We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring your EU Passport and get Discount on Tickets/Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Colosseum

Colosseum
Book In Advance
More Info
$103.73*
and up
City Sightseeing Transportation and Skip-The-Line Roma Pass
Ranked #1 of 1,477 things to do in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Perhaps the best-preserved of the monuments of ancient Rome, this huge marble structure was built to hold more than 50,000 spectators to witness bloody contests of might and the slaughter of wild beasts.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bring your EU Passport and get Discount on Tickets/Tours”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Colosseum was incredible. How did they do that so long ago? You can still see the graffiti from the spectators on the walls and the under section where they kept prisoners. A definite Must-See in Rome.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95,194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69,171
    20,521
    4,530
    638
    334
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“iconic - don't miss”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

suggest you pre book using something like the "Roma pass". Although plenty of agents offering English language guided tours to enable you to skip the line. Busy in morning so if you can arrive just after lunch.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Historical”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

not for light hearted people i was chocking in tears thinking about the cruelity and pain that those people went thru before they die!! history great though!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mvuyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great, but be warned about 2 Day Pass”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

£12.00 for the Colosseum, Forum and Palatine Hill is very good value. We spent 1 day alone at the Colosseum and Forum. We took our time as both the cashier and guide at the Colosseum explained the pass was for 2 days. This is also on the back of the ticket.
We returned the next day to visit Palatine Hill and were told I could go in but my husband couldn't as he had already re-entered.For the life of us we could not figure this out. Apparently they neglect to inform you that you can only re-enter once. My husband had used a toilet in the Forum that was on the outside of a ticket barrier (but still in the Forum) and had swiped his pass to get back in. This is considered re-entry!! In other words: you buy your ticket and then if you leave for say lunch or the toilet outside a barrier and then return this is considered re-entry and you are only allowed 1 re-entry in the whole 2 days. Very misleading and disappointing. Very nicely we argued our point as a crowd grew around us until the attendant finally relented and allowed us in.
Our advice would be take your lunch and water in with you and make sure you use a toilet that is not just outside a ticket stile.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank amberley217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faro
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gladiators”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you have your photo taken on your own camera with one of the many gladiators in the colosseum area, be warned they charge you for their service!! 20euros!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank portyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colosseum also viewed

 

Been to Colosseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing