We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could almost touch Pantheon from our room window”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #11 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“could almost touch Pantheon from our room window”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

great room however ac did not work very well. i would hate to find out what it would be like in summer heat. they were very nice and brought us a fan to use along with the poor air conditioner. very helpful from checkin to checkout. good restaurants within a minute of hotel. very clean and comfortable beds. can walk to many sights but need taxi for vatican. would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartschmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,894
    469
    76
    34
    11
See reviews for
848
1,856
108
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (909)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
316 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Excellent Hotel in Rome. Highly recommended. Internet does not work very well in room but in lobby Ok.
Good service and friendly staff. Nice roof garden. Most important is the location close to Pantheon all sights are in walking distance.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Georg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here in mid-April 2013. My family, and that of my sister, stayed in 2 of the top floor suites. These suites are superb for families such as ourselves- most definitely worth the cost for the room, the views, and the location. We found ourselves in very easy walking distance from the sights we wanted to see, and places we wanted to dine. We did not need the A/C while we were there, but the sun hit the other family's suite harder during the day and they did need it- it was turned on when they requested it. The service in general was friendly and helpful.
My sister was joining her family and us in Rome on Tuesday, April 16, after her 8th run of the Boston Marathon. We set up on our terrace with a bottle of prosecco on Monday evening, to call her, and toast to her finish. Needless to say, the evening wasn't what we expected after a short message from my sister about explosions at the finish came through our smartphones. Mauro at the front desk was a an absolute gentleman when I ran down to inquire about wired computer access to find out more. He calmly and without question set me up with access, and left me to find out more details, including the important one that my sister was safe and on her way to join us as planned. What a reunion the next day we had, and what a lovely place to have it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was our second stay at the Senato and it didn't disappoint. It is hard to add anything unique to the already positive reviews but it is a great boutique hotel. The staff is attentive, warm and eager to please. Everyone we encountered from the staff at the desk, the dining room and housekeeping were wonderful. The rooms ( my family booked three rooms) were all immaculate and extremely comfortable. And what else can you say about the location. To view the Pantheon from your room and to take short walks to the major attractions in Rome, is a major benefit. My family and I really enjoyed the rooftop bar. This part of the hotel appears to be under utilized. The view was fabulous and the bartender, Michele, made the most amazing Bellini. My only recommendation is to book early, this hotel is very popular and fills up quickly. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Rome.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of the Pantheon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfq1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here for an anniversary trip to Rome. We wanted somewhere comfortable and close to the main tourist hotspots. This hotel was perfect. We had a lovely room overlooking the Pantheon (which was the most awesome breathtaking building in Rome, we thought). We toured the Forum, the Colosseum, the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the great squares and sights. Amazing. Breathtaking. Sublime. What a city! And the hotel was great. You couldn't design a better location. It made everything a stroll away. Breakfast was great. The rooftop bar was great. Friendly. Clean. Well appointed. Great sound proofing and blackout blinds!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B_and_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I really enjoyed our stay at Albergo del Senato. The room was moderately sized with two armchairs, a desk and bed. It was spotless and very modern. The shower was huge!! Yay finally a bathtub! And there was plenty of counter space.

It was the most we paid for lodging during our entire trip to Europe, so I am refraining from five stars due to the price. It was a great experience, I just think the rates are a tad. But again, I doubt you'll find anything nicer for this price, so it's more of a reflection of the market.

The location was best aspect by far. It's so walkable to so much. City buses in Rome are very close to this hotel. However, the buses do not say the name of the stop or list it anywhere, so you really really need to either count stops or be diligently watching signs at the stop as you pull up. We also liked that the hotel was able to line us up a private car for a set price to the airport. It made our final morning very relaxed. Our driver seemed a bit off, maybe hungover, hopefully not still drunk...but he did get us to the airport in only 40 mins! ha.

The breakfast included was great and finally had some protein. I was getting really sick of sweets and fruits for breakfast. This hotel also offers eggs and bacon. A very welcomed change!!

Overall we had a very pleasant stay here. If you can afford this property, you will enjoy it!

Room Tip: Room 311 was the cheapest available and very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Everything everyone has said that is good about the hotel is true. Large room by European standard, well located, great staff and great location. If your windows are closed it is quiet but the Patheon is a popular spot and noisy. We were in April and the air conditioning had not been enabled yet and we wanted the room cooler than it was and suffered some noise. Good breakfast. Will return.

Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,617 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#4 of 1,256 in Rome
169 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,256 in Rome
2,862 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,092 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,256 in Rome
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing