We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place for budget travelers.”
Review of Fraterna Domus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fraterna Domus
Ranked #1,371 of 3,664 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pratt, KS
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The perfect place for budget travelers.”
Reviewed March 19, 2010

My husband and I were traveling on a budget and this was the perfect option for us. We made our reservations through email [--] and corresponded with Sister Milena. Our room was 84 euro per night for a room with two twin beds, this also included breakfast. The sisters also serve a nice dinner for 14 euro per person. The rooms were very clean, although quite small. The bathroom was very interesting, with the shower right in the middle of the bathroom next to the toilet. The location was great, within walking distance of many sights and close to bus stops. We were basically looking for a clean place to sleep and shower and that's what we got. I would definitely recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ksdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    38
    19
    12
    7
See reviews for
40
24
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Labin, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

The only thing that is good about this place is the location...it is situated just a few minutes walk to the piazza navona...and 15 minutes walk to the Vatican city! And ok, it was clean and safe but basic. But the nuns that are managing this place are very rude, strict and unpleasant. The food was average, and we were served the same dish for 3 nights in a row. They lock the door at 11 PM so if you want to stay out at night....it is not gonna happen.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank majda1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Basic, clean, safe no frills room. Easy to get there (Bus #70) with a stop right in front. Can not beat the location for the money (1 block off of Piazza Navone) and could walk to everything for there.

I did enjoy dinner there one night (7:30 PM)...was quite full with other travelers, staying there and not. Breakfast was simple but fullfilling.

Would go back again and would recommend to others.

I did not find the 11 PM curfew a problem.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelwinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2009

We have traveled many places in Europe, and in Rome. This was bar-none the least welcoming place ever. Granted, it is in a good location, but there are other similarly-priced options nearby.

To begin with, there are no signs in the "lobby" indicating where guests should check-in. There were a few locals sitting around when we arrived in the evening, but no one offered assistance, and we were with a friend who is fluent in Italian. When one of us went upstairs to the landing to see if that was where we were to check in, one of the lay-clothed sisters yelled at us, telling us we should not be there. She did not offer any assistance nor advise us where to check in, but remained where she was, ignoring the new guests. After waiting around in the lobby for awhile, finally Sr. Milena arrived, gave us our keys, and told us that the heater was not working but it wasn't too cold today anyway. When we laughingly told her about our unwelcoming experience with the sister yelling at us when we tried to discover where to check in, she said ,"She did what she should have done".

We entered the VERY narrow corridor, which has one wall that angles in oddly, and found the room to be the typical convent style, although this one was not up to the standards of cleanliness and maintenance of other convent rooms in Italy that we've been in.

The worst part is that we were overcharged, and she used our credit card number without our knowledge. DO NOT GIVE YOUR CREDIT CARD NUMBER! If you decide to stay here, send the deposit via Traveler's Checks. We made our reservation in July, and paid our deposit. No disclosure was made of a minimum-night stay, nor of any charges for changes to the reservation. In December, 3 weeks before our arrival, we changed our reservation from 3 nights down to 2. Sr. Milena said this was fine, but we would be charged for the 3rd night anyway. The night before we left, we spoke with her to tell her our departure time (6am), but no bill was given, no receipt given, no mention of any additional charges or outstanding balance (again, we were with a friend who spoke fluent Italian with her). No one was at the desk or in the lobby when we left, to check us out. When we returned home, wwe discovered that she had made an additional charge to our credit card for that 3rd night. We contacted her to dispute this, and she insisted that we must be charged because she told us in December when we made the chage that this would happen. It is my understanding that the fee policies must be disclosed at the time of making the reservation and cannot be changed mid-stream, as has been done in this situation. We have disputed this with our credit card company.

Beware, fellow travelers!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — rude service; being overcharged
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Ciao_Issy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2008

We are a family of four (two adults and two teenagers) and we stayed at Fraterna Domus for four nights in June. We had a big room, with 5 single beds, and a full bath with shower in our room. The location was really the best part of our stay there. It's located in the heart of old Rome. The comfortable atmosphere and friendly staff are a very close second to the great location. The curfew was not a problem, since after a long day of sightseeing, we were always ready to get back to our room.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise from the street (trash truck, etc) during the night.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dtand2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2008

Fraterna Domus is by no means a Ritz Carlton, a Four Seasons, or a Westin for that matter. We usually stay in this type of hotels for their accommodations. This summer we wanted a true Roman experience...old, authentic, but meaningful, and that's exactly we got!!! This is "a house" as Sr. Milena and Sr. Cecilia call it. IT IS NOT A HOTEL! It is a CONVENT!!! with a beautiful small church, where NUNS cook for you, clean your room, and make you feel like you are their guest.

Sr. Milena and Sr. Cecilia make you feel like family. They greet you from the moment you walk in. As you enter the convent, they make you feel as if they have been waiting for you. You truly feel like you are visiting relatives you haven't seen in years.

The accommodations are plain and simple- small rooms, but immaculately clean! Breakfast is from 7:00a.m.-8:30a.m. and it's coffee/tea and toast/packaged cookies. Your room is cleaned everyday and you will also find a clean set towels on your bed!!! If you are used to nice, heavy, white, 100% cotton towels, then you might want to bring your own.

The dinners at Fraterna Domus, which are available for an additional charge, are delicious!!! They are family style, home cooked dinners with wine! (extra charge). The experience of having dinner, cooked by nuns and sharing it with people from various parts of the world was simply amazing!!!

We had been traveling for a month and coming from a beautiful 5 star hotel in Florence to Fraterna Domus was DIFFERENT to say the last, but WE LOVED THE EXPERIENCE!!!

Fraterna Domus is in the perfect location. You can literally walk everywhere from there...St. Peter's Square is in only a 10 minute walk, Piazza Navona and the Pantheon are 3 minutes away, the Trevi Fountain is about an 8 minute walk, and the Spanish Steps a 10-15 minute walk. You can even walk to the Colosseum, but we chose to take the bus because of the heat.

Would we return? MOST DEFINITELY. THIS IS OUR HOME IN ROME!!!

Sr. Milena and Sr. Cecilia, thank you for your hospitality. We miss you. We hope to see you in the Spring of next year. The only request we have is to have the biggest room in the house with the strongest air conditioner!!!

Fioriello and Aracely

  • Liked — The staff, location, and price!!!
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ARACELY2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2007

My wife and I have stayed at Fraterna Domus several times. We read the reviews before our first stay; the sisters offer adequate facilities and outstanding hospitality to their guests. If you are looking to be pampered, this is not your place. The sisters speak only a little English, and may not start a conversation; however, they are very friendly and will try to accomodate your requests. We try to eat at least one meal at Fraterna Domus, the homestyle cooking is excellent. We also were fortunate on our first visit to hear the sisters singing grace before they had their own meal. On each occasion the sisters warned us about pickpocketers in Rome. On other occasions they have helped us with directions and hailing cabs to the airport. We've been there in the heat of the summer and the coldest days of winter. Although the heat is warm in the evening, be aware that the heat shuts off between midnight (I think) and 6am. Also, if you leave your room in the summer time, it is customary for you to turn off the AC (otherwise, the sisters may do this for you). We actually enjoy the shower that splashes all over everything (sort of), although the towels are as thin as others have remarked (I think bringing your own travel towel is a good idea). If you are willing to work with the simple surroundings, Fraterna Domus is great! We've considered other places, but given the location, the food, and the warmth of the sisters, we can't bring ourselves to stay anywere else.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
14 Thank fieldsystem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Domus Carmelitana
Domus Carmelitana
#456 of 1,257 in Rome
214 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Casa I Cappuccini
Casa I Cappuccini
#424 of 1,257 in Rome
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Colors Hotel
Navona Colors Hotel
#76 of 1,257 in Rome
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraterna Domus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraterna Domus

Property: Fraterna Domus
Address: Vicolo del Leonetto 16, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio , Ponte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,371 of 3,664 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Fraterna Domus Hotel Rome
Fraterna Domus Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing