”
Review of Casa San Giuseppe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa San Giuseppe
Ranked #2,347 of 3,669 Rome B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Very quiet, good location”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

In spite of being located just off a busy street in a very touristy area, our room was surprisingly quiet, even with windows open. The location was extremely convenient to the meeting I was attending, as well as to the many restaurants of the Trastevere area. The room was decently large, and the bathroom positively spacious. Breakfast was fine; no problem with running out as mentioned in another review.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    58
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
18
47
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowen, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Probably the best accommodation and most affordable during our last trip to Europe. Situated in the charming trastevere, the most amazing part of rome, with cute cafes and bars throughout every street. In walking distance to all the major attractions, in fact we saw everything Rome had to offer from this location and walked to them all. Lovely.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelGKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel has the perfect location! It is in walking distance to all the attractions (approx 10 mins to main squares and 15 to Vatican).

The hotel was clean and spacious (our room was huge). The maid attends the rooms daily.
Best of all there is air con which was a necessity! And we didn't have to pay extra for it.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemcumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I and two sons (ages 21 and 25) had a very enjoyable three day stay at this hotel. We found the hotel staff to be courteous and helpful and the breakfast staff was very accommodating. The hotel was quiet and clean and is located in Trestevere, a very nice local neighborhood. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Vatican and other local sites and there are many nearby shops and excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We really enjoyed the neighborhood location of Casa San Giuseppe. There were many shops and restaurants to choose from within walking distance with a real neighborhood feel and less of a touristy feel. The rooms were comfortable, although a little loud at nights from street noise. If you expect to get any type of concierge service, then this is definitely not the stay for you. We tried asking the hotel staff questions and they always seemed annoyed and offered little to no help. Although service is lacking, we still enjoyed our stay, but would find it hard to recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I felt extremely taken advantage of at this hotel. The staff made the mistake of booking 4 rooms under my name and insisted that although my email confirmation stated that I had booked only one room for each night it was my mistake & they forced us to pay. The darker male at the desk was extremely condescending. He was rude and arrogant and completely changed my and my spouse's view and experience. We ended up paying a 5 star price in a 1 star hotel.

I would absolutely NOT recommend this hotel to anyone unless you want to be SCAMMED.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DM0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSanGiuseppe, Direttore at Casa San Giuseppe, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Dear Sir,

We do regret for what happened during your stay with us , but we can explain the situation.

You booked 5 rooms for ONE person (all with proper reservation numbers and confirmation from the hotel reservation portal you booked through, we do have proof for each booking , which we showed you before accepting the payment)

In fact, you should have been suspicious when instead of an e-mail with a confirmation number, you received 5 e-mails with five different confirmation numbers.

Once you realized the mistake after talking to our reception staff, who explained you courteously the history of your booking and the mistakes done from your side, you gave us your credit card to charge the same.

Please don’t forget that we didn’t charged the extra person ( your fiancée ) you hosted in your room for some days without even asking our permission.

Your mistake did caused us heavy damage , as we did blocked all the rooms you reserved (almost for a week), and we have to reject all the reservation requests for those days, loosing many bookings for a busy week.

In any case, we are sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations, but we do not have responsibility for the mistakes of the customers and the cancellation policies put forth by the online agencies.

sincerely
Manager
Casa San Giuseppe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This small quiet hotel is situated in Trastevere and is convenient for the Vatican and the centre of the city. It is possible to walk to many of the main attractions. It is also near many restaurants and bars. It was very good value for money with a comfortable well furnished room, which was well heated (we were there during the snow). The heated towel rail was very useful for drying wet clothes - from the rain and snow! Breakfast was OK.
We were able to travel to Fiumocino Airport by tram and then train from Trastevere station, which cost only 9 euros.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#485 of 1,258 in Rome
167 reviews
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
BDB Luxury Rooms Trastevere Torre
Trastevere
Relais Casa della Fornarina
Relais Casa della Fornarina
#944 of 3,669 in Rome
89 reviews
Trastevere
B&B Ventisei Scalini a Trastevere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Giuseppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Giuseppe

Property: Casa San Giuseppe
Address: Vicolo Moroni 22, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,347 of 3,669 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa San Giuseppe 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the famous Trastevere quarter, in the center of the history. A strategic spot as it is excellently connected with Termini Station and and the Vatican city (10 minutes by foot). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa San Giuseppe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Giuseppe Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing