We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Live as the Romans Do” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alice's Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alice's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1,341 of 3,735 Rome B&B and Inns
irvine, ca
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Live as the Romans Do”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This B&B run by Giuseppe is in a more residential area of Rome, though not far at all from the center of the city, so you feel like you are living like a real Roman. There were lots of fantastic cafes at which to eat nearby and a wonderful market just down the street. We walked everywhere and we were a group ranging from 7 years old to 76 years old. The center of town was maybe a 15 to 20 minute walk, and a very pleasant walk at that. Giuseppe is incredibly helpful, honest, and kind, as was his wife Carol. His English is excellent and he was a valuable source of knowledge. This is a flat which is very typical of Rome where you enter downstairs, walk up one flight of stairs, have a locked entry door to a hallway from which 3 lockable rooms and a kitchen come off of. One room sleeps 4 persons with 2 double beds, one room sleeps 2 persons with a double bed, and one room sleeps 3 persons with a double and a single bed. The rooms are brightly decorated and fairly newly renovated. The bathrooms are particularly modern. The kitchen is bright with a lovely view of the courtyard in back. The double room has a lovely view of the courtyard as well, whereas the other two rooms look out onto the street (a fairly quiet street-- never heard noise at night) which was also a fun view. There are only a couple of reasons I would give this accommodation very good vs. excellent: 1. I never really had a very hot shower. 2. I was a bit chilly at times (Rome is strict with their energy conservation, so this is encountered at most anywhere one stays). 3. There were a few things that needed fixing, but nothing major, and most of them Giuseppe got to right away. Bottom line: I would HIGHLY recommend this affordable and pleasant accommodation, especially with groups of 8 or 9, as it fits that a group that size perfectly, and it feels as though you have your own apartment in Rome. If you have 10 persons, there is a room he rents, but it is one floor up from this flat. But if it's just 2 or 3 or 4 of you, then that's fine, too-- the space is certainly sharable with others. NOTE: There is no laundry facility within the flat, but Giuseppe will do it for you (not too cheap, but not too pricey).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    23
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
33
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

This B&B is located in an excellent location. Walking distance to all major points of interest.

The owner Giuseppe was very friendly and accommodating. Rooms are clean and fresh. I would recommend this place for a stay in Rome.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyMaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

This charming B&B located just outside of downtown is a great place to stay. As Rome is a city to walk, this slightly out of the city centre place is a great choice. Close to great restaurants and transit. Guiseppe is a wonderful host who goes out of his way to make your stay is pleasant - from recommending restaurants to helping arrange our tour guide. If you are looking for a quite roman appartment this is the one for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosebud_alley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

From the minute Guiseppe opens the door you feel welcome. We thought not staing in Trastevere was a mistake, but actually it as the right choice. We were away from the tourists, in an authentic neighbourhood surrounded by parks, cafes and restaurants. He gives great advice, and his English is superb which is very helpful.

We stayed in the red room. Large, quiet and clean, with a good sized bathroom.

The best meal we had was in this neighbourhood, far surpassed the food the fling at tourists in Trastevere.

A short and scenic walk to the main attractions in Rome, or you can easily catch a bus or metro.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RjSlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at Alice's! The room was nice, clean and comfortable. Very, very friendly and helpful hosts! It is in a great location, we walked to the Coleseum and to the Forum and even found some great little restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield Park
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

From the first email Giuseppe was a wonderful informative guide to our first visit to Rome. He was so courteous and really made us feel welcomed. Since they are a small business and don't take CC, he was nice to allow us to pay by the day (we needed to take cash from ATM). Before arriving I paid our 10% deposit via Paypal. After a long day sightseeing, when we got to our room at night, the bathroom was clean and our breakfast coupons for the next morning were available. Hot water, cable and strong wi-fi a super plus. The B&B is a short distance from the San Giovanni or Re di Roma Metro (buses were also widely available). Also close by were grocery stores, restaurants and ATM's. Safe for late night walking. For dinner we went to Sa Posada and it was great-- the ravioli di pesce was amazing! Glad we stayed at Alice's B&B.

Room Tip: Ask for the Orange room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fsvanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

We were very happy that the accommodation lived up to the reviews we had read. We had 3 double rooms and they were all well equipped, clean & tastefully decorated. We also had access to a full kitchen which we found really useful. Our host, Giuseppe, was very helpful throughout the stay. He suggested sights which may otherwise be overlooked, helped find a pub which was televising The Masters golf tournament and organised a shuttle back to the airport. Alice's B&B is a little outside the centre however buses and the metro are close by. Many sights are within walking distance and personally I thought walking was the best way to explore.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Leigh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,563 of 3,735 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
San Lorenzo
B&B Stay at Rome
B&B Stay at Rome
#1,734 of 3,735 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#379 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#288 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Alice's Bed & Breakfast
Address: Via Pompei 22, 00183 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,341 of 3,735 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and well-connected, Alice's B&B is your ideal home-base from which to discover the magical and fascinating sites of ancient Rome, as well as its newer districts and shopping areas. Alice's friendly and relaxing atmosphere will be your home in Rome: the perfect place to retire after a long day of exciting tours and exploration of the Eternal City. Comfortable and clean, Alice's offers you all the amenities you may require: en-suite/private bathrooms, toiletries, luxury linens, air conditioning, satellite tv, wireless internet, kitchenette, washer/dryer facilities, and parking garage. Peaceful and quiet, its rooms overlook a lovely inner courtyard, typical of historical buildings of the city. You will be able to come and go at your own leisure and you will be invited to breakfast at the café/gelateria below, where you will find fragrant pastries and freshly-brewed espresso/cappuccino or drink of your choice. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing