We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful mom & pop bistro....reasonably priced too!”

Ristorante Pizzeria Santi
Ranked #1,892 of 12,523 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Esquilino
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Wonderful mom & pop bistro....reasonably priced too!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were greeted at the entrance by a very sweet grandma. Somehow her presence was very comforting, like we were entering the dining room of someones private residence.

The menu is varied, with many choices. I had a plate of steak and potatoes (only $9 euros) and my wife ordered a bowl of homemade vegetable soup ($4 euros) and a combination pizza ($6 euros).

We ended up sharing our plates family style, and "granny" was very helpful with her service (although she needed to bring a younger person --probably the granddaughter-- so we could explain about "medio crudo/sangue" ---as she did not understand the concept of Medium Rare.

Despite the language barrier, we had one of the most pleasant meals of our trip and it cost us only $22 euros (includes tax) for Lunch.

My wife said "This is the best steak I have ever tasted at the price" and I fully agree. The meat tasted like it had just been sliced off the cow.

The soup was outstanding, like something my Jewish grandma used to make!

However, the pizza was probably more in the 3.5 star range. It was better than most pizza in the United States, but on the mediocre range for Italy. Its still worth the money.

Close to Termini station and both Metro lines.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    109
    45
    21
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely family restaurant”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderfull meal in this small but cousy restaurant. We waited 20 min for a table but it was fine. We will return to taste som of the other good dishes before we return to the cold

Helpful?
1 Thank Solvej1967
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tromso, Norway
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, homemade food!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We found this restaurant the last day in Rome, and wish we had noticed it before. Low prices, very good food and the sweetest family who gave us the best service of our visit in Rome. We'll definetily be back the next time we're here!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangier, Morocco
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great value comfort food!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This restaurant is in an area full of similar-looking restaurants - we chose it initially simply because it looked busy, with Italians eating there as well as foreign tourists. We tried the fixed 3 course menu and the pizza, and were happy with everything we were served - simple, homecooked-style dishes, generous portions, and not-bad house wine. We therefore returned twicce more during our week's stay in the neighbourhood, and although we sampled a nulber of other similarly priced restaurants nearby, this remained our favourite. It is clearly a family-run business and the third time we went there we were welcomed as regulars!
Excellent value for money and a friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eirlys55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An economic restaurant option in Rome”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This restaurant provides tasty, homely style food, which is excellent value. There are a range of pasta dishes alongside pizza, meats and many other traditional foods. The house wine is excellent. On one of my three visits there, I had a pasta dish, dessert and a glass of house wine for dinner at just 15 euros. There is a fixed menu available for lunch, which provides an even cheaper alternative. It can get crowded so be prepared to wait or go early.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Pizzeria Santi also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Pizzeria Santi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing