We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Piazza del Popolo
from $63.00
More Info
from $43.50
More Info
from $63.00
More Info
from $61.90
More Info
Reviews (3,787)
Filter reviews
1,184 results
Traveler rating
513
478
171
15
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
513
478
171
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews egyptian obelisk twin churches santa maria spanish steps people's square villa borghese huge square public executions northern gate the leonardo da vinci open square aurelian walls starting point street entertainers lovely square metro station other attractions
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,184 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

The piazza is large and dominated by the central obelisk monument. There is a fountain on each side and many decorations and statues. Very interesting and a nice place to people watch.

Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Located a short walk from where I'm staying, this piazza is quite nice and definitely worth a visit.

Thank Melbguy3805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Rome knocked my socks off that great it is. Absolutely amazing city and
I warmly recommend to everyone

Thank Matjaz_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Yet another wonderful place to see in Rome. Impressive piazza with great statues and a lovely open feel.

Thank Watty0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Piazza del Popolo is a large square, accessible by metro - station Flaminio.
The square is surrounded by three important churches : Basilica Parocchiale Santa Maria del Popolo - in the north side, Santa Maria dei Miracoli and Santa Maria in Montesano - in the south side.
In the center of the square is located the Egyptian obelisk of Ramses II.
In the west side of the square we found Fontana di Nettuno, and in the west of the square - Fontana de la Dea di Roma.
This square have a ugly past - there taking place public executions until the 19th century.

1  Thank Gabriel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great place to get some peace in a very busy city, fabulous history and the Obelisk is one the oldest in Rome, just sit and soak in the atmosphere.

Thank prs54fmpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited this piazza early morning so missed possible crowds. We were staying near the Colosseum so to save time travelled there by Metro which was very simple and cheap. The architecture and obelisk are delightful and a short climb to the Pincio gardens provide lovely views over the square and the Campo Marzio area and beyond. Well worth the effort, and refreshments are available at the top! The Santa Maria Del Popolo church is also really spectacular.

1  Thank ChrisShreeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

An attractive square with impressive views from the nearby steps. The only negative was the loud music from an untalented performer which was at complete odds with the cultural surroundings.

Thank PRS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This isn’t as busy as you’d think it would be. It’s a really large and beautiful open plaza. The obelisk in the centre is very impressive.

Thank 890RichardF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

Piazza del Popolo was very near the apartment we rented for 10 days. We found ourselves in the piazza on at least four of the evenings we were in Rome, for a variety of reasons. For one thing there are two restaurants on each side of the Piazza and, depending on what time you get there, they can be in the shade. We sat there for quite a while having cocktails and watching the people selling kids toys throw them high into the air, looking at the beautiful buildings/churches and just chatting. It was never super crowded and we found it a great way to wind down after a long day of sightseeing. The food in the two restaurants we tried (the northern-most restaurant on each side of the piazza) was excellent. The restaurant on the eastern side of the piazza was less expensive, but we loved both of them.

Thank HeidiW345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews