We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will use Marcelo s house again”
Review of Domus Aurelia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Domus Aurelia
Ranked #2,973 of 3,620 Rome B&B and Inns
leicester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We will use Marcelo s house again”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Fanstastic service, clean, convenient for the metro, vatican and central rome. Good bars and resturants all locally and shops for any supplies.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bigbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    47
    51
    24
    15
See reviews for
45
48
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nanuet
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Domus Aurelia is the best for cleanliness, budget price , extremely helpful staff and lovely surroundings. The capuccino and cornetto served every morning was delicious. We looked forward to starting our day with our breakfast. This place is economical and well organized. If you are looking for a no frills place this is the hotel to stay at. Plus, it's a compliment to The Urseline Sisters who run this place. There's a chapel upstairs.The people (staff) are extremely lovely. There was never a problem. Hotel is near the Vatican. Basic acommodations at a reasonable price. I know because I did a thorough research for myself and my daughter. We wanted a safe, clean and economical place to stay while touring Rome and neighboring towns. Go to Domus Aurelia. They are very welcoming!!!

Room Tip: Some rooms have terraces. Any room would suffice. It's clean!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ital19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

This hotel is in an excellent location in Vatican City, across the street from the major bus stop. You WILL NEED to ask for a fan even in early October. There is no air-conditioning. The rooms are sparse, but hey, you are not in Rome to stay in a room are you?

Room Tip: I don't know about all the rooms, but mine had no air-conditioning & I had to get a fan. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinabridges88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rive-sud Mtl
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We spent 3 days in Rome at this very nice place. You may say it is only 2 stars: but the other 3 are usually because it has a TV, a swimming pool, a spa, a gym and all tose things you never use anyway.
This Hotel is located is a quiet and safe residential area. You can take a bus infront of the Hotel and you can go anywhere between the Vatican and the Victor Emmanuel monument. The bus travels on a street that is a few steps from Place Savona, Trevi Fountain and Spanish steps. So you can visit the most important places for a travel cost of a few Euros a day. We met people that were robbed right in front of their hotel in middle of Rome. The neighborhood where the Hotel is very quiet because it is residential. There is a little store a few minutes away where you can buy Bus tickers, water and sundries. The cost of this hotel is around a 100$ a day. It has a bar, nice external terrace, a TV room and you can get a croissant in the morning. The Vatican is 10 minutes away downhill.
Our room had two beds, private bathroom and a nice balcony.

Room Tip: Clean, safe and friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reg46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Staff very friendly. Omwned by a religeous order and frequented by seminarians and religeous groups. Front rooms very noisy and they are the only ones with air conditioning. If you are on a budget this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mebubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this Hotel in summer 2007. It was across the road from a busstop so access to the centre of Rome was easy. Two doors down was a shop to buy bus tickets, stamps and snacks. We ate at a discounted Hotel next door, and one nighttook a bus three stops down the road to an outdoor restaurant for families.The rooms were very clean and quiet. the service was friendly and helpful, with internet access if required and a phone for necessary local calls. The breaksfast available to buy was simple but exactly what we needed with very friendly service. The Hotel patrons were lovely people. Many of our New Zealand friends have stayed here. The price is excellent and we felt safe in the area. We walked to the Vatican, about 15 minutes away. I would stay there again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, friendly service, excellent prive
  • Disliked — Not a great choice of eating places near
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WildgeeseNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

Clean double for 70 Euro, 10-15 minute walk to the vatican

Room has no TV or Phone.
Breakfast is not included.

Friendly Staff.

Room includes a bathroom with shower

The hotel is located on a street that allows you to walk to the vatican in 10-15 minutes. ( I would guess a taxi ride could be done in under 5 minutes) Bus stops are available , but we walked everywhere.

A subway stop is located just a couple of blocks north of the vatican, and is a 15 minute walk from the hotel. This same area has grocery stores, shops etc... Taxi to the main Train Station was under 20 Euro.

Breakfast is available for a small charge. A small sandwich shop is about 1 minute walk. I suggest you do not go the the Hotel recommended diner next door, 15 euro per person, fixed menu, poor food quality.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Just the basics
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank shemp2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Prati
Vatican Suites Inn
Vatican Suites Inn
#669 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Roma Tiburtina
#541 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Hotel Capannelle
#549 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#208 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Aurelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Aurelia

Property: Domus Aurelia
Address: Via Aurelia 218, 00165 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,973 of 3,620 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Domus Aurelia 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Domus Aurelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Aurelia (Suore Orsoline) Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing