We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fraterna Domus
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Rome
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel 939(Rome)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Adriano(Rome)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
44
39
20
12
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
39
20
12
7
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 122 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2006

Fraterna Domus is idea for travellers with simple needs who don't want to splash out a lot of money for accomodation in pricey Rome.
First the good: you really cannot beat this convent for location. Piazza Navona is less than five minutes away on foot,the Vatican ten minutes, the Spanish Steps about fifteen, Trastevere about thirty minutes along the Tiber. You can use this location as a wonderful base from which to explore the beauties of Rome on foot. There are also little panini shops close at hand for lunches and early dinners, and a bus stop just across the street. The convent is also spotlessly clean and the nuns are warm and friendly, with at least one speaking fluent English.
If, however, you like to have lots of creature comforts, you might have to re-think Fraterna Domus. The rooms are tiny and made up of two narrow single beds. The bathroom is the size of a closet and because there is no tub or shower stall the entire floor becomes sopping wet following a shower (on the plus side, the water is boiling hot and plentiful). There is no tv or radio and breakfast veers on the meagre side with dry bread and butter/jam.
Rome is, however, an expensive city with regard to accomodation so Fraterna Domus is definitely a bargain. Besides, who wants to spend hours in a hotel room when one of the world's most gorgeous cities is just outside your rented door?

Stayed: December 2005
38  Thank SunitaVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2005

The location is excellent but you get what you pay for, and that isn't much: a run down little room with a bathroom's whose shower is a drain in the floor. It's backpacker level accommodation that is simply a place to sleep. Also staying there requires excellent health, since reaching your room may require dragging lugguge up and down several flights of stairs. Needless to say, the staff is very friendly, but little English is spoken. But it would cost at least 100E more per night to stay in a regular hotel in the same neighborhood.

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank 1Marse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2005

Thanks to trip advisor for the reviews on this place,we knew the place was good,but it was even better than we thought.The place is cleaner than a hospital and safe as a church.The location is excellent, walking distance to the Pantheon,Plaza Navona, the Vatican,the Spanish Steps,shopping brand name stores ande more.It has a bus stop right across the street that takes you to the roman forum and other places of interest.The sisters are very friendly and helpful.They let us use their phone to call a cab.The food is excellent,nutritious and healthy.The vegetables and fruits are fresh produce and no canned foods were ever served.Only fresh flowers are used to cheer and decorate the place.The beds and pillows are as comfortable as our own,the linen clean and fresh every day.To top it all,the price is the best in town.When we return to Rome,this truly will be our home away from home.God bless the sisters that run this blessed ,peaceful and joyous place.



  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
94  Thank Pinacolada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2005

I stayed here in June '05 for 4 nights with my 2 teenage sons. The rooms were spotlessly clean, the nuns very friendly (I don't believe they speak any English), the location terrific - 10-15 minute walk to the Vatican, 5 mintues to the Piazza Navonna, and with a bus stop right across the street. They do have a curfew, which was not a problem for us, but some might find it a bit prohibiting to have to be in on a schedule. I'm not sure what happens if you come in late.

The shower was interesting. I had requested a room with a bath, and when I did not see one, was about to complain. However, there was a showerhead on the wall next to the toilet, and a drain in the floor. The whole bathroom got soaked (no curtain) every time we took a shower, but there was lots of hot water, the floor dried quickly, and we all got clean. And now we can laugh at the "funny Roman shower".

They serve breakfast, which was spartan, but sufficient (mostly bread, jams, coffee.) Go early, as one morning we were a little late and the coffee was gone.

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay here, and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank detroitpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2005

We stayed there for a week. It was clean, very reasonably priced and everybody was so friendly. The food at night was delicious. Included in the price was breakfast which was a standard continental. Lunch and tea was an extra but well worth it. It is much cheaper to eat in then go to restuarants. The 11pm curfew didn't bother us, as we had big days and were needing our beds by that time anyway. So for a weeks accom & meals the total cost was 510 Euro. We thought in Rome that was a bargain. One of the nuns do speak english so that was helpful as well. PS. Take soap, they only give you one tiny bar. :)

60  Thank Iindah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews