We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific four nights in Rome!”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #9 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Montrose, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Terrific four nights in Rome!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is the first time for us to write a review. We have recently started a three month trip mostly in Italy, but with excursions into France, Switzerland, Germany and Austria and wanted to share some of our experiences when circumstances warranted. Our stay at this hotel was superb. It is the perfect location within 50 meters of the Pantheon with numerous dining opportunities all around, a market just 50 meters off the square and a taxi stand right next to the Pantheon. The hotel staff was incredibly helpful with everything, including a quick early check in, as we were weary from the long flights. They treated us as friends during our entire stay, offering suggestions for various activities. The breakfast offered was excellent, in a comfortable dining room with cheerful and attentive staff. When we return to Rome, this hotel would absolutely be our choice.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the square if you don't mind the noise from the tourists constantly visitin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,954
    476
    78
    34
    11
See reviews for
873
1,889
109
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (926)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here in October 2012 and had a corner room on the second floor. It was very "old school" in feel and had a fantastic view of the piazza and the Pantheon. There was no noise factor - thankfully. The staff was excellent as were the breakfasts. There is no better location for a hotel in Rome. Go for a coffee and then buy some at Taza d'Oro - amazing. Like many others, I often go back to the hotel's website to look at the webcam overlooking the piazza to reminisce. And, if you're crazy about bath soap .... go to Santa Maria Novella and splurge on a bar of Melagrano!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpbandsvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We loved everything about our stay at Albergo del Senato. The location can't be beat - next to the Pantheon, a taxi stand, an atm, the center of Rome, restaurants, shops. Everyone on the staff was extraordinarily friendly, upbeat, and helpful. They were real people, helping you enjoy your visit in their hometown. Our room was beautiful and clean, with just the right amenities - safe, frig, tv, houseshoes, and a chocolate every evening with turn down service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueSkiesTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here back in 2008 and got a suite with two bedrooms. It was very nice and large and had a fantastic view of the Piazza and the Pantheon. My luggage got lost by the airlines and the hotel staff were excellent in helping sort out the problem and getting it to us quicker. There are lots of restaurants and activities right outside your door. There is no better location or hotel in Rome. I often go back to the hotel's website to look at the webcame overlooking the piazza to reminisce.

Room Tip: The suite overlooking the piazza is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife on our Roman holiday. I've actually stayed here once before in 2007, and it was truly better than I remember.
Breakfast was excellent. My wife and I both eat gluten-free, and the staff was extremely accommodating and helpful with our allergy.
The absolute best part of our stay was Mauro at the front desk. He went far above and beyond to help us find gluten free rating options, advice about "off the beaten path" sights to see, and any other question we had. If you have a second, chat with him. One of the nicest people I met the entire trip!
Obviously, the location is amazing. We woke up early one morning and got into the Pantheon before the crowds arrived. It's way better that way.
I can't wait to return. Thank you Albergo!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyor, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed 18th March for 3 nights and I'm sure this wonderful hotel was our best choice!
The room is big and comfortable for us of 3, the breakfast is varied and we could get real Italian coffee or cappuccino. We stayed in the middle of heart of Rome,close to all sights, churches, restaurants,10 minutes from our best program: the Rex-Segway tour.
All of staff was very kind and helpful. Many thanks for them!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klari63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, CA
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Yes, maybe a stay at Albergo del Senato will stretch your budget but it is SO worth it. To wake up and view the magnificent Pantheon from your window is amazing. The large and lovely bathroom also had a great view of Piazza della Rotonda and Pantheon.The service was wonderful. We had requested early check-in and were pleasantly accommodated (Alessandra) at 10 AM. They helped us with our boarding passes and seat assignments and the best way to the airport. The Breakfast Room Staff were also friendly and helpful. The Breakfast Room is small and sometimes congested. Our room was small but quiet and cozy. The beds were very comfortable and robes and slippers were provided. There are so many places within an easy walk of the hotel. Otherwise watching the activity in Piazza della Rotonda was great entertainment. It was cold (February) on the Rooftop Terrace was but there was a wonderful view of Rome. We would love to go back to Albergo del Senato.

Room Tip: We were in Room 403 with an amazing view of the Pantheon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanda84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,261 in Rome
6,736 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,261 in Rome
196 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,261 in Rome
2,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,261 in Rome
4,180 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,261 in Rome
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing