We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alice's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1,682 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This B&B was the best B&B we stayed in during our three week vacation to Italy. Giuseppe was so accommodating, and helpful. He kept things organized, yet simple to understand. His ability to speak English made our experience even better as he could tell us things and we could understand. For a place to stay if you are traveling as a family, and you wish to be away from the crowds, don't miss staying at, " Alice's Bed and Breakfast. "Only regret is that we did not get to meet Carol as she was away at the time we were in Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 833Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 89 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

Although we had to change rooms a couple of times (something we knew before we booked due to previous reservations), Giuseppe made our time at Alice's B&B a pleasure! Our rooms were always clean as was the rest of the B&B. Although it's not at the centre of the city, it is a short walk to two subway stations which will take you wherever you want to go. It is also a 20 minute walk to the Colosseum and Roman Forum.
Giuseppe speaks perfect english which makes it very easy to ask for direction or advice. He also taught us a few words in italian!
Vouchers for breakfast can be redeemed at two cafe's around the corner from the B&B. We loved Cafe Mario and the staff there! Also, there is a food market that operates 3 minutes away where we bought fresh fruit, vegetables, and other delights for lunch. There is also a pizza take-out called Alice's just around the corner. Fantastic pizza!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LexandZac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We recently spent 3 nights at Alice's B&B and having spent many hours searching for reasonably priced accommodation in the city for our group we were delighted with our choice.

The entire apartment was exceptionally clean and well presented. The location was fabulous, with metros close by, we were able to experience a nice residential part of Rome with some fantastic restaurants all in walking distance.

The breakfast was brilliant and really set us up for the day. As it is at a cafe down the street no plasticky buffet in sight :)

A note for the map reading novices, there is no obvious sign for the B&B, we did spend some time wandering up and down the street checking doorbells!

A final minor point, the bathroom doors are possibly a little too see-through...we were a group of friends so maybe just be aware of this!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brizzlygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very good location, rooms are very clean, good price ! The owner Giuseppe is really friendly and always ready to help. Breakfast is really basic, but I think is standard for Rome when you compare to other B&B's - one coffee and one croissant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crica1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Just leaving today from a very pleasant stay. Has three roomy bedrooms that could suit a variety of guest configurations. Prices very reasonable. Very clean. Host is very accommodating. Away from tourist area but plenty of restaurants and stores /markets in area. Transportation is easy.

Thank nncykr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We brought our 5 month old along to this trip in Rome. So we needed a place that is baby friendly, close to public transport and affordable. The apartment is on the first floor, no elevator but no problem with your luggage as Giuseppe is always happy to help. We stayed in the red room, it looks exactly as you see in the pictures above. It is clean, neat, comfortable and spacious enough for us. The en suite bathroom is very nice as well. It is clean and everything works well. The apartment has a common kitchen for everyone to use, with all the white goods.
The apartment is about 5 mins walk to the nearest bus stop (satrico) and you can take the 628 bus to all the touristic places such as pantheon or colloseum, or the 300 (i think) bus to rome termini station, or san giovanni metro station. We never had to wait ages for the buses and there's a newstand at the end of the street to buy your tickets so transportation was easy.

It was an enjoyable and relaxing trip for us and Giuseppe was friendly and was really helpful from the start till end.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aliah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The room, the apartment the building and the area was lovely. Felt like we live there.
Giuseppe is very nice, very helpful specially when we had big issue going on, Giuseppe helped us and took care of us, which for sure we wouldn't get the same treatment at a hotel.
We were in the Pompeian room, lovely and warm decoration. Very clean. Very large bed. The apartment area is quiet and the neighborhood felt safe and nice.
The location is good, its not nearby the centre of Rome, but its only one bus or metro away from it. Tip: bus no. 628 goes to all the touristic places and very comfortable to use it.
The breakfast was served at a cafe very close to the apartment and there is also close kiosk where you can buy bus tickets. There are few good restaurants near by, as well as local market, with fruits, veg., great cheeses, fresh pasta, fishes and more. Also very good pizza at the central junction.
One thing about the distance: with the public transportation its very convenient to get to and from there but the public trans. in Rome is not something to relay on. In our week there, there was strike in the metro, and the buses number was limited,other time the metro train had a problem during our ride, and we had to squeeze in small buses.
I will highly recommend everyone to stay at alice's b&b, specially if you want to know how it feels to live in Rome, and less being the average tourist.
Have fun!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ltaltul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#448 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,925 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#216 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#110 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#345 of 1,271 in Rome
434 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice's Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via Pompei 22, 00183 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,682 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $76 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and well-connected, Alice's B&B is your ideal home-base from which to discover the magical and fascinating sites of ancient Rome, as well as its newer districts and shopping areas. Alice's friendly and relaxing atmosphere will be your home in Rome: the perfect place to retire after a long day of exciting tours and exploration of the Eternal City. Comfortable and clean, Alice's offers you all the amenities you may require: en-suite/private bathrooms, toiletries, luxury linens, air conditioning, satellite tv, wireless internet, kitchenette, washer/dryer facilities, and parking garage. Peaceful and quiet, its rooms overlook a lovely inner courtyard, typical of historical buildings of the city. You will be able to come and go at your own leisure and you will be invited to breakfast at the café/gelateria below, where you will find fragrant pastries and freshly-brewed espresso/cappuccino or drink of your choice. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing