We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at a reasonable price”

Osteria del Sostegno
Ranked #732 of 14,710 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Colonna
Description: phone +39 06 679 38 42
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a small restaurant close to the pantheon but slightly off the beaten track. You generally have to book a day or two in advance. This restaurant is used by locals and tourists alike - the better hotels seem to recommend it.
We had some truly great food - so good that we visited the restaurant twice in the 5 days we spent in Rome. The raw artichoke salad was great, the pork loin and the veal stuffed with artichoke fabulous and, surprisingly, the best dish in my opinion, was the fusilli with artichoke and bacon. A very simple dish with very distinct and clean flavours.
Desserts were not quite as good as the main dishes but still good. The wine was very reasonably priced although you could easily get carried away with the fine vintages they offered. Service was good, not push or under attentive. Great experience.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mm33741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 1,239 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2019

Gone are the days when they table is yours for the evening. This place will rush you in and out of here faster than you can say carbonara. We are not offended by :brusque" service that some may feel is rude. Even for us this place was just APPALLING. Our quite attractive young waitress had all the charm of a wild mountain goat . The male maître d was in a hurry to get rid of us and when we asked for a grappa at the end of the meal said " would you like that to go/?' Needless to say we left without grappa and will never go back. And the carbonara is mediocre at best. I must confess the olive oil was quite good.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DavieWavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2019 via mobile

We’ve gotten used to mediocre diffident service here in Rome. Since they really don’t expect tips they don’t even feel obliged to ACT willing to serve. This place was different. Good food, good service and no wait even though we didn’t have reservations. The zucchini, and artichoke appetizers were great! The carbonara and the artichoke pastas were wonderful. Hard to find as there’s no sign but worth the search. Recommended by our (small) hotel.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank pmspiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019 via mobile

We only waited for 5 minutes to get a table and were very happy with the service. Excellent advice from the waiter for the wine. And the pasta with funghi porcini were excellent. A bit less impressed with the melanzane alla parmiggiana. But the place was very pleasant and would definitely go back

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Esteban B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2019

Every meal we had in Rome was excellent, but our dinner at Osteria del Sostegno was the best. The finest and freshest ingredients were perfectly prepared with, I think, confidence and love of regional traditions. I thought I knew a little bit about good food until I traveled to Italy...silly me. Now I believe that the Italians understand food on a whole different level from the rest of the world. These people are serious about food. Our friend, Keith, recommended Osteria del Sostegno. Thank you, Keith!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Betty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Osteria del Sostegno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing