We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GIANT BASILICA”

Arcibasilica di San Giovanni in Laterano
Book In Advance
More Info
$67.16*
and up
Small Group Tour: Christian Rome and Underground Basilicas Half-Day Tour
Ranked #7 of 1,498 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Known to be the first church in Christendom, this church belongs to the Vatican and has the privileges of extraterritoriality.
San Diego
Level Contributor
114 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“GIANT BASILICA”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Magnificent basilica, once home to the Vatican and home of the popes. Statues, paintings and intricate inlaid stone floors.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,012 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,451
    1,353
    181
    14
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Saints staring down at you”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Beautiful achitecture, peaceful church, send a postcard from here! Close to the Colosseum and all other attractions. Awe inspiring.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carmel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Oh my ...this basilica is well worth the trip. It is not far from the old city center and beautiful to see.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darrell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Nice Place for Families and Couples Alike”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

For any visitors, keep in mind that this is the designated gay neighborhood in Rome, so if you have any problems with people of the same-sex openly expressing their affection, I'd stay away. My family has no problems with any of this, and we found our stay very pleasant. All of the locals and store-owners were kind and friendly, and we had no problems with noise or anything at night. The party area is closer to the front of the street, though, and we were staying towards the middle, so be mindful of that if you're staying in that area and wish to get a good night's sleep. Prices are fair, location is convenient, company is good...I would highly recommend and stay again!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“breath taking”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

one of the best in Rome ...Loved it !!! the paintings were amazing ...I went there on Sunday so they had some ceremonies which was interesting ...women should cover their shoulders ...entree its free but for the garden they sold ticket for 5 Euro !!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SHAMIN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arcibasilica di San Giovanni in Laterano also viewed

 

Been to Arcibasilica di San Giovanni in Laterano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing