We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location rooms can be disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon
Ranked #247 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield uk
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location rooms can be disappointing”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at the sold al pantheon from 24/06/13 for 3 nights. The hotel is situated in probably the best location in Rome and the most atmospheric having The pantheon on its doorstep. Once you step outside the hotels door you are a short walk to the Trevi fountain piazza navona and the Spanish steps and about a 20 minute walk to the Vatican and the coliseum, although it will take you longer because you will be distracted by all there is to see on the way in such a scenic city. The piazza della rotunda on which the sole al pantheon is situated is amazing, the atmosphere when you sit outside to eat or drink is wonderful however do be careful if you book into the sole al pantheon do ensure you book rooms with views of the pantheon and not the classic rooms at the back of the hotel as these are a little disappointing. I booked through Expedia and requested rooms with pantheon views but was sold the classic rooms at the back of the hotel and by the time I noticed the error Expedia had made it was too late and despite e mailing and telephoning Expedia several times and them promising that they would sort it out they never did so when we arrived at the hotel we were given rooms at the back which were reasonably clean and had clean bedding and towels but the rooms did have an odour of age about them which I must admit did go once the windows had been open a few hours. Now had we had the view of the pantheon this would have been a fair trade to compensate for the rooms being a little disappointing however I do not blame the hotel it was Expedia who messed up the booking and had terrible customer care service. Would I stay at the hotel again? Only if I had a room with the view otherwise no. The staff at the hotel were very nice and the location perfect but once again be careful which rooms you book because out of the 4 rooms we booked only 1 was close to our expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbgSheffieldUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    235
    63
    31
    29
See reviews for
189
315
29
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maine, USA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here three nights in September 2012 for three nights! We absolutely loved it! The location was perfect, really close to the Pantheon, but not noisy at all. The room was spacious and decorated nicely. We were travelling with our small dog and it worked out perfectly. He was very happy as well. :) The included breakfast was delicious! I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in an apartment because we had a small dog and it was great. Lots of privacy and literall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Em042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eads
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed 3 nights. The location near Pantheon could not have been better! The desk staff were nice and accommodating. Responsive to needs... room hair dryer did not work so very promptly provided a personal one. When ice was needed for beverages it too was prompt. Our window view was of courtyard dining area. The beds were good, room size as expected, not the size we have in USA, but have traveled in Europe before so that was no surprise and ok. The breakfast each morning 7:00 until 10:00 was 5 star, selection and quality excellent.This was the best aspect of our stay at Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon.Location must get a kudo as well

Room Tip: Good luck asking for room with Piazza view.Not a big deal unless that is a big deal for one.We trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimetcpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We wanted a nice, clean, comfortable, modern and friendly boutique hotel with a view of the Pantheon and I got it. We stayed the end of April 2013 for 5 nights...wow! I will definitely stay here again when we return to Rome.

The staff just couldn't be nicer. They spoke very good english and were very willing to help with directions and all of our questions.

Geez, the included breakfast was amazing. Lots of foods, meats, cheeses, rolls, pastries, fruits, sweets, juices and amazing coffees of your choice.

All this at a good price. For Rome that is.

Tip: There is a certain "magic" of the Pantheon day and night. What a great area to stay in Rome!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the Pantheon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePinkCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

we choose this hotel as it was said to be the oldest in the world, and we thought it would have charm and loads of atmosphere. We were paying over 300 euro per night for 6 nights and they showed us to a room that went down two steps into a dungeon with no windows. On refusing to accept the room the manager Leonardi gave me 3 options , share a double bed with my travelling companion, another room that had a peephole or pay 20 euro extra per night , for a room with a view. we had called for a Doctor as my companion was ill, I agreed to pay the 20 euro extra. the room we then accepted had a fridge that did not work, although they offered to put the drugs in their fridge downstairs,and the door covering the fridge in our room was made of plywood, of which the hinge was off and could not be fixed. the staff were helpful and friendly but the hotel managers rudeness was incredible, later after the doctor spoke to him , we were told we did not have to pay the extra 20 euro. never again would I go back. If my friend was not so sick, I would have gone elsewhere we stayed from 20/4/ to 25/4/13
Roberta Murphy

Room Tip: do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 255100Frida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

in general a lovely little hotel. We had a standard room which was on the small side but since you dont go to Rome to sit in your room it was a perfect size. No bath but a very large shower which also "did the job". we had a view of the pantheon (side view) and the Piazza della Rotonda which was great fun watching everyone but did have a down side: the piazza is also very popular at night with all the cafés etc with the accompanying noise level. this made for a rather bad couple of nights sleep but i'm a light sleeper so it might not be an issue for others.
location is absolutely ideal for sight seeing though with alot within walking distance.
Breakfast was very pleasant and the service very good
would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: we had room 108 so if you are a deep sleeper or party late it would be an ideal. dont know about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritInBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We booked this hotel over 9 months ago. We had requested a very early check in of 10a.m. because of our cruise arrival. In order to accomodate the early arrival they put us in their annex building. Although the room was very large with an additional sleeping area, the effictiveness of the air conditioning was not good. They attempted to remedy the situation, but not to our satistaction. We requested another room in the main hotel which they were able to supply the next day. I'm not sure how I would have rated the hotel, if this problem wasnt resolved. The fact is they did resolve it. The sincere friendliness and the helpfulness of the staff was great throughout our 5 day stay. The breakfast buffet was excellent with juices, fruits, yogurts, a variety of pastries and meats and cheeses. There were also eggs each day. There were variations every day in the buffet which made it more enjoyable. There is nothing like a piece of ricotta cheesecake for breakfast .

The location couldn't be better. You can look out on the piazza from your window and see the Pantheon. Many of the major attractions are within 10 to 15 minute walking distances. Outdoor cafes abound within the area. I doubt we ever had to walk more than 5 minutes away to eat. I know that there have been some complaints about the noise from being right on the piazza of the Pantheon. However, there is nothing like laying in bed at 10p.m; and listening to the bustle of people and someone singing opera outside your window. I would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: If you are a family, the the larger annex rooms might be better. Couples should definitel try for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Pantheon
Hotel Pantheon
#133 of 1,258 in Rome
627 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#55 of 1,258 in Rome
971 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#114 of 1,258 in Rome
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#32 of 1,258 in Rome
755 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#11 of 1,258 in Rome
3,523 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon

Property: Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 63, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#106 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#138 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#171 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Sole Al Pantheon Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing