We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little restaurant”

La Dispensa dei Mellini
Reserve with
La Dispensa dei Mellini is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #555 of 12,268 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This reataurant was recommended to us by our B&B. Reservations are highly recommended as is very small and intimate. Great atmosphere, the servers I believe are the owners of the place, very helpful they take the time to explain everything thats on the handwritten menu as well as recommend you a good wine. All the ingredients are very fresh. Great food and wine a very memorable experience.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabinne_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    99
    18
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A treat on the Tiber”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Delicious real Italian food, cozy and attractive restaurant, and friendly staff willing to translate the menu for us. Many Roman restaurants serve tourist food, but not this one. Fresh, local ingredients expertly prepared and great wine made this a memorable meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mari0nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A tiny Roman gem”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

You could blink and miss this place, its tiny. It was recommended to us by our B&B and it didn't disappoint. The menu was all handwritten (I believe the menu is put together based on what local ingredients they have at the time) in Italian but the waitress thankfully spoke good enough English to help us out.

Starter for me was fried vegetable balls with a tomato pesto and my partner had smoked ham and smoked buffolo mozzerella. Main was a pasta dish with spicy tomato sauce. My partner had fillet steak which were nothing short of amazing. The meat was so tender and perfectly cooked. The knife went through it like it was butter and the taste was gorgeous. My partner went as far as saying it was one of the best steaks he had ever had. We shared a dessert, a chocolate torte with hazelnuts which was so light and very tasty.

The restaurant itself seats only around 30 people and is very intimate. The tables are close together. It is out of the tourist area and more of a restaurant for locals. It was perfect for a true Rome dining experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank samantha k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
149 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Nice enough restaurant but the food was slightly disappointing compared to other places we ate at in Rome - was our most expensive meal but not the best unfortunately. Lack of menu meant it was hard to work out what was on offer to choose from

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Best Steak I've Had in Years”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The manager of the Roman hotel in which we stayed gave us several excellent restaurant recommendations, singling out La Dispensa as her personal favorite place to dine. She made us a reservation there for a special meal our last night in Rome, and we quickly discovered the reason for her raves about the place. La Dispensa is a small, elegantly casual establishment located alongside the Tiber in a quiet neighborhood not far from the Vatican. The hostess brought us the evening's menu on a chalkboard and walked us through all of the selections. To begin my partner chose a lovely salad of sliced pears on a bed of greens with walnut dressing, and I ordered the frizelli of marinated sardines and cherry tomatos on arugula served with toast and slices of burratina, a mild mozarella-like cheese. Both of us ordered filets of beef, simply and perfectly grilled with olive oil and fresh lemon. The steaks were astoundingly good-- tender, juicy and wonderfully flavorful. La Dispensa's house-made desserts are equally scrumptious. We opted for chocolate cake with strawberries baked inside and cheesecake topped with frutti dei boschi. The house wines were excellent, as well. La Dispensa is a little out of the way, but most definitely worth seeking out.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenzoid-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dispensa dei Mellini also viewed

 

Been to La Dispensa dei Mellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing