We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this antique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon
Ranked #289 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

we choose this hotel as it was said to be the oldest in the world, and we thought it would have charm and loads of atmosphere. We were paying over 300 euro per night for 6 nights and they showed us to a room that went down two steps into a dungeon with no windows. On refusing to accept the room the manager Leonardi gave me 3 options , share a double bed with my travelling companion, another room that had a peephole or pay 20 euro extra per night , for a room with a view. we had called for a Doctor as my companion was ill, I agreed to pay the 20 euro extra. the room we then accepted had a fridge that did not work, although they offered to put the drugs in their fridge downstairs,and the door covering the fridge in our room was made of plywood, of which the hinge was off and could not be fixed. the staff were helpful and friendly but the hotel managers rudeness was incredible, later after the doctor spoke to him , we were told we did not have to pay the extra 20 euro. never again would I go back. If my friend was not so sick, I would have gone elsewhere we stayed from 20/4/ to 25/4/13
Roberta Murphy

Room Tip: do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 255100Frida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 734 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

in general a lovely little hotel. We had a standard room which was on the small side but since you dont go to Rome to sit in your room it was a perfect size. No bath but a very large shower which also "did the job". we had a view of the pantheon (side view) and the Piazza della Rotonda which was great fun watching everyone but did have a down side: the piazza is also very popular at night with all the cafés etc with the accompanying noise level. this made for a rather bad couple of nights sleep but i'm a light sleeper so it might not be an issue for others.
location is absolutely ideal for sight seeing though with alot within walking distance.
Breakfast was very pleasant and the service very good
would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: we had room 108 so if you are a deep sleeper or party late it would be an ideal. dont know about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritInBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We booked this hotel over 9 months ago. We had requested a very early check in of 10a.m. because of our cruise arrival. In order to accomodate the early arrival they put us in their annex building. Although the room was very large with an additional sleeping area, the effictiveness of the air conditioning was not good. They attempted to remedy the situation, but not to our satistaction. We requested another room in the main hotel which they were able to supply the next day. I'm not sure how I would have rated the hotel, if this problem wasnt resolved. The fact is they did resolve it. The sincere friendliness and the helpfulness of the staff was great throughout our 5 day stay. The breakfast buffet was excellent with juices, fruits, yogurts, a variety of pastries and meats and cheeses. There were also eggs each day. There were variations every day in the buffet which made it more enjoyable. There is nothing like a piece of ricotta cheesecake for breakfast .

The location couldn't be better. You can look out on the piazza from your window and see the Pantheon. Many of the major attractions are within 10 to 15 minute walking distances. Outdoor cafes abound within the area. I doubt we ever had to walk more than 5 minutes away to eat. I know that there have been some complaints about the noise from being right on the piazza of the Pantheon. However, there is nothing like laying in bed at 10p.m; and listening to the bustle of people and someone singing opera outside your window. I would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: If you are a family, the the larger annex rooms might be better. Couples should definitel try for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Very postive experience, we were upgraded from a jr. suite to a room in a separate building with a balcony over-looking the Pantheon. This is a great location with kids as you are very centrally located and can walk to all sites and then return easily to the hotel for a rest. The breakfast was superb and kept us going until early afternoon each day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel position, if one pays for a room with a view, is second to none, all else to a high standard, reception pleasant and helpful, hotel clean and well furnished in trad way, and plenty of choice at breakfast.




  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed at Albergo del Sole al Pantheon for four nights during the end of March 2013. My experience here was great and very comfortable for a solo traveler. There is a spacious lounge with travel books, a computer, coffee/water/cookie station and a TV. The breakfast was expansive and the staff kept it well stocked. Part of the breakfast seating is outside in the courtyard and you definitely feel like you are in Europe. My room was fairly large and the bathroom was equally large with a tub-shower that any American would like! It was deorated nicely and has a painted wood ceiling to enhance the European feel. There is an elevator at hte hotel too. My only complaint is that my room was very warm and stuffy, with a window that opened onto the breakfast courtyard. The rate I paid was good so I must have gotten the 'economy' room! (Room 116). Therefore it makes sense and I delt with it. The front desk staff was lovely and Leonardo was a fantastic concierege. He almost felt like a friend!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel location is simply fantastic! Right in the heart of the Old city, on the doorstep of Pantheon. If you chose an airport shuttle, they deliver you with your luggage right to the hotel, but it`s also OK with public transportation. It`s 10 minutes walk. From this hotel you are "close to" anywhere you go. Shopping, dinning, sightseeing, transportation...
Our room had a window oriented to a court, therefore it was quiet. Room was spacious enough, clean and romantic.
The highlight is - the Breakfast. Very huge variety of choices. Bread, sweets, fruit... Everything fresh. Bread also in a gluten free version - be sure to order it upon arrival, they might not have it ready all the time. Not sure if I remember the name correctly - Anna, breakfast supervisor provided us with fantastic service.
Only one problem we had was a lift - having troubles all the time. We had to walk 3 floors up as it was out of service almost whole our stay. Also wi-fi is not working properly in room and it`s not free of charge.
Staff was extremly friendly and helpful all the time. We`d definitelly recommend this nice place!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adricka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#47 of 1,270 in Rome
1,036 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Pantheon
Hotel Pantheon
#98 of 1,270 in Rome
685 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,270 in Rome
3,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#30 of 1,270 in Rome
838 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#113 of 1,270 in Rome
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon

Address: Piazza della Rotonda 63, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#106 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#114 Family Hotel in Rome
#157 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $148 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Sole Al Pantheon Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing