We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food and Friendly Service”

La Scaletta degli Artisti
Ranked #1,046 of 12,134 Restaurants in Rome
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food and Friendly Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

After dinner one night (at another restaurant) we were walking along and were invited into this restaurant by its owner Joe. He was friendly and very passionate about the quality of his food and establishment. We sat at the bar and had a bottle of wine. He gave us a free dessert since we had already eaten and it was so good we came back for dinner the next night! The staff always has a smile on their face and the food is very good. I probably had the best lasagna of the trip there (tried 3-4 other restaurants from Venice to Rome). Highly recommend if you are staying in the Piazza Navona area. The view isn't as good as on the Piazza, but the prices are better because of that.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    171
    81
    57
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
280 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Food and service very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We ate here several times. The food was always fresh and the service was good. The owner served us the times we were there and he was very concerned that we made the right choices. My only complaint was the last time we allowed him to choose the food and wine for us and it was more expensive than we had planned. If you go here be sure to ask about prices to avoid any unexpected charges. This is a good location if you want to eat early (before 19:00) and you don't or did not make reservations.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chadz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, welcoming service. Great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We could not fault the service. The staff were charming and funny, and very friendly and accommodating. We met the chef, and the owner looked after us well, as did the waitstaff. Accessing free wifi was no problem, and the food was absolutely fantastic. The porcini mushroom and beef were exceptional. Very very very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacqandAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh food - great service - atmosphere - got it all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

La Scaletta is on a side street off Piazza Novona. The food is so fresh it melts in your mouth. Service is excellent and the atmosphere is so relaxing - a jazz band was playing on the street! Must come back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank torontochar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We came across this restaurant (28/09/13) by chance when walking away from the Piazza Navona looking for a restaurant off the beaten track. Sat outside and watched the world go by. Had the special to start with which was a cheese dish and was excellent and then my wife had Carbonara and I had pasta with lobster all washed down with a bottle of white that they recommended from a small vineyard which was very easy on the pallet. A very enjoyable lunch and good value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Scaletta degli Artisti also viewed

 

Been to La Scaletta degli Artisti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing