We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Roman Walls
from $178.93
More Info
from $81.74
More Info
from $165.84
More Info
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
87
129
24
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
87
129
24
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 241 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2017

The walls were built around 270 year. There are quite well-preserved remains of them, which can be seen as you explore the city.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Ogi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2017

There are various sections still available to see (in varying state of repair), but exploration simply means walking along its length coming across the occasional entrance arches or guard houses. Suggestion is to catch what you do as part of your normal sightseeing journeys - no special trip necessary.

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank two_wily_wanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2017

I gave up on visiting the planned route because it was difficult to follow in places, but what I did see was quite interesting, purely because I was treading the route that Legionnaires and Centurions wad walked before me. I have to be honest and say that unless there is something in particular is your chosen point of interest, I wouldn't waste time on this as there are far more interesting things to see in Rome, if your time is precious.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2017

Hailing from another city that has several fortified roman walls (Chester), it was interesting to see the protective walls in another city. The best view of the walls can be sought with a visit to Castel Sant'Angelo.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Headandheaaart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2017

A superb defensive structure that is still partially standing surrounding the city of Rome since ancient time. Parts of it are still in excellent condition. Parts it show that aquaducts have been incorporated into the walls. . The walls also demark the boundaries of the Roman citizens residing within the walls. while the general populous resided outside the walls. A remarkable piece of history.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Della G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews