We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Locanda del Sole Luxury Suite Rome
Ranked #138 of 3,617 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

An excellent choice for a citybreak in Rome, thanks to its central location, beautiful rooms and attentive staff
Complimentary water, wine and chocolates and the use of an iPad (with free wi-fi) were an added bonus. If you wanted a coffee you just had to ask
The bed was comfortable and the bathroom spacious, with a powerful shower
Breakfast was continental with fresh fruit (strawberries, bananas), yogurt, bread and pastries, parma ham and cheese, fruit juice and coffee (cappuccino,expresso, macchiato) which was of a good standard
The B&B was originally Marco's grandfather's house, which he and his brother refurbished, so with good local knowledge, he is able to give recommendations to enhance your Roman holiday, should you require any
It's a little hard to find, at first (a plaque on the wall beside the entrance door), so I'd recommend letting Marco arrange your airport transfer (45 euros from Ciampino) as that'll guarantee your prompt arrival. However once you're there, it's easy to get around both the safe neighborhood and Rome, with every major attraction within easy walking distance
Next time I'm in Rome (soon I hope) I'll stay at Locanda de Sole, unless it's fully booked, after all the good reviews it's getting :)

Room Tip: The Berger room has direct access from the entrance close, without going through reception, so feels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roscco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
169
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2012

My partner and I spent the last 2 nights of our trip to Rome at this B&B. They say first impressions count; i've never been so impressed by a welcome in my life. The B&B owners welcomed us with warmth (and an exquisite complementary cappucino!) and made us both feel instantly at home.

The design of the B&B is exemplary; this place radiates opulence whilst at the same time charms you with its character and homeliness - a difficult equilibrium to achieve. The room we spent our time in was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. Cleanliness is fantastic - our room was perfect every day we got back to our room.

The location is fantastic as well, providing a base only 2 to 3 minutes walk from the Spanish steps, and a little more to the likes of the Trevi fountain.

Breakfast was lovely, as were the cappucinos that accompanied it. Presented in lovely crockery and with lovely decorations, these not only tasted excellent, they looked it too.

I thoroughly recommend this B&B to anybody visiting Rome, especially if you're into something a bit more luxurious. There may not be the activities on offer that you might find a hotel, but this is more than made up for by the availability of an iPad and Wi-Fi to use throughout your stay.

We will definitely be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2012

This is the first review we've ever done but after our stay at Locanda Del Sole we felt that it was a must!! From the time we walked through the door Emiliano, Marco & Pierluigi made us feel so welcome!!! To sit & chat with them over a coffee was a welcome change from a normal arrival at a hotel!! A complimentary bottle of wine was waiting, along with mini bar in our room!!! The room was beautiful & tastefully decorated to a very high standard!! We spent 3 nights there & every day we returned to an immaculate room!! The location is perfect, walking distance to all the sights & shopping area's in Rome, no need for taxi's/trains/buses!!! Breakfast was a delight, complimented by Emiliano's attentiveness & beautiful coffee - Marco did say he made better coffee but sadly never got to try it, I guess we can use this as our excuse to return, which will hopefully be sooner rather than later!!! Don't hesitate - book it now!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floods_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This quaint little B & B in the heart of Rome was the perfect place as our base for a short city break. The rooms are spotless and tastefully decorated. Emiliano and staff were very helpful and pleasant and ensured that our stary was quite wonderful. Thanks for the care and attention shown to us, would highly recommend Locanda del Sole.

Room Tip: There are just four rooms but they are perfectly good if its a sightseeing trip you are on - wouldnt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kearnaloochis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed here in June 2011. Location is brilliant, walking distance to everything Rome has to offer. Not many amenities but the host brother owners are very welcoming and go out of their way to make you feel at home. Great coffee to start the day and wife enjoyed the special cheeses she got for breakfast each morning! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stayed here in February 2012 4 nights, including Valentine's day. The Room was huge and really luxourious, at least 4 meters ceiling, tasteful decoration, nice smell everywhere, free bar(wow!) - wine, juice, nuts, etc. Bed sooo comfy! No street noise at night. Climate colntol was working great. All furniture perfect, white Quality leather, even in the bathroom. Cannot say enough thanks to Pierluigi and Marco running the place - always attentive and helpful. The location is perfect - 20 mins by feet to Vatican, 5 min to Spanish steps, Navona, Corso, Panteon. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urma_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

A fantastic and personal stay with a location in Rome that is truly the best. The hosts makes eveything to please us and the room was so nice! ***** Lovely! We stayed three nights and this is by far the best place we stayed at in Rome, and we been there many times.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarinMarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Adriano
Hotel Adriano
#184 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Assunta Domus
Assunta Domus
#57 of 3,617 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Casa de'Coronari - Design Rooms Library
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Gallery & Garden Suites
Colonna
Relais Maddalena
Relais Maddalena
#102 of 3,617 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Inn
Condotti Inn
#172 of 3,617 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda del Sole Luxury Suite Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda del Sole Luxury Suite Rome

Property: Locanda del Sole Luxury Suite Rome
Address: Via della Scrofa 10, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 3,617 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda del Sole Luxury Suite Rome 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Locanda del Sole" is an inviting luxury B&B in Rome's historic centre boasting an idyllic setting in the famous Rione Campo Marzio district. Guests on a romantic break in Rome will receive a warm welcome, where lived Jose Carlos Mariategui, a famous Peruvian thinker and essayist, in a characteristic 19th century building on Via della Scrofa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Locanda del Sole Luxury Suite Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Del Sole Luxury Hotel Rome
Locanda Del Sole Luxury Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing