We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #10 of 1,283 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed for three nights mid-March and although it was a hectic weekend (the election of the Pope and the Marathon of Rome) we had a very pleasant and friendly stay. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. Our first room was very small and very expensive but we didn't complain as we knew it was a difficult weekend. The room was very clean and when we asked for softer pillows we received them whitin minutes. We had an excellent room for our last night and this was a very pleasent surprise. Breakfast is not very rich but had everything we needed. The location is perfect, close to all historic places. The hotel is surrounded by numerous Trattorias with excellent food, icecream shops, cafes, etc.
In short we were very pleased with our stay and can definitely come back.

Room Tip: If you want a silent room do not choose one facing the Piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettina077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,531
    439
    70
    32
    9
See reviews for
749
1,638
87
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (798)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Checked in for 2 nights with my husband, for business/pleasure. He had to extend his stay for 2 more nights. Not a problem.
Nothing seemed to be a problem, very accommodating front desk staff, breakfast room staff, and housekeeping,polite and friendly.
Location could not be better, walking distance to most attractions, and to my husband's place of business
Many good cafe's in immediate area
Directly in front of Pantheon
Very clean room, and bathroom, attractive decor and updated, not showing signs of wear and tear.
If there is a negative it would be that it was a small room, but this was not a problem as we where not in the room a great deal. Also the breakfast room can get crowded around 9:00 am, the most popular time for everyone to come to breakfast.
This is a well run, hospitable, clean hotel, hopefully we will return.

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the top floor with a balcony would be ideal for a couple wanting a relaxing tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryEllen000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We picked this hotel from Trip Advisor to stay for a week whilst celebrating my 50th birthday. We weren't disappointed as the location was fantastic right next to the Pantheon.
The hotel is well appointed all the staff were very willing to please.
A bottle of bubbly and a birthday message on the day was left in our room!
We will return and many thanks to all the staff!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent a weekend in Rome in this hotel. The room was lovely. All very clean . Great shower in the ensuite and lovely finishing touches such as robes and slippers and a pull down service with chocolates. The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a fabulous location. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at the Albergo del Senato for five nights in March 2013. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This is the first holiday we have had where we didn't need taxis as everything we wanted to see was within walking distance. Room 305 overlooks the Pantheon and the Piazza della Rotonda. I could have just sat at the window for hours watching all the people coming and going. The elevators are some of the smallest I've ever seen which just adds to how cute the hotel is. The rooms are small but comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful as you would expect. Breakfast was of the Continental sort however they do serve bacon and (runny) scrambled egg.The hotel does not have a restaurant serving evening meals but there are excellent Trattoria and Pizzeria all around the hotel and it's a pleasure to go around and try them all out.
All in all this is a comfortable little hotel which provided us all we needed to add to our memorable stay in the eternal city.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the Pantheon. Take a GPS unless you are an Army quality map reader. Rome is f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PijuDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed in this place for four nights. This was our first trip. After a long day walking around the city, it was always good to come back here and sit outside in the chairs provided by the hotel.
It was a pleasant surprise to find a bottle of champagne one evening; the occasion was my husband's birthday.
They also helped us with the car arrangements which we were supposed to pick up from the airport and drive to Tuscany. We had requested an automatic and the original plan was to pick it up a day earlier. Since there is no car park close to the hotel, one of the staff helped us call up the car rental and made sure that our automatic car is held for us.
I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuchiFosterCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I wanted to spend three days in Rome and return to a city that we lived in as a young couple. Knowing the city well, we knew that this was an excellent location and so decided to take a three night city break here. We were delighted with our experience of staying in the Albergo del Senato. The location is superb as it is actually within the Parthenon square and the staff are very friendly, informative and professional. Most of all, we were incredibly impressed by the way that the hotel staff managed to make the hotel seem small and intimate by their very personal approach.
Although we had a few concerns on the first night due to a heating switch that we didn't understand, the staff moved us to a very warm and comfortable suite where we were both warm and happy. Having stayed with them for 3 nights, we are sure that the switch was due to our misunderstanding! Both rooms were really quiet ( an amazing feat in Rome) and the quality of the linen and bathroom accessories were excellent.
Due to the friendliness of the staff, the wonderful location and the comfortable and clean room, we had the most amazing break and are looking forward to staying at the hotel again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BerkshireEscapee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Artemide Hotel
Artemide Hotel
#6 of 1,283 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 5,615 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#15 of 1,283 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 2,529 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,283 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum - Small Luxury Hotel
Monti
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing