We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in the perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon
Ranked #252 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in the perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I spent weeks trying to choose the perfect hotel for a surprise anniversary break and am so glad I settled on here. The location is amazing, right on the doorstep of the Pantheon and so central. You really can walk easily to all the major attractions.

I decided against a room with a Pantheon view mainly as the deal I found meant it would be nearly double just for the view. Although I'm sure the view is amazing, you really don't miss it being in an internal room as you don't spend long enough in your room to appreciate it! We were in room 304 which was a good enough size with plenty of character. It was cleaned every day with fresh towels and toiletries replaced each time. The only negative with the room is the lift which is right outside the door, we were woken a couple of times around 7:30 by the staff cleaning/using the lift to get to their private area. It wasn't a major issue though as it acted as a good alarm call for breakfast!

The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice, kelloggs cereals, meats, cheeses, pastries. The only thing missing was the full fry-up but you certainly won't go hungry.

The staff were great, very friendly and always happy to help with advice on restaurants etc.

We had a wonderful time and I couldn't have hoped for anything better.

Room Tip: Internal rooms facing the courtyard are cheaper and the view isnt missed as the Pantheon is right ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simondclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    226
    62
    30
    29
See reviews for
181
303
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
swindon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

i am a travel agent and chose this hotel for a four day break with my husband and two friends after a lot of research. And we were overjoyed with my choice of hotel. The location of the hotel is perfect in the historic centre of Rome, with all the main tourist attractions easily reachable.
Our rooms were charming, every room is different and unique all kept beautifully clean. And when we opened the shutters of our windows the view of the Pantheon was breathtaking. You would never tire of the view. Looking down onto the piazza below with the pavement cafes and restaurants, the horse drawn carriages and the fountain the 'fontana del pantheon' is awesome. My friend remarked that you would think you were on a film set.
The staff at the hotel and the manager Leonardo were all excellent, very helpfull, nothing was too much trouble. Maps, bus timetables, tips on places to eat etc were provided with a smile.
The breakfast area is also charming with a wonderful varied selection of both food and drinks which sets you up niceley for a days sightseeing. And when you return weary from walking the cobbled streets of Rome complimentary tea and coffee can be found in the lounge.
As we walked around Rome I looked at many hotels amd I can honestly say that I don't think this hotel can be beaten on location, historical authenticity, wonderful staff and downright charm. As a travel agent I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: the pantheon view rooms are well worth upgrading to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rojo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location for a Break in Rome, We had a room with a view of the Pantheon I strongly recommend this is what you book. The staff are very nice and accommodating, if you are at all worried, don’t be this is simply a great place to stay. We will be going back.. that should tell you enough.

Room Tip: Pick a Room with a view, you get some noise from the square!!! but you are in Rome thats the point!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
382 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I loved this hotel and stayed here a week. I had booked into a room with no view with the notion that I'd check it out when I arrived, and upgrade if I wanted since I was there in January. The room was well laid out, but the interior courtyard work area was too dark, so I switched to a room with big windows that opened to the Piazza Della Rotonda. Directly to the left was the Pantheon. The room was generously sized and the furnishings were good, although I don't know why they put a sprayed ceiling kind of look to their minibar, and the double bed was two mattresses pushed together. The towels were good; bath amenities very good; I had a jacuzzi tub, but only used the shower, which stayed hot and had very good pressure. Maid service was good. The breakfast is served outside on a terrace and inside in the breakfast area. It was extensive and varied, and tasty. Rolls, toasts, cheeses, meats, yogurt, cereals, fruit, etc. I never saw scrambled eggs, for example, but there would be small open-faced egg on bread tidbits. The espresso was good. Service throughout the hotel was warm and helpful. (I do note that I had to open the windows now and again throughout the night to cool the room down. It would get very hot and the thermostat did not function as it was winter.) I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The view of the Pantheon is preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busyflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

A wonderful hotel! With a marvelous location! Coming out at the piazza the sigth of Pantheon was a breathtaking experience every morning! And knowing that the Italian poet Ariosto spent a couple of month at the hotel in the 16th century also gave it a very special historical feeling and started my fancies about the then life around Pantheon ...
My room was superbe and so was the breakfast and the service from the staff - very helpful and nice. And to use the offer about the air shuttle transport from the airport and back is to recommend - very comfortable and quick. I am very satisfied whith my week at Hotel del Sole Al Pantheon- the location in the very center of Rome made it possible to walk to all the palaces, churches, museums, piazzas and gardens I wanted to see. There was no need for buses or trams. I will certainely recommend this hotel to anyone that is thinking of Rome!

Room Tip: Room to the courtyard are more silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lena r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austinmer, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Perfectly positioned right on the Piazza, opposite the magnificent Pantheon. Easy walk to all the major attractions - Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Colosseum and Rome's best shopping.
We stayed in a family room in the hotel annex, a few metres across the Piazza from the main hotel. Absolutely amazing views from our room of the Pantheon - had to pinch myself every morning when I opened the curtains! Lots of restaurants in the bustling Piazza below, but room was quiet when windows shut. Room decor was outdated and amenities a bit lacking - hairdryer out of the 70s etc, however excellent value for money and perfect location made up for this. Excellent breakfast and friendly staff topped off a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the annex with a view of the Pantheon - absolutely stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Sole Al Pantheon for 5 nights in January for his Birthday. First impressions were good speedy check in and a nice size room overlooking the breakfast courtyard a very quiet room roomy big bed, a sofa, dressing table and chair nice bathroom with a shower very clean and well kept.
The breakfast was really good all kinds to choose from including cava! and goes on till 10.30 so no rush to get out of bed.
We decided to ask if we could have a room with a view plus I wanted to have a room with a bath so for an extra 20 euros a night we changed, we were so pleased we did the room (308) was lovely big, bright lovely modern bathroom with a jacizzi bath, and a view to die for. we both had shocking colds while we were there and the staff were so kind and helpful, it was very handy to pay 15 euros for 24 hours of films and tv as we needed a rest from walking so much and feeling ill.
On my husbands Birthday the porter arrived at our door with a bottle of cava!! how nice is that!
This hotel is really unusual with all the funny little stairways quirky rooms and antiques we loved it. The staff were the best they could be always helpful and kind.
We got a great deal on our room less than £90 a night when we go back to Rome which we throughly intend to this is where we would stay again, they even let us check out at 1pm instead of 11am because we felt unwell.
next time we will also take the train to Florence it takes and hour and a half so can be done in a day...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sloopy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Pantheon
Hotel Pantheon
#148 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#52 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#119 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#33 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#45 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon

Property: Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 63, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#106 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#137 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#171 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Sole Al Pantheon Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing