We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful rooftop bar!”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #9 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We loved this beautiful hotel. The rooftop terrace/bar is an added treat. Bar host/tender Michele is absolutely a joy. He is very profesional and attentive and he added to our feeling of being welcomed. My family and I highly recomend staying here right near the Pantheon!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Wailea67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,591)
There are newer reviews for Albergo del Senato
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,248 - 1,254 of 3,592 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 3 nights and could not have been happier with our choice. The rooms were clean and, although quite small, were perfectly adequate for a city centre break. Both our rooms overlooked the square and the Pantheon which was absolutely perfect. The roof terrace was a lovely escape from the hustle and bustle of the square at night and the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The location was perfect and we thoroughly recommend the tour buses as a cheap way of getting around the city. The only downside would be the breakfast. Although the quality was good the choice was extremely limited but with a square full of restaurants on your doorstop, this wasn't really an issue.

Definately a hotel we'd recommend and if Luca is on the desk, you are sure to receive a wonderful welcome and a very good stay!

Room Tip: Overlooking the square is a must!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed for four wonderful days at the Del Senato. And every thing was perfect, from our room overlooking the Patheon, to the delicious breakfast! The staff was so attentive that one of them even walked withe to the hair stylist so I would not get lost !

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teah-the-hat-lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We are staying at this hotel with our children. We have a room overlooking the Pantheon with a balcony. Our children have a large twin room on the side of the building with a view of the Pantheon if you stick your head out the window. The rooms are well appointed, with slippers and robes. Nice refurbished bathrooms. Ours is small but our children's is larger. The staff is phenomenal. They have helped us with a million things during our stay. Very friendly. The breakfast is nice. Eggs, bacon, breads, cakes, fruit. Coffee is not quite as good as I would have expected. The rooftop garden and bar are lovely and have a spectacular view of the city. And the gelateria next door has at least 40 flavors. All in all, this is a great place and value.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the balcony!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stacytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

You can't beat the location. This is a gem of a hotel immediately adjacent to the Pantheon. If you are preparing to explore Rome, location wise, you cannot beat Senato. I think that this hotel is going to appeal to someone who is looking for a modern refurbishment of a classic hotel with classic lines. You are not getting ultra modern, nor are you getting classic, however, the update is very fresh and nice.

The bathrooms are extremely clean and modern. we had a tough time keeping water in the shower which made for slick marble, but we otherwise enjoyed the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. Even overlooking the Pantheon we were able to make the room quiet when need be.

The staff is an interesting mix of personalities. They certainly aimed to please, though this was my first hotel stay in Italy where I did not find the staff personable. They definitely viewed the customer with skepticism though by the end I never saw anybody leave the desk unsatisfied. It was just a very aloof atmosphere.

The rooftop bar was outstanding with genuinely warm service. I wish that I had more time to experience the bar.

Breakfast was OK. After a few weeks in Italy we had experienced the range of amazing breakfasts to run of the mill. This one was right in the middle. That may have been more of a result of the packed dining room and again, indifferent staff.

I booked online for my family through the hotel's booking engine. I noted that the price I received was significantly better than the price the hotel thought that I had received and I pointed this out to them. They honored the reservation print out. (In particular, the reservation noted a child and the hotel would have otherwise charged more.)

WiFi worked in all locations I tried including the roof. It was never fast, however, it always worked. You received a receipt with a password from the front desk (No charge). It was one receipt per electronic device. So if you want to use your computer and phone on WiFi, get two receipts.

And now the obvious. The location adjacent to the Pantheon. Wow. You simply cannot put into words the experience of sitting on your porch with a glass of wine and watching the sun set on the Pantheon. Surreal. I'll throw the obligatory picture into the review, however, you just have to go. This is what is selling the hotel.

Misc:
The location is great, however, note that if you are taking a white cab, they can only approach the hotel from about 50 meters away. You will then roll your suitcases across the cobbles. Not a problem, just know that the taxi stand is across the piazza from the hotel. If you are taking an NCC limo, they can get you closer. Typically NCC is significantly more expensive and of course the white cabs have a set fare to the airport with is very nice (48 Euro now).

AC was nice. No problems.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paolo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We have stayed at Albergo del Senato on ten occasions since 2005 and have enjoyed it more each time. The location is absolutely the best, with the Pantheon just out the front door. We recommend it highly and look forward to additional visits. The hotel's warm, competent, and thoroughly professional staff makes anyone's stay in incomparable Roma a time to treasure. Book it. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rumlest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

My wife and I spent four nights at Albergo del Senato and had a fantastic time. We stayed in both the Seminario suite and the Penthouse suite. The fresco-ed ceilings of the Seminario suite were amazing, but the view of the Pantheon and the Piazza below from our balcony were to die for. The hotel staff, especially Luca, were very nice and accommodating. Both rooms were immaculate and very well kept. While you are in one of the touristy areas, you are centrally located to a number of attractions, all within walking distance. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rome and would be sure to stay there again if returning.

Room Tip: Get a Penthouse room with a view of the Pantheon!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gttnshtty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,800 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,267 in Rome
210 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,267 in Rome
2,962 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,267 in Rome
4,225 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#24 of 1,267 in Rome
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $193 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing