We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #10 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Location, Location”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here in October 2012 and had a corner room on the second floor. It was very "old school" in feel and had a fantastic view of the piazza and the Pantheon. There was no noise factor - thankfully. The staff was excellent as were the breakfasts. There is no better location for a hotel in Rome. Go for a coffee and then buy some at Taza d'Oro - amazing. Like many others, I often go back to the hotel's website to look at the webcam overlooking the piazza to reminisce. And, if you're crazy about bath soap .... go to Santa Maria Novella and splurge on a bar of Melagrano!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpbandsvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,866
    468
    75
    34
    10
See reviews for
841
1,839
107
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (898)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We loved everything about our stay at Albergo del Senato. The location can't be beat - next to the Pantheon, a taxi stand, an atm, the center of Rome, restaurants, shops. Everyone on the staff was extraordinarily friendly, upbeat, and helpful. They were real people, helping you enjoy your visit in their hometown. Our room was beautiful and clean, with just the right amenities - safe, frig, tv, houseshoes, and a chocolate every evening with turn down service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueSkiesTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here back in 2008 and got a suite with two bedrooms. It was very nice and large and had a fantastic view of the Piazza and the Pantheon. My luggage got lost by the airlines and the hotel staff were excellent in helping sort out the problem and getting it to us quicker. There are lots of restaurants and activities right outside your door. There is no better location or hotel in Rome. I often go back to the hotel's website to look at the webcame overlooking the piazza to reminisce.

Room Tip: The suite overlooking the piazza is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife on our Roman holiday. I've actually stayed here once before in 2007, and it was truly better than I remember.
Breakfast was excellent. My wife and I both eat gluten-free, and the staff was extremely accommodating and helpful with our allergy.
The absolute best part of our stay was Mauro at the front desk. He went far above and beyond to help us find gluten free rating options, advice about "off the beaten path" sights to see, and any other question we had. If you have a second, chat with him. One of the nicest people I met the entire trip!
Obviously, the location is amazing. We woke up early one morning and got into the Pantheon before the crowds arrived. It's way better that way.
I can't wait to return. Thank you Albergo!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyor, Hungary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed 18th March for 3 nights and I'm sure this wonderful hotel was our best choice!
The room is big and comfortable for us of 3, the breakfast is varied and we could get real Italian coffee or cappuccino. We stayed in the middle of heart of Rome,close to all sights, churches, restaurants,10 minutes from our best program: the Rex-Segway tour.
All of staff was very kind and helpful. Many thanks for them!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klari63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, CA
Level Contributor
184 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Yes, maybe a stay at Albergo del Senato will stretch your budget but it is SO worth it. To wake up and view the magnificent Pantheon from your window is amazing. The large and lovely bathroom also had a great view of Piazza della Rotonda and Pantheon.The service was wonderful. We had requested early check-in and were pleasantly accommodated (Alessandra) at 10 AM. They helped us with our boarding passes and seat assignments and the best way to the airport. The Breakfast Room Staff were also friendly and helpful. The Breakfast Room is small and sometimes congested. Our room was small but quiet and cozy. The beds were very comfortable and robes and slippers were provided. There are so many places within an easy walk of the hotel. Otherwise watching the activity in Piazza della Rotonda was great entertainment. It was cold (February) on the Rooftop Terrace was but there was a wonderful view of Rome. We would love to go back to Albergo del Senato.

Room Tip: We were in Room 403 with an amazing view of the Pantheon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanda84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

It's all about the location for this hotel, located literally right next to the Pantheon. It's in the historic old center part of town, and it's an excellent area for walking to and fro the churches, parks, historic landmarks, etc. The hotel room we had was a bit small and did not have the acclaimed balcony view that most people post pictures of, but we managed to find ourselves up on the top floor of the hotel with stunning views of the Pantheon and the rooftops of the city. The staff was wonderful and the breakfasts were more than average Euro breakfast. The girl that made our cappuchinos each morning was so pleasant. We enjoyed our stay very much and we also stayed in other Rome hotels for other parts of our trip (we wanted to be closer to train station for our later part in Rome).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reymic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,541 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,828 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,859 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing