We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #10 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

As other reviews have noted the location of this hotel is amazing. Steps from the Pantheon and the beautiful view of it and the piazza from our room, watching the comings and goings. Once we got our bearings it was easy walking to a lot of the attractions and some times we just decided to get lost in all the lane ways surrounding the hotel. Recommendation for dinner at Faciolaro was delicious and more than we should have eaten for around 65 euro (with bottle of wine incl). Rooftop bar was terrific for a drink in the evenings giving you a different perspective of Rome. Breakfast was nice. Room was comfortable albeit a little on the smaller size.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Coussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,866
    468
    75
    34
    10
See reviews for
841
1,839
107
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (898)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

What an amazing hotel. The location is ideal. We were there during the European Soccer finals and they had a big screen set up in the Piazza one night and each day the police band came to the piazza to play a concert. We sat blissfully in our room watching all the proceedings. It was the best view. And when the piazza is quiet, you can stare at the Pantheon.
Breakfast was delish. Traditional buffet style with eggs cooked as you like them. The staff is kind and funny and accommodating. The rooftop bar was also delightful. The room was a little worn (a very little) but it was beautiful, clean and we couldn't have asked for more. This will be my go to hotel in Rome if we are ever fortunate enough to go back. I couldn't recommend this hotel more highly,

Room Tip: We had the front room on the second floor. What a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bilezmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Alright, so the location of this hotel does immediately put the first-time visitor to Rome in a 'La Dolce Vita' frame of mind. - the romantic lane ways and majestic historic edifices that surround it are a powerful aphrodisiac. However, we still need to rest, and the Albergo del Senato provides a delightful experience. In the 5 days we stayed there, the staff were always friendly and welcoming, their advice authoritative, the room and facilities impeccable and the breakfasts tasty! The rooftop bar was another highlight (as others have alluded to) and even the pigeons seemed to know their place most of the time. (Tip: have a prosecco or two on the rooftop bar and ask Michael the barman to make you a chair!) All in all, a wonderful stay - highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We are currently staying at the albergo del senato for our honeymoon and can I say it has been the most joyous experience of our trip. Our room was outstanding with having a balcony that looked straight at the pantheon. It felt like we could just reach out and touch it. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff made us feel like part of the family and was always there to help.

We would definitely stay here again and also spread the word to our friends and family of our wonderful experience.

Thankyou so much albergo del senato for helping us celebrate such a memorable occasion.

Regards Simon and Rita Duma

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esurio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The location of this hotel cannot be beat. It overlooks the Pantheon.

The staff was warm and friendly along with being very helpful. They were professional in every way and very nice.

Breakfast was excellent with a large variety including fruit, cereals, yogurts, baked goods, eggs, and meat. The coffee was not very strong if you are used to Starbucks. There are Granny Smith apples in the side lobby if you get hungry during the day.

We had room 212 with NO view. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was an okay size, however, the room was in the back of the hotel and there was no view of anything. We did walk up to the rooftop patio which was delightful and could see the Pantheon up close and at a high height. It was fun looking down on what was happening in the square.

The patio had no service while we were up there but, we bought some cheese, bread pesto, olives, and wine at the nearby grocery store and had a picnic while we relaxed and read our books.

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are traveling to Rome and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UptownGirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

A beautiful hotel and what a perfect location!! Right next to Pantheon, amazing cafes till late night...absolutely safe and we actually walked everywhere from here...!It was soo romantic! The room was just big enough for two but clean and the staff always greeted us with a smile. Breakfast was average like most european hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the Pantheon....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rc2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Albergo Del Senato in the ancient part of Rome rocks. Wonderful old building wiyh charm yet tastful updates. Location with the Pantheon and service are superb. Rooms tend to be small as they are in most major Euro cities, but who stays in when there's so much to do. Front desk staff are knowledgeable and very helpful. Enjoy the complementary Italian breakfast prior to exploring the city on foot. So much is within walking distance. Might want to snag a 3 day pass with Roma Christiana pass and speed through lines and get to places quickly that are beyond walking. Rooftop bar for drinks and sunset overlooking the city caps off the day and is great way to prepare for the evening. Great area restaurants and gelato shops. The bartender has a wry sense of humor and entertains with good stories.

Room Tip: Being away from the piazza helps with noise control.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iceman14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,540 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,828 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,859 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing