We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm amid the chaos of Rome”
Review of Hotel Portoghesi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Portoghesi
Ranked #88 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed at the Hotel Portoghesi five times, which says something about why I return. It is a quiet hotel but also near the hustle and bustle of Piazza Navona and the Pantheon, and close to lots of restaurants and shops. I have always found the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but they are very nicely appointed and the bathrooms are all new. I look forward to a return visit in May 2013, this year!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Portoghesi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 503 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Portoghesi for four nights in March 2013. The hotel is tucked away on a quiet street in one of the most amazing neighborhoods in Rome. Lots of unique shops and restaurants are very close by, in addition to major sights such as the Pantheon and the Vatican. Our room was very comfortable, spacious, and very quiet. All hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, and made our stay much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tompdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marco012, Proprietario at Hotel Portoghesi, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This quaint boutique hotel is perfect for visits to Rome. Walking to almost any Piazza from the central location is convenient and the late evenings in nearby Piazza Narvona or Campo de Fiore are great for people watching. Also, the continental breakfast on the roof-top garden cannot be beat. Can't wait to go back for another visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank highlandguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I love this hotel and location. They serve a nice breakfast on their rooftop which has a wonderful terrace. The cafe at the corner of I think has better cappuccinos the Santa Eustache. You are in the middle of everything!!!!! Book early for peak travel times.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing street....great views in a Medieval Rome way
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DidiChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent 7 nights at this hotel before a 3 day trip to southern italty the staff are wonderful so helpful and went just above what was required. We left our luggage at the hotel while on the tour and returned for 1 night. Our bags were put into our rooms for us which was great as we were tied from our trip. Location great I thought a little expensive but it is Rome after all. Breakfast could be earlier as we missed a few mornings due to early starts. The hotel has some Cham good laundry mat close by ask staff and great restaurant close by l'orso 80

Room Tip: We were in room 18 quite ok but is was winter so window closed
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samsonSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have stayed here four times now, in a variety of different rooms and always enjoy our stay. The Hotel Portoghesi is part of what makes Rome wonderful to is: not perfect, but full of charm and delight and surprises each time we go. The location of the hotel is wonderful, being a short stroll from the Piazza Navona and Campo del Fiori; the breakfast room is surrounded by church towers and bells and serves a very good breakfast; the owner has excellent English and is incredibly helpful.
Rome is far too beautiful to really want to waste time working, but it would have been nice to have got wi-fi access in our room just once (or even a fast connection downstairs!) and the heating in our room seemed to burst into life whenever the bathroom light was turned on. Bizarre! But I wouldn't stay anywhere else and whenever I get into a swish, fast, spacious lift here, I miss the teeny, one-person-plus-suitcase-or-two-very-close-friends one at the hotel with its Zebedeean suspension! Already planning when we can return to Rome and the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a very small hotel near Piazza Navona. The price and location were right but the beds left something to be desired. After talking to the management about our discomfort, they switched out our beds for some slightly more comfortable beds from another room. This helped a bit, but generally they could invest in better beds. My favorite thing about the hotel is the rooftop patio where they have a breakfast restaurant. The breakfast, which was included, was excellent with a wide variety of choices. They even make espresso and cappuccino. You can also buy beer and wifi access at the front desk which is rather civilized.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Wanderlust A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#112 of 1,267 in Rome
770 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Due Torri
Hotel Due Torri
#233 of 1,267 in Rome
349 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Colors Hotel
Navona Colors Hotel
#80 of 1,267 in Rome
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#53 of 1,267 in Rome
992 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#43 of 1,267 in Rome
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portoghesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portoghesi

Address: Via Dei Portoghesi 1, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#91 Business Hotel in Rome
#110 Family Hotel in Rome
#131 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $163 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the alleys of Rome that you always dreamed of, Hotel Portoghesi showcases elegant and comfortable 3-star interiors, including modern amenities in an area close to splendid Piazza Navona and the historical city center.The ancient building that hosts Hotel Portoghesi has retained its ancient architectural characteristics; its interiors feel like the romantic spirit of fascinating Rome lives on, an ideal venue for an evocative and unforgettable vacation ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Portoghesi Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing