We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Ristorante Pizzeria Santi
Ranked #1,913 of 12,362 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Esquilino
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Simple plain food, but well cooked and very cheap. The pasta was cooked well and the roast chicken was really succulent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doreen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    107
    45
    19
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Affordable family food.”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I've been to Santi many times over the last few years. Though Mr. Santi isn't in the kitchen full-time these days, you can still expect to see him and his lovely wife working the dining room. The restaurant is bright and clean and is open for lunch and dinner, except Sundays. I go for dinner whenever I'm near the Termini. It is not the most sophisticated Italian food in Rome, but is consistently good at extremely reasonable prices. I haven't seen the prices change in four years. At some point in the last few years it ended up being recommended in a guide book and the cooking has suffered a bit, because of trying to accomodate the tastes of too many tourists who don't really understand the food. Still, I've never had a bad meal here. Delicious olive and cheese plates, fresh salads, classic pastas and many comfort-food, meat and potato dishes. Add a delicous bottle of their house wine and you can't go wrong. Thanks Santi! Can't wait to see you again.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great surprise!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We went to that restaurant without knowing that was extremely good although the portions were not so big they can be quite filling. I loved the fact that Mr. Santi was serving tables with such a good mood as well as his family! I went with my Italian friend and she almost cried because it reminded her grand mother cusine who was Italiana. Also I had worked in an Italian restaurant for over 3 years so I know when it is good or not. The train might be scary but for us was not a big deal. The food was amazing at Santi along with typical Roman table wine! This must be a must if you visit Rome.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cinthya007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great price”
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

I had lunch with my girlfriend and for 10 euros we had a first course, a second course, a salad and a dessert. The food was very tasty and the staff was very nice with us, although they only speak Italian. I would recommend it to everyone.

Helpful?
1 Thank JayJojo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Deventer, Overijssel, Netherlands
1 review
“Splendid trattoria”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I have been eating at Santi's for more as twenty years. The old mr. Santi, his wife and his friendly daughters serve the most delicious Roman/Italian meals in a typical small Roman trattoria. Every year I look forward to visit them and eat there.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sjaak H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Pizzeria Santi also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Pizzeria Santi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing