We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced”
Review of Caffe Greco

Caffe Greco
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.32*
and up
Small-Group Food Tour in Rome: Espresso, Gelato and Tiramisu
Ranked #4 of 565 Nightlife in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Poets Keats and Shelley were regular patrons of this popular café, where the view from the outside is not nearly as expensive as the coffee served within.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“overpriced”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Completely over priced €32 for two reasonable tasting but smallish coffees and two buns. Its what gives European capitals a bad name in rip off. Go anywhere else pay half the price and enjoy it more. Cannot tell me that what I had is worth almost the same as a guided tour of the Vatican.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    330
    153
    78
    81
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Give yourself a relaxing time and have a cappuccino…”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Antico Caffe Greco, Rome and this one is the same. This one’s location is much more accurate.
OK they are not serving the best coffee in town but location, atmosphere and desserts are really good. While you are waiting for your loved ones are shopping, give yourself a relaxing time and have a cappuccino…

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GezenGazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Historic but just have coffee”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Nearest cafe to our hotel, large crowd standing at the cafe was encouraging, didn't knew the historic significance till we had a chance to look around all the pictures on the walls, more like a museum, definitely over priced. Go in and drink at the bar like the locals but don't sit down!

Helpful?
1 Thank Bwkuah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
700 reviews
184 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
“Sorry Excuse to Spend 8+ Euro”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Most reviewers were impressed by the history and the atmosphere, and I am often willing to pay for either. But when I walked in and saw the interior for myself, I couldn't bring myself to part with 8 euro for a coffee in this cramped, not-especially attractive cafe, full of ordinary-looking tourists and indifferent waiters. Anyone who has been in Angelina's (rue de Rivoli, Paris), will know where I'm coming from - Angelina's is also a storied cafe, its prices are about the same (how does 38 euro for breakfast sound?), but the interiors and the overall experience are much more worthwhile, and there are good-looking fellow patrons to look at.

Cafe Greco's only reason for continued survival is its location on via Condotti, where, after one has spent thousands of euros at the adjoining designer boutiques, an 8-euro coffee is hardly worth a blink.

To the average visitor to Rome, however, I recommend popping in, looking around, and then going elsewhere.

Helpful?
3 Thank MannyG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“You have to go for the History...”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We went for it and sat in the seating area within this lovely cafe and were treated to lovely service and very good coffee and cakes. It was the most expensive coffee in all of Italy during our 3 week trip - but there are somethings you just have to do !! 8 euros for the cappuccino. Good though !!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon_Draper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Greco also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Greco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing