We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, service, staff.”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #10 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Location, service, staff.”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Found the Albergo on Trip Advisor. The reason it is so highly rated is no accident. The location is fantastic, walking distance to most of the major attractions. You walk out the front door and it is literally steps away from the magnificent Pantheon. The piazza it is located on is a bustling and very atmospheric place to be, surrounded by great restaurants. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. A must do is the rooftop terrace and be served by the humorous and frindly Michael. Great views in all directions from the rooftop. Our room on the 3rd floor has a balcony which looks into a courtyard. Whilst rooms at the front would have fantastic views of the Pantheon and piazza, ours is very quiet at all times even with the door open Breakfast has a tasy choice available and again very friendly staff. We will be back

Room Tip: Rooms at the front if you want a great view of the Pantheon and facing the courtyard if you want a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,866
    468
    75
    34
    10
See reviews for
841
1,839
107
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (898)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The hotel overlooks the Pantheon in the Piazza della Rotondo. The staff are very helpful and the service is exceptional. Particular thanks to Michele in the bar and Mauro on Reception. The rooms are spotless even though they are not huge but the view from our window was fantastic. The double glazing kept out all of the noise from the square.the attention to detail this hotel has , put's it apart from the others. Perfect location and the roof terrace is fab. The breakfasts were more than substantial and agin the service was wonderful. Would certainly go back and definitely recommend. My one suggestion.......please change the dreadful music at breakfast. It is like lift music but worse !!!

Room Tip: we had room 104 right above the door. perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CathyandCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We spent four days at the Albergo del Senato and the staff took such good care of us. They not only provided excellent service but also gave us suggestions on sites to visit, restaurants, etc. Luca & Alessandra were fantastic as were the breakfast staff & everyone else. The location is ideal for walking to many of Rome's historic sites...with the Pantheon outside the front door. There's a rooftop terrace/ bar with a spectacular view of the city. While the location is a blessing, it also means that you are fighting the crowds/congestion the moment you set foot out of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This was our second stay here, and we loved it even more this time, if that's possible. The location is perfect - the Pantheon is next door! I love to be able to see and hear all the bustle of the piazza, but if you shut the windows and the shutters it's all quiet again. The Senato is also within easy reach of most major attractions - we walked everywhere and you see lots of things you didn't even know about that way. The staff are wonderful - Alessandra and Mauro and Luca and all the reception staff (sorry for the names I've forgotten, but you are all wonderful!) are so helpful and thoughtful and will all go out of their way to find out anything you want to know, and Adem at breakfast is cool! We are already making plans to go back. I love this hotel and I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: I love the rooms at the front - you see all life go by in the Piazza Della Rotonda, and the high q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SpencerTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great hotel in a great location. We have stayed here before. We always stay on the sixth floor, in a room with a view of the Pantheon in Piazza Della Rotonda. Yes, that is right, a view of that magnificent, almost 2000 year old building, the Pantheon. I have a photo of the building as my screen saver on my laptop. In my mind this ancient symbolizes so much. In addition, it functions as a church, known as the Basilica of St Mary and the Martyrs. On Sundays they have a church service. We attended the service and this experience was one of the highlights of our entire European trip. The Albergo Del Senato'front door is only 40 meters from the Pantheon.
The breakfast at the hotel is quite good. The main draw card for us is the location. It is centrally located for access to all of historic Rome's sites. It is also almost next door to Rome's best coffee shop, La Tazza D'Oro. Be sure to try the espresso granita with whipped cream.
The hotel desk staff, Alessandra, Luigi, Luca and Mauro are very helpful. There is a great feel to the place. There is a roof top bar, that must be experienced to enjoy great views across room.

Room Tip: Select a room with a vies of the Pantheon, preferably on the quieter, higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 627Benjiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We really enjoyed our time at Albergo del Senato. For the view of the Pantheon alone it's an amazing place to stop, it really is an incredible building just feet away from the front of the hotel. There are lots of other positives about this place too. Location is perfectly situated for many of the main attractions, we were able to walk to all of them. The area is full of good restaurants, bars and shops.

We stopped in room 305, front facing and overlooking the Pantheon, and while the Piazza is busy, the windows do a great job of cancelling out the noise in the square, so you can enjoy the atmosphere of it but also get some peace and quiet during the day. The room was quite small, difficult to move around at times, but as we didn't spend long in the room that wasn't a real issue. One negative about the room was that the air conditioning was broken for our stay of 4 nights, although they were able to provide us with a fan initially and upgraded us to a senior suite on the last night as an apology, so that was really appreciated and more than made up for it.

All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, particularly Luca and Mauro. The hotel was always immaculate, breakfast was always lovely. I don't have a bad thing to say about it and would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: It's been said before, get a room at the front for some amazing views of the Pantheon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
171 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Literally overlooking the Pantheon and adjacent busy piazza - friendly and helpful hotel staff - nicely appointed rooms. Have the window open to hear all the fun & action on the piazza below or shut it closed for some peace & quiet. Perfect couple of nights in Rome with the family.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank 99TedP61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,541 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,828 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,859 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing