We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, Glossy Rome”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #9 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Tewkesbury
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Big, Glossy Rome”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Albergo del Senato was the best located hotel we have stayed in any City. It is not the cheapest but the quality of furnishings, service and room was worth paying for. Our room was on the fourth floor and had a/c, good wi/fi and not a huge amount of street noise affected us. It was so nice to be able to see the real Rome on foot and be able to get back to the hotel to freshen up. We found different places to eat every day and they were all good and yes, pricey! First time to Rome and have fallen in love with it. Coming back? ohh yes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,954
    476
    78
    34
    11
See reviews for
873
1,889
109
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (926)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

A classy, clean and helpful hotel in the very heart of Rome. My sister and I shared a 3rd floor room looking out on The Pantheon. The staff was gracious, very helpful, and many with a pleasant sense of humor. The continental breakfast was yummy in the mornings, and starting in April, the 7th floor rooftop terrace offers a great view to sip a glass of wine and recover from a day's activity. My favorite hotel during my trip to Italy!

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, ask for a room on the 3rd floor or higher given the hotel is on a bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Picked this hotel from the reviews on Tripadvisor and I was not disappointed. We had the Junior Suite/Appartment. As said in other reviews, this room doesn't look over the Piazza della Rotonda, but that didn't matter, it was very quiet and had everything that we needed and was certainly big enough for three adults.

The staff were so helpful, the location was amazing, I will return and maybe even treat myself to the Senior Suite.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antheor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed three nights April 3, 2013 to April 6, 2013. The hotel staff was very friendly and accomodating, including room changes at the last minute as our family group numbers changed. Rooms were nicely decorated and very up to date, although small (as expected). Location is amazing. Front rooms have gorgeous direct view of the Pantheon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrewSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed in the stunning Albergo del Senato last weekend for 3 nights. I booked the Hotel on the strength of the reviews on Tripadvisor and also the location. I was a bit dubious that the Hotel was rated as 3* as for a similar price, there were plenty of 5* hotels available.
The front of the building is understated with no big signs to advertise its existence. After a very warm welcome at check in, we went up to our room. I had ordered a bottle of Prosecco on arrival - this was chilling on ice in our room on the 4th floor. We opened the shutters to reveal the most stunning view I have ever had in a City Centre hotel anywhere. Our room overlooked the Pantheon and the Piazza della Rotonda. The room gets the sun in the afternoon and evening and so with the windows open you get to enjoy the sun, the atmosphere in the Piazza and watch the world go by but with the windows closed at night, you can not hear a thing. The room was very well appointed with a mini bar and all sorts of goodies in the bathroom. The room wasn't huge, but then we didn't spend a huge amount of time inside with all that culture on the doorstep! There was more than enough storage for all our clothes.
The continental breakfast was excellent with a good range of cold meats, breads, fruit, cereals and pastries. The service was super efficient.
In the 3 days, we walked everywhere. The main sights - Coloseum, Vatican, Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona and Spanish Steps are all within about a 15 to 20 minute walk (if you can read a map!). No need for public transport at all. Although, on our last day, we did take the Metro to the Basilica Sao Paulo (well worth a visit).
I know people have mentioned the Front Desk and Housekeeping Staff in their reviews - but they deserve a mention. The service is exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble - from giving restaurant recommendations and booking tables to booking airport transfers to moving and storing luggage on check-out day.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel. Not the cheapest, but then when in Rome...

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room overlooking the Piazza and the Pantheon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank noeasytoimpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We've been there 5 times. Very friendly and helpful staff. Immaculate facilities. Unbeatable location steps from the Pantheon. Roof top bar a must with terrific view of Pantheon and surrounding area. Great restrauants nearby. Its not cheap but the quality is worth it.

ron p

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Pantheon
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ron p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, PA
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We recently stayed at Albergo del Senato for 3 nights while in Roma. As so many have indicated, the location--in the shadow of the Pantheon--is quite good. You are just a 5 minute walk to Piazza Navona and all that has to offer. But go past Piazza Navona, up into the little neighborhood streets and there are some lovely restaurants there - a real neighborhood feel. The hotel was very clean - our room, as well as the common areas. The staff that we encountered were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was substantial and varied and served buffet-style in the lovely dining room which was adjacent to the lobby. There is a great roof-top garden with wonderful views of the area and serves as a good spot to enjoy the sun, the stars, a glass of wine, or a morning cup of coffee. Our room was cleaned and the bathroom kept sparking every day we were there. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay at Albergo del Senato. When considering what type/location of room you would like, keep the noise level in mind. We were there in early April so we did not require air-conditioning. It was great to be able to have our window open for fresh air, but the open window also let in the noises, chatter, and motor scooters down below...and this went on until the wee hours of the morning. Our room did not overlook the square in front of our hotel - our room was on the side of the hotel, yet the noise did filter over there. The location of Albergo del Senato is very convenient to walking to so many destinations - the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona - all of these are just an easy 5-10 minute walk. We also walked to the Jewish Ghetto (very moving location), as well as Trastevere which is a lovely little neighborhood located in Roma, just across the river. To sum it up - we were quite pleased with our experience at Albergo del Senato and recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: Consider whether you can sleep through the noise below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheWools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,261 in Rome
6,736 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,261 in Rome
196 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,261 in Rome
2,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,261 in Rome
4,180 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,261 in Rome
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing