We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potentially the best brewery in Rome”
Review of Open Baladin

Open Baladin
Ranked #565 of 12,367 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Description: This is a great restaurant/birreria with a really good selection of microbrews and imported beers as well as a really great selection of food to go along with it. This place came highly recommended by the host at our B&B, and she doesn't live anywhere near this place. It's kind of a trek for her to come here, and it's totally worth it.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Potentially the best brewery in Rome”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

After 3 months living in Rome, we finally made it to Open Baladin and were SO pleasantly surprised. Microbrews are really coming to Rome and you will find some seriously delicious beer here. They brew some of their own (I had a porter that was on par) and they also have great local beer on tap and in bottles. We only had appetizers but their food looks delicious and the place is very busy on Friday and Saturday nights! The only caveat with the location is very difficult to find. The entrance is almost down a kind of alley and the entrance is very easy to miss. Our first attempt a few weeks earlier trying to find the place ended up in us giving up. Not for the faint of heart or those easily lost in the Rome curvature. I promise it's worth it if you make it there and although it's not a "tourist" place, all of the servers spoke great English and were incredibly nice and helpful.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    966
    1,133
    297
    109
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berea, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Craft beer in Rome!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stopped by Open Baladin on Katie Parla's food tour and what a great surprise! I wish we could have spent more time here and I wish I wasn't pregnant so I could ahev enjoyed the full experience of the roman craft beer experience. We dined on cacio e pepe coquettes and tasted interesting beers. Will go back on our next trip to Rome.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Klabens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Burgers and beer in Rome”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

For a break from typical Italian food, we decided to check this place out (was mentioned in Rick Steves' 2014 Rome guidebook). Close to the Campo De' Fiori. Burgers were excellent as was the beer and appetizers. Service was good, friendly. Prices reasonable. I would definitely recommend this restaurant if you're in Rome and want some pub food.
Might need to make a reservation, or be willing to wait. We went around 8pm on a Friday night...had to wait about 15 minutes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pillis1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“If you tire of wine...”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

and find yourself craving a beer while in Rome, this is the place. Located in a great spot in the Campo dei Fiori neighborhood, this is the perfect spot to chill out and relax after a day of walking We had great service, food & drink - loved the atmosphere and would definitely return on our next trip to Rome.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElvisLoveChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great beer joint”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Yes, there are good places to enjoy a beer and take a load off your feet in Rome. Plenty of selections, mostly European, and prices are around 5 euros a pint. Friendly low key service too. Convenient to Trastevere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnDNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open Baladin also viewed

 

Been to Open Baladin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing