We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many Firsts - And Great Firsts”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #9 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Many Firsts - And Great Firsts”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was my first time overseas and I was worried about the type of accomodations I could get for a decent rate. My goodness what a wonderful place - a great way to start off my world abroad. The rooms were smaller than I accustomed to - but I found that to be part of the charm and life of the old world. The staff was absolutely beyond the word friendly.... and able to converse in English instead of just Italian. I can't say enough about how great this place was.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,954
    476
    78
    34
    11
See reviews for
873
1,889
109
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (926)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aventura, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Although I had been to Rome before,my 2 traveling companions had not and our first time at Albergo del Senato turned out to be beyond all of our expectations.
Firstly,the location was central, without feeling crowded and loud;2nd- the staff was helpful and pleasant-our wish was their command. (we really appreciated you Alessandra and Mauro) If they felt we needed experienced guidance,they offered it in a caring manner;3rd-,the gratis breakfast was full of choices;4th-the rooms were larger(including the bathroom) than any other Italian Hotel I had ever stayed at. Based on availability, we were offered an excellent upgraded room on the 5th floor. There was a daily newspaper and fresh fruit as we entered the breakfast room.We always felt accommodated by the hotel staff- for example- A necessary museum reservation printout was awaiting us when we returned from a long day of sightseeing.
In summation,we felt that whatever we asked for would always be met with an affirmative answer by the staff and that truly is a great feeling when so far away from home.

Room Tip: Call a few days before your arrival, just before the hotel assigns you your room and ask to speak to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Floridatraveler18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We spent our first nights at this hotel on our Italy honeymoon and we could not ask for a better hotel view or central location. 15 minute walk to Trevi, 30 minute walk to the Vatican, 30 minute walk to the Colosseum. Staff was very friendly and helpful with restaurant suggestions - definately take their advice and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shannon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

From position, to presentation, to rooms, cleanliness and exceptional friendliness and helpfulness of all staff, everything was perfect. Really modern, attractive hotel. Lovely little touches- felt much more luxurious than it's rating. Would definitely stay again. Really good example of a hotel that's worked hard to get things right.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HTJTSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This hotel was selected by my wife for my birthday trip and we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a room on 6th floor overlooking the Pantheon.
This hotels's location is perfect. I think it would be impossible to find a more central location than this Square. Despite its centrality we never once felt any noise encroached on our comfort.
The hotel staff were extremely polite, professional and displayed elegant, old fashioned manners. Mauro and Alexandra were the staff we encountered at reception and they had all the grace one might have expected in a luxury hotel from a bygone age. I really can't commend them more highly.
The room had every requirement for a comfortable city break stay. Little touches added to the feel of being cared for. I believe this is a three star hotel - but the details felt more than this.
Robes, slippers, personal grooming equipment, daily news sheets and complimentary drinks on my birthday gave the impression that guests were CARED for.
I would have no reservation in booking this hotel again for a trip to Rome. I got the best night's sleep I have had in months in a comfortable bed- and shutters and blinds ensured I continued to sleep until I woke naturally.
Thank you Senato for a trip I will never forget.

Room Tip: The rooms on the sixth floor or the penthouses ensure you have an inscribe view - but to be honest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bear M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed here with my 2 brothers and nephew for the Scotland v Italy rugby match last weekend. I was slightly worried by the 3 star rating before I arrived. I needn't have been. The welcome by Mauro was fantastic. He's a class act. The room we had was fairly small for a twin but you forget all of that when you open the window onto the square and the view of the Pantheon. Stunning. We have stayed in some of Rome's finest hotels including The Hassler twice. I'd go back here in a heartbeat. Clean, very friendly staff, very reasonable rates and a fantastic location. Well done to Mauro and the whole team.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Pantheon. It's one of the best views I've had anywhere in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iainm638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in June 2009 before boarding our cruise ship ... and I can say without any hesitation that I would stay there again if we go to Rome again. The small size coupled with an unbeatable location, a friendly staff, and the views of the city from the rooftop bar all combined to make Albergo del Senato a special place.

Breakfast was excellent, and there are an abundance of food choices within easy walking distance. The only time we took a taxi was to go to the Vatican ... A must given the distance. Everything else we walked to, which helped to walk off the pizza and gelato!

If you want to feel like you're touching the culture of Rome, then you will be hard-pressed to find a better place to stay. And when you are sitting at the rooftop bar enjoying a nice glass of the local vino and see the Vatican all lit up in the distance, you will know exactly why this hotel is so special!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cricketts108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,261 in Rome
6,736 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,261 in Rome
196 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,261 in Rome
2,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,261 in Rome
4,180 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,261 in Rome
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing