We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant”
Review of Il Papalino

Il Papalino
Ranked #4,676 of 12,362 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Vatican / Borgo
Description: Close to Vatican Cty
sunderland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Called with our friends and our Italian friends for Lunch on Sunday. Food and service was of the highest standard.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blackcats085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    105
    56
    19
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Not worth a stop 28/07/12”
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

After reading the other reviews on trip advisor we went specifically to eat here after the vatican. Maybe the other reviewers have never had good spaghetti carbonara before or not real reviewers because i think i would give it a 3 or 4/10. It was like they Reheated the sauce and pasta so it came out looking like scrambled eggs instead of smooth sauce with lots of fatty bits of bacon. The spaghetti was just overcooked. My bf had the chicken and potatoes and that was fine 6/10 but nothing to rave about.
Pollo arrosto con patate 9e
Spaghetti alla carbonara 9e
2 pineapple juices in dirty glasses 6e
They also tried to charge us 3e for bread which i didnt have any of and was dry so we pointed that error out. The service was efficient 6/10 and he spoke good english. The place had aircon inside which is a nice reprieve from the heat. Overall 5/10. I only eat at places i rate a minimum of 7/10 and this is not one of them!

Helpful?
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Next to the Vatican, reliable roman food”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We always visit this restaurant when in Rome. Good Roman food. One of those solid family run places that there are no suprises except consistantly reliable. Great coffee, fresh breakfast fare , good tavola calda for lunch and the added bonus of restaurant at night. Lovely to sit outside and see the locals ,in a very old part , cobbled stone area, right next to the wall running between the Vatican and the Castello. The owner speaks a very good english, with a lovely smile .

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All round fantastico!”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stumbled across this beautiful restaurant whilst visiting Vatican city. Excellent find! The location is true Italy, a small cobbled street with a friendly atmosphere. Antonio was out waiter and couldn't do enough for us. The wine list was impeccable, the choice of food was great and the quality was outstanding! We simply couldn't leave without telling Roberto (the owner) how happy we were with the whole experience and have promised to visit on our next trip to Rome!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

In 5 trips to Rome, I always eat here, the best Saltimbocca and Spagetti Carbonara in town. I have had this restaurant recommended to me and I have passed this recommendation onwards many times.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paleblueone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Papalino also viewed

 

Been to Il Papalino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing