We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just a joy”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #9 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

have stayed at the senato twice in the past year and each occasion as been a delight. Everyone, abosolutely everyone employed there go out of their way to make your visit most pleasurable. And despite the fact that it is in a very touristy area,pay no attention to them, some of rome's most wonderful restaurants are very close by. Look forward to going back again.

Room Tip: room 310 , the seminario, is splendid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenneth l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,525 - 1,531 of 3,698 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

Visited Rome hotels many times but never been as impressed as we were with this hotel. Most welcoming staff and an excellent twin room which was quiet although with no great view. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice . Lift a bit slow but there is only one. The staff make this place. Always helpful and understanding of travellers needs. Only one one minor niggle. There is a hospitality tray which is unusual in Italy but was not automatically replenished.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ancienttrveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I chose this hotel based on two reasons - 1. Tripadvisor reviews and 2. Location. We were not disappointed at all. The hotel is situated right on the Pantheon square, with the hotel making up one of the sides. It has street appeal and warmth on arrival and the reception staff are just first class. They are more than willing to help and make your stay a good one. It had marble flooring and good art work (it looks much more than a 3 star). I had heard that the rooms in Rome can be small, but as well as the double bed it had a dressing table, 2 seater sofa and 2 bedside cabinets and a built in wardrobe and safe. Fantastic marble bathroom and all very clean. The window had blackout curtains and shutters which were closed at night by the staff. Good power shower which always had hot water, hairdryer and shampoos etc all as you would expect. The rooms had cloth wall linings which gave it a luxurious feel (ok don't imagine a royal palace or you may be disappointed), but all added to the feel and experience of Rome.
There was a buffet for breakfast with scrambled egg, bacon, toast, boiled eggs as well as a feast of cereals, cold meats and fruits etc which we just what we needed for a hectic days sight seeing. Again the staff were friendly and happy to help.
This hotel was very well situated literally in the middle of anything that is worth seeing in Rome. Only 30 minutes walk from to the Vatican and 30 minutes walk to the Colleseum in the other direction. As I said earlier the Pantheon is next door and the Navona is just a 5 minute stroll away. The Trevi fountain and Spanish Steps are 10 and 15 minutes away respectively so really a perfect spot, for a great hotel at a good rate. No need to look any further if you are sight seeing or wanting a good hotel for a base!
Thank you Albergo Del Senato

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel service as a good starting point to visit almost any place in Room walking. Not that bad with taxi. The train station is not far at all.
The room were not that spacious but that is the nature of most European hotels.
The staff were great. They were very friendly and would try to accomdate you anyway they can.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Pantheon. When you take a taxi to the hotel don't bother with the giving o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Java_rule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We got off a cruise ship and wanted a few more days in Rome - the hotel arranged our transport (clean nice van, arrived on time), had our rooms ready when we got there, and when we walked in and saw the view overlooking the Pantheon, could not believe we found such a beautiful spot. The service was impeccable from the time we walked in, had our complimentary breakfast, and enjoyed our cocktails in the evening (it was too cool and rainy for the roof bar but we took great pictures up there). We found the room fully appointed. down to slippers and bathrobes, and a flat screen TV.

Luca at the desk was a great host.

Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room, on an upper floor with a view of the Pantheon - it was breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I give it two stars just because it is in a great location and the front disk staff are nice. Other than that, it is not what I was expecting. Rooms and hotel in general need to be updated. Also it was very noisy I struggled to sleep at first night as you can hear every noise from the street. Everytime people above our room use their toilet or shower I feel as if there is a huge waterfall above us, it's too loud it wake me up several times in moring.

5  Thank gmila
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DelSenato, Manager at Albergo del Senato, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Sir / Madame,
As always we do appreciate the reviews that our guests write in order to continually improve the service of our hotel and we are sorry to learn that you had a bad experience staying with us.

People who are very sensitive to noise could feel uncomfortble if a room overlooking the Pantheon Square on the lower floors even if with double glassed windows and shutters. At the request of a customer who expresses discomfort we are used to change the room, or even better, at the time of booking is advisable to ask for a quiet room.

Albergo del Senato has a total of 56 rooms and in the last years we have refurbished so far 33 of our rooms. Other 11 rooms will be refurbished on the first floor in the beginning of 2014 and the following year the missing 12 rooms on the second floor. Furthermore we have refreshed a part of the lobby area and in our business corner we have two computers and a printer for hotel guests use.

However, we do hope to have you as a guest in the future. If you do decide to give us a second chance, please do contact us directly, and we would offer you a free upgrade if available.

With Kind Regards

Ann Johansson
a.johansson@albergodelsenato.it
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Unbeatable location next door to the Pantheon and pretty much within walking distance of most of the main central tourist sites.
It's an old building and some of the rooms are a little dark, but that minor gripe is far outweighed by all the positives: the lovely staff; excellent buffet breakfast and general ambience etc.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kameruka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,021 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#31 of 1,272 in Rome
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#45 of 1,272 in Rome
1,054 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,272 in Rome
3,054 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,272 in Rome
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $158 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing