We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family restaurant”

Ristorante Pizzeria Santi
Ranked #1,913 of 12,362 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Esquilino
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely family restaurant”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderfull meal in this small but cousy restaurant. We waited 20 min for a table but it was fine. We will return to taste som of the other good dishes before we return to the cold

Helpful?
1 Thank Solvej1967
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    107
    45
    19
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, homemade food!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We found this restaurant the last day in Rome, and wish we had noticed it before. Low prices, very good food and the sweetest family who gave us the best service of our visit in Rome. We'll definetily be back the next time we're here!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangier, Morocco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great value comfort food!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This restaurant is in an area full of similar-looking restaurants - we chose it initially simply because it looked busy, with Italians eating there as well as foreign tourists. We tried the fixed 3 course menu and the pizza, and were happy with everything we were served - simple, homecooked-style dishes, generous portions, and not-bad house wine. We therefore returned twicce more during our week's stay in the neighbourhood, and although we sampled a nulber of other similarly priced restaurants nearby, this remained our favourite. It is clearly a family-run business and the third time we went there we were welcomed as regulars!
Excellent value for money and a friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eirlys55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An economic restaurant option in Rome”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This restaurant provides tasty, homely style food, which is excellent value. There are a range of pasta dishes alongside pizza, meats and many other traditional foods. The house wine is excellent. On one of my three visits there, I had a pasta dish, dessert and a glass of house wine for dinner at just 15 euros. There is a fixed menu available for lunch, which provides an even cheaper alternative. It can get crowded so be prepared to wait or go early.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delizioso! San Francisco/Bau Area tourist review”
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

My husband love this place! Went to dinner twice during our stay in Romw from oct 18-24th! We stayed in Starhotel metropole so it was convenient for us to walk and have late dinner (we are always in SF time zone so we eat late)

We always get the 3 course meals for $10 or $15 per order. Pretty good price for Rome standard! On our first time. I had the minestrone and Tripa (tripe) with roman sauce and I love it. I didn't really like the sweet pear or apple dessert for I'm not really a fruit person. My husband had the Spaghetti carbonara and roasted chicken and he loved it too. We paid $22.50 for our first dinner here!! Super good!

On or second time, I had the $15 3 course meal. Spaghetti with clams for first course and calamari fritti with potatoes for 2nd. My husband had tortellini with tomato sauce and bacon. He had roasted chicken again for 2nd course. Dessert was lemon sorbet!! We had house white wine and cappuccinos. We paid $42.50. Super bargain for all the stuff we ordered.

What i Like about this place is the owners and family serving and taking orders. You feel right at home and you know you are gettinh authentic Italian food.
Price is super reasonable. We ate at De Armando by pantheon and it is one of the best restaurant in Rome and it was just okay. Over priced and we didn't even get full.

I will miss this place especially the owners and fma who takes your order and makes you feel at home. Gratzi for the delizioso specialita della Casa!

Enjoy your stay in Rome!! Ciao!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sambuddi2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Pizzeria Santi also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Pizzeria Santi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing