We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hassler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Hassler
Ranked #28 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Traditional Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

The Hotel Hassler is likely too traditional for some, but its service is impeccable, and its location is second to none. The roof top terrace has some of the best views in Rome, and its restaurant Imàgo is also one of the best in Rome.

Room Tip: The Classic Suites have no view, despite what they say on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruiser64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneHassler, General Manager at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen to stay at the Hassler and for having taken the time to share your comments about your experience.

I am very pleased to know that you found the service provided by our staff impeccable. We aim to exceed our guest’s expectations every time they visit the Hassler by providing our traditionally renown professional and welcoming guest care.

I am also glad to learn that you had the opportunity of visiting our roof top terrace as well as our Michelin starred restaurant Imàgo. The view truly is an amazing sight and when it is accompanied by a splendid glass of wine and remarkable cuisine prepared by our Chef, it is an experience that can not be missed.

I hope you will have many more future opportunities to stay at the Hassler and try new dishes at our Imàgo restaurant!

Cheers!

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    140
    54
    27
    26
See reviews for
213
501
32
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in the summer last year and it was fantastic! It is quite an old fashioned and dated hotel but it really didn't matter because it reflected the history of Rome. It's nice sometimes to stay somewhere less modern and makes you realise the beauty and elegance of this capital city! The location is unbeatable, right on the top of the Spanish Steps with the Via Condotti straight ahead of you. There was a very small terrace with some chairs on at the top to sit and we managed to ask the spa to sit on their 3 deckchairs on their small terrace but that is one downside. There is no proper outside space to sunbathe so I wouldn't stay here for too long if i was looking for relaxation time as well. This hotel is more suited to a business/sightseeing trip. It is also definitely very romantic! The breakafast was lovely on the ground floor terrace. Rooms were lovely too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweety9London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneHassler, General Manager at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments about your stay at the Hassler. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in this historic hotel.

All of our rooms have been individually decorated with different unique styles each reflecting a beautiful classic elegance and I am very glad to know that you appreciated this decor in your accommodations.

I do hope you also had the chance of visiting our Amorvero Spa during your stay. They have luxurious packages and services dedicated to creating an incredibly relaxing experience for our guests. I would personally suggest one of our masseuses’ renowned massages.

I hope that you will have many more opportunities to stay at the Hassler in the future and to visit the Eternal City once more!

Greetings from Rome!

Best Regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Charm charm.
Impecable staff...... roof top terrace for an evening drink or dinner provides an overall perspective of Roma including the Vatican... and breakfast & or lunch on the ground floor terrace is special.
This is an old hotel...family owned, at the top end.
And at the top of the Spanish Steps....... unique location.
Apart from the charm & warmth of staff, two reservations. In a hotel of this category it is surprising there is no complimentary internet, as is now the custom in the vast majority of hotels around the world. I was told there was, but at checkout it became an issue with an inexperienced receptionist.
And my wife would appreciate a modern or current, or workable hair dryer !
ANDREW BUCHANAN SYDNEY AUSTRALIA

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneHassler, General Manager at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen to stay at the Hassler during your stay in Rome and for having shared your comments about your experience.

I was very pleased to know that you would describe our staff as impeccable, charming and warm. We aim to make your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible and I will be delighted to inform all of our staff in regards to your comments of appreciation.

I do understand your reservations in regards to the internet regulations and hair dryer. I will discuss these items with the relevant departments and I trust you will find these services greatly improved upon your next stay.

Please do not hesitate to contact our staff with any requests in order to make each of your next visits better then the last.

We look forward to greeting you again, hoping the future reserves many more occasions for you to stay at the Hassler!

Best Regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

There is no better place to stay than at the Hotel Hassler! It has a prime location at the top of the Spanish steps. The rooms are large and comfortable with all the amenities that you would expect from a hotel of this caliber.

Breakfast was fantastic and if you have the time plan an evening at the rooftop restaurant. We enjoyed the tasting menu and watched the sunset over Rome. Magical doesn't begin to describe our experience.

Here's a tip: There is a cafe to the left just beyond the church. It's also run by the Hassler and is a perfect place to enjoy a nice drink at the end of your touring day.

Room Tip: We choose a room with an interior courtyard view. It was super quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneHassler, General Manager at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. I am very pleased to know how much you enjoyed your stay at the Hassler and that you found your accommodations particularly comfortable and well furnished with all the necessities our guest’s may need.

The prestigious location at the top of the Spanish Steps and the view from our panoramic restaurant Imàgo truly give our guest’s the opportunity to live an amazing and unique experience. I am very glad you had the opportunity of enjoying the spectacular view as the sun set over the rooftops of historical Rome.

The Cafè you mentioned in your tips is called Il Palazzetto and I am very glad you had the opportunity to stop and enjoy a refreshing drink on the terrace overlooking Piazza di Spagna.

I hope you will have further opportunities to stay at the Hassler in the future!

I look forward to welcoming you again!

Greetings from the Eternal City and kind regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
899 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

A dream location atop the Spanish Steps. Easy walking distance to everything you'd want to see. If that's not enough, the rooms are clean, modern, and quiet. The staff is helpful without being overbearing. The doorman will remember your name. The breakfast buffet is sumptuous. Imago, the flagship restaurant, is a lifetime experience. Dining as the sun sets over Rome is romantic. The food is fit for a king. The tasting menu is perfection. DON'T MISS IT!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmittleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneHassler, General Manager at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a lovely review and for having chosen to stay at the Hassler on your visit to the Eternal City!

I am very pleased to know how much you enjoyed your stay and how you particularly appreciated our location, accommodations, helpful staff, breakfast buffet and panoramic restaurant Imàgo.

I am thrilled that you found your dining experience at Imàgo unforgettable and one not to be missed. Our Chef and his team will be delighted to know how much you liked the tasting menu.

I do hope you will have the chance to return to the Hassler and Imàgo soon enough. Our Chef would be very glad to suggest new dishes for you to try and all of our staff look forward to welcoming you again!

Greetings from the Eternal City!

Best Regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

The Hassler deserves its top-notch reputation - it is expensive, but we all know that going in, right? You've got to pay for location - you can walk much of the city from the top of the beautiful Spanish Steps. The property is spotlessly clean, beds are uber comfortable, lovely people at check-in, willing to help in whatever way possible. We reserved through LHW and received our upgraded room with little fuss, which was appreciated. Do visit the roof-top area - gorgeous view for photos. We really enjoyed the breakfast - a wide assortment of delicious foods designed to satiate the many food customs of its international guests. A young waiter jumped to attention and adjusted the over-head "sails" to shade the sun from one of it's elderly customers - it was so nice to see his true sense of responsibility and caring gesture. While many 5-star hotels seem pretentious and snobby - which I find unnecessary and uncomfortable - they strike the right balance by being highly professional yet very quick to smile and engage if you express interest in the same. Well done, Hassler!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElisainNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneHassler, General Manager at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such wonderful comments about your stay at the Hassler. I was very glad to read all the details about your positive experience from your appreciation of our location at the top of the Spanish Steps to the sincerity with which our staff cares for our guests.

We aim to make our guests’ stay as comfortable and memorable as possible and each staff member endeavours to exceed expectations every time. It is a pleasure for us to know that our guests have truly enjoyed their time at the Hassler.

Thank you for your sincere compliments which I will pass on to each member of our staff.

I hope you will have the opportunity of visiting the Hassler again in the near future as we look forward to greeting you again!

Kind regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

A superb base to explore the beauties of Rome. Hotel staff were beyond perfect, couldn't have felt more looked after. The grand deluxe room we were given, an upgrade, was comfortable but minor things detracted from it, e.g. a main shower that wouldn't stay on (requiring use of the hand held shower beside it) and a decidedly disappointing view of the backs of other rooms from the windows. Food was good, although not 5 star, but the serenity, comfort and the truly wonderful staff, especially the concierge, more than made up for it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddingtonSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneHassler, General Manager at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for having chosen to stay at the Hassler and for having taken the time to write your kind words of appreciation.

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that the location and professional staff were particularly to your satisfaction. We take great pride in the constant effort that goes into creating a memorable experience for all of our guests, and your acknowledgment really means a lot to us.

I’m sorry to learn of the minor problems you encountered with your accommodations. On any of your future stays with us, please do not hesitate to contact a member of staff as they will be very happy to solve any problem you may encounter in order to make your next stay even better than the last!

I look forward to welcoming you again to the Hassler, hoping that the future stores many other opportunities for you to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#57 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hassler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hassler

Property: Hotel Hassler
Address: Piazza della Trinita' Dei Monti 6, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Rome
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#76 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#116 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hassler 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hassler Roma is the legendary five star Rome luxury hotel at the top of the Spanish Steps, residence of choice for a memorable experience in the Eternal City. In the heart of the city's historic center, the Hassler is one of the best hotels in Rome, minutes from Via Condotti as well as important monuments and landmarks, including the Pantheon, St. Peter's Basilica, the Coliseum, the Villa Borghese gardens and The Trevi Fountain. Owned by President and Managing Director Roberto E. Wirth, fifth generation of a famous Swiss dynasty of hoteliers, the Hassler Roma hotel offers 93 unique rooms and suites. Magnificent dining options within the hotel include the Michelin-starred Imàgo, the Salone Eva and Palm Court Restaurants and Hassler Bar, and Il Palazzetto Restaurant & Wine Bar nearby. Elegance, style, the highest quality service and discretion have made the Hassler Roma the very symbol of international hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Hassler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hassler Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing