We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Selections for a Quick Lunch at a Reasonable Price”
Review of Chef Express

Chef Express
Ranked #8,476 of 12,247 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, Fast Food, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Esquilino
Description: Bar & Snack - Ristorante - Pizzeria - Corner Mr Panino, Gourme, Renzini - Gelateria - Market food - Tabacchi - Lottomatica - Free wifi In Rome's Grand Station, there are three Chef Express eateries on the ground floor, located in front of tracks 1-2, 11-12, 23-24. The Chef Express Bar is in front of track 27
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Selections for a Quick Lunch at a Reasonable Price”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have eaten at the Chef Express several times over the years. The quality of the food is fresh and good, there is always a variety of pastas, and a few meat and chicken choices, along with cooked vegetables, salads and desserts. The prices are fair. On top of that, you have an amazing view of an ancient Roman wall from the dining room window. It's a great cafeteria. Eat where the Romans eat!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PattyofStJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    76
    86
    30
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
133 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Our favourite!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had our first breakfast in Rome at the Bar Chef Express. The coffee and the pastries are very good. They are also inexpensive. We couldn't speak Italian and the staff didn't speak much English, so we simply pointed at what we wanted. It gets pretty crowded in the morning but we love the coffee and pastries that we kept coming back even though we had breakfast on subsequent days in our B&B.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marietang79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was a great place to eat as they had many options all home cooked. You can pick what ever you want from many options and you are not limited to a menu. There was not much service as it was sort of buffet style but what service there is was pretty good. The place was clean and the cashiers were OK. The food was excellent as there were chefs at each station preparing different dishes (pasta,rice, roast, salads, deserts, fruit). The cooks sometimes not to friendly, but I would recommend.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomS0818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch, and excellent value.”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This, being part of the Termini station complex, might seem the most unlikely venue for a decent lunch. However, you will find this place full of railway and other public service employees, and locals. The choice and quality is very good and the prices are very cheap. The tomatoes and fruit taste fantastic, the pasta is fresh and tasty and everything else is great. A great place to go for a quick, decent and cheap lunch.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
113 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“REASONABLE & GOOD SELF SERVICE”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Situated in the Termini - second level with easy access and comfortable .
Hot and cold dishes to choose from in a wide variety ; offering salads and different types of meat ,fish, cakes , & drinks.
Not expensive -$

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dave294458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Express also viewed

 

Been to Chef Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing