We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #10 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here back in 2008 and got a suite with two bedrooms. It was very nice and large and had a fantastic view of the Piazza and the Pantheon. My luggage got lost by the airlines and the hotel staff were excellent in helping sort out the problem and getting it to us quicker. There are lots of restaurants and activities right outside your door. There is no better location or hotel in Rome. I often go back to the hotel's website to look at the webcame overlooking the piazza to reminisce.

Room Tip: The suite overlooking the piazza is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,809
    461
    75
    33
    10
See reviews for
820
1,805
104
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (876)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife on our Roman holiday. I've actually stayed here once before in 2007, and it was truly better than I remember.
Breakfast was excellent. My wife and I both eat gluten-free, and the staff was extremely accommodating and helpful with our allergy.
The absolute best part of our stay was Mauro at the front desk. He went far above and beyond to help us find gluten free rating options, advice about "off the beaten path" sights to see, and any other question we had. If you have a second, chat with him. One of the nicest people I met the entire trip!
Obviously, the location is amazing. We woke up early one morning and got into the Pantheon before the crowds arrived. It's way better that way.
I can't wait to return. Thank you Albergo!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyor, Hungary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed 18th March for 3 nights and I'm sure this wonderful hotel was our best choice!
The room is big and comfortable for us of 3, the breakfast is varied and we could get real Italian coffee or cappuccino. We stayed in the middle of heart of Rome,close to all sights, churches, restaurants,10 minutes from our best program: the Rex-Segway tour.
All of staff was very kind and helpful. Many thanks for them!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klari63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, CA
Level Contributor
184 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Yes, maybe a stay at Albergo del Senato will stretch your budget but it is SO worth it. To wake up and view the magnificent Pantheon from your window is amazing. The large and lovely bathroom also had a great view of Piazza della Rotonda and Pantheon.The service was wonderful. We had requested early check-in and were pleasantly accommodated (Alessandra) at 10 AM. They helped us with our boarding passes and seat assignments and the best way to the airport. The Breakfast Room Staff were also friendly and helpful. The Breakfast Room is small and sometimes congested. Our room was small but quiet and cozy. The beds were very comfortable and robes and slippers were provided. There are so many places within an easy walk of the hotel. Otherwise watching the activity in Piazza della Rotonda was great entertainment. It was cold (February) on the Rooftop Terrace was but there was a wonderful view of Rome. We would love to go back to Albergo del Senato.

Room Tip: We were in Room 403 with an amazing view of the Pantheon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanda84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

It's all about the location for this hotel, located literally right next to the Pantheon. It's in the historic old center part of town, and it's an excellent area for walking to and fro the churches, parks, historic landmarks, etc. The hotel room we had was a bit small and did not have the acclaimed balcony view that most people post pictures of, but we managed to find ourselves up on the top floor of the hotel with stunning views of the Pantheon and the rooftops of the city. The staff was wonderful and the breakfasts were more than average Euro breakfast. The girl that made our cappuchinos each morning was so pleasant. We enjoyed our stay very much and we also stayed in other Rome hotels for other parts of our trip (we wanted to be closer to train station for our later part in Rome).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reymic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed 14th March 2013 for 3 nights over an historical weekend with the Popes first blessing plus Rome marathon so the city was heaving but Albergo Del Senato was our wonderful refuge. We had a'superior Pantheon view' room which I am still blown away by. We walked our socks off and saw all the sites with ease from this as a base. If you a person who likes coffee making in your room then take a travel kettle + kit, and likewise for a hair dryer with any oomph. Room was pretty, beds comfy, shower good pressure + had a fridge + safe. Breakfast was continental rather than greasy fried which suited me fine. We didn't have to wait for table or any restocking. Hotel organised taxi which waited for our delay getting there, and arrived bang on time to collect. They looked after our bags on day of departure and we still felt welcome on coming back for a sit down before leaving. Shame we were out of season for the rooftop bar but we had a nose up there and undoubtedly it is great in the summer - lovely views, but with G&T at 10 euros we saved a bit of money ! I watched the sun go down looking at the pantheon and the square from the chairs outside; great for people spotting. Loved it - lets hope the coin toss works and we go back

Room Tip: Go for the pantheon view - it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girlystargang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the Albergo Del Senato in August with our two children. The location of this hotel cannot be beat. As everyone says, it is a stone's throw from the Pantheon and on one of the most charming piazzas in all of Rome. Above that, the hotel is central and we were able to walk to the Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Piazza Navona in a matter of minutes. The Vatican and Colosseum would be a lengthier walk but doable sans kids and heat! The staff at the front desk were lovely and very accommodating. They offered several good restaurant suggestions in the area. Breakfast was good and had ample options. Maybe not quite as many freshly baked pastries and breads as some of the other hotels we stayed at but certainly a fine start to the day. The coffee here was some of the best we had in Italy! The breakfast room was very nice but perhaps not able to fully accommodate the morning rush size-wise, although we were lucky and never had to wait. The best part of this hotel apart from the location and service is the rooftop bar. What a way to spend a summer evening watching the sun set over the Pantheon, Vatican City and rooftops of Rome. Stunning! Get there early though because it is a popular spot and there are only so many tables!

We stayed in the mini apartment on the 5th floor, I believe. This accommodation was recommended to us by our travel agent and while it was spacious, I wonder if there may have been other room options that offered a bit more light and had a view of the Pantheon. One should note that this apartment was on the service floor, which did not bother us at all but may not appeal to everyone. You wouldn't know it was the service floor as the hallways are just as pretty and nicely decorated as the rest of the hotel. We just happened upon some of the staff going about their business. The floor was very quiet so noise was not an issue. The apartment opened into a living area with sofa bed for the kids and then there was another smaller living area with sofa and chairs which connected the living room and the main bedroom. This connector room had windows and a door overlooking the rooftops of neighboring buildings although we never opened the door because it was not a balcony per se. The suite was very spacious, nicely decorated and well maintained. The bathroom was very large and updated as well. My only issue apart from not having a great view like so many other rooms in this hotel, was that the rooms were on the darker side and we enjoy light. However, we were barely in the room so it really did not matter! I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return again some day.

Room Tip: Families travelling with children can opt for the mini-apartment on 5th floor which offers a living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonniebelle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,374 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#18 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,764 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing