We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quieter option”
Review of Hotel Artis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Artis
Ranked #382 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Swindon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A quieter option”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Splendid modern hotel, however, would not advise for a short break if you are in Rome for the historical sites as it is some considerable distance from the centre of Rome. Situated in a quiet residential area, either an hours travelling required on public transport, or expensive taxi fares! However if you have the use of a vehicle it deserves a very high recommendation. I would not say it should have 4 star status as it does not have the facilities you would expect from a 4 star hotel. The lounge is very small, no porterage, a stocked mini-bar but no tea or coffee in bedrooms, very little information in the room concerning services on offer other than laundry, things you take for granted. However, the reception staff are excellent, informative and helpful. We stayed for 3 nights, the Restaurant was not available during our visit, our one visit to the lounge bar - they had run out of beer!! The breakfast buffet provided gave an excellent choice, although no toaster is provided. Worth a mention is that there is a Supermarket next door and the local pizzeria, La Corovana, certainly deserves a visit.

Room Tip: The Hotel Artis is in a quiet residential area, so no worries about loud music or rowdy holidaymaker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    286
    143
    37
    22
See reviews for
78
288
18
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is very clean and stylish. The staff are friendly and spoke very good English. The room was spacious and very comfortable. I'm not sure I would award it four stars as the bar was never open when we wanted it and the breakfast was nice but not really what we would have expected for this rating. It is in the middle of a residential area and we found it very difficult to find food when we first got there. The hotel had no facilities and we ended up with take out pizza which was disappointing.
The transport links are very good - Bus 558 on the main road, 10 mins to Sub Augusta Metro (Battistini line) will take you anywhere you want to go. (I would have killed for this advice in advance!)
I would stay here again now I know what to expect.

Room Tip: Don't have room 12 as we did. It's next to the reception and very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemini2191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Excellent value for money. The room we stayed in was very spacious, modern and clean. As we arrived late at the hotel, pretty much all the local restaurants and take aways were shut. However the reception staff opened the bar up just for two of us so we could have something to eat which I thought was very accomodating. I would definitely reccomend this hotel if you are looking for Rome on a budget!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very clean and stylish hotel, a bit fra from the center but good connection with buss and metro. The employee speaks very good english and give you all info. you nedd. I certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dardaneagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is clearly new and furnished very modernly. it's contemporary and clean. Rooms are lovely but no kettle.

Nice flat screen tv - No English channels

Staff are friendly.

It's about 15-20 minutes outside Rome center.

The area is a residential area, it's not the best of estates and looks run down. nothing really close by however we hired a car so this wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misssleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a nice hotel and good value for the price albeit bit basic for 4 star but clean and romes are a nice size. But check how to get there if coming by public transport. It is in the inner suburbs of Rome nearest to Campino airport (the airport Ryan air uses) than to the centre. The Hotel website does provide a guidance on getting there by bus and metro. The metro stop they advise is Guila Agricola but it is actually quite hard to find the relevant bus stop number 588 (even with help of friendly local we could not do so and with every two romans just like in London there are three opinions!) It is much easier to find the bus stop by getting off at the next stop Sub Augusta where the bus stop is much nearer and clearer to find. The bus is a bit erratic at night with a thirty minute gap on the night we arrived and no indicators at bus stops to show you how long to wait. Also the advice on the hotel website is to get off after x stops. This is confusing for a visitor. Instead it should give the landmarks or name of the stop (romansita). The main road is bit scary late at night but locals very helpful and you can find once you get off the main road. Facilities very good and rome beautiful and full of history though suffering from the crisis of the Euro. Staff are helpful but no tel number on website.

Room Tip: The website says rooms are sound proof but this is not really true...it depends on your neighbours h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Hotel Artis is a nice hotel. The rooms are clean & the free breakfast is substantial. However the hotel really is considerably far from the center of Rome.

To get to the center you must take a bus then the metro. The bus is a city bus so its nice in the sense that you get to ride with locals and experience the city that way. The bus takes from 10-15min and the metro an additional 25-30.

As my travel partner and I were only in Rome for a couple of days the distance of our hotel really did get in our way. In addition, there is not much around the hotel area.

So in my opinion the hotel is best suited for non tourists. In fact, most of the other guests staying there were Italian business people.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lola1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
3.0 mi away
Domidea Hotel
Domidea Hotel
#209 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
6.4 mi away
Warmthotel
Warmthotel
#192 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
7.9 mi away
Occidental Aurelia
Occidental Aurelia
#245 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hotel Pineta Palace
Hotel Pineta Palace
#455 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Poggioverde
Hotel Poggioverde
#119 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
9.1 mi away
Black Hotel
Black Hotel
#636 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artis

Property: Hotel Artis
Address: Via Roberto Fancelli 3, 00169 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #382 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artis 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Artis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing