We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and beautiful breakfast room”
Review of Hotel Portoghesi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Portoghesi
Ranked #86 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect location and beautiful breakfast room”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We were introduced to the Portoghesi by friends, and have stayed there 4 times over the past 20 years. It has greatly upgraded itself in that time, but its most endearing feature - the roof-top, glass enclosed breakfast room/roof garden - is unchanged and a lovely way to begin the day. The rooms in the back of the house are quieter, but generally smaller, than the rooms in the front. The location is unbeatable - an easy walk to the Piazza Navona, or the Pantheon, or Giolitti, or three fabulous Caravaggios at San Luigi dei Francesi. Just down the street is Orso 80, a wonderful place for a long, delicious italian meal. We look forward to our return!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back (north and west) )are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pottios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    174
    41
    7
    5
See reviews for
135
212
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed here for three nights and it was great. Walked to the Colosseum (about 30 mins away), the Vatican, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Piazza Navona... you name it. Can't beat the location! The staff was courteous and spoke English well - they gave great restaurant recommendations and made the reservations for us, no problem. They also arranged a private car to the airport for us (45 Euro, about the same as a taxi, but our car was immaculate, on time, and the driver a pleasure to ride with). Breakfast was fine, nothing spectacular, but the rooftop deck certainly made up for any lack of culinary magic. Bathroom & room were small, but typical for European hotels. Very clean. Only drawback: no free wi-fi, had to pay for internet access/computer use. But would definitely stay here again. The neighborhood/location were fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank szullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, OH
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

If you have seen the movie Eat, Pray, Love you may have seen Hotel Portoghesi when Julia Roberts approached her residence in Rome, The Barbieri. This hotel was also featured in Cheap Sleeps in Italy and while no longer so cheap, it is a wonderful 'off of the beaten path' hotel that is perfectly located for many of the great destinations of Rome.

The rooms are typically Roman small, but nicely appointed and very clean. Perfectly located near Piazza Novonna, Campo di Fiori and the Vatican. At the end of your day pick up a bottle of wine (or two) and head up to the roof top garden for your own picturesque 'happy hour'. So Roman, so wonderful. Don't miss checking out the church next door. An unexpected jewel most tourists never see.

I have stayed at Hotel Portoghesi several times, sent many friends here too, I've always been extraordinarily satisfied, as have my friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MXDeCapua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here in a junior suite. It was large by European standards with a large bathroom. The hotel personnel, especially the front desk are unhelpful (sometimes rude) but we rarely needed and consequently did not use them. Breakfast is better than any other *** hotel we had in Italy other than **** Hotel Londra in Venice. Wait staff efficient.

The room rate is high for the quality of this hotel but is worth it for the charming neighborhood it is in and the convenient location

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Msaly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goshen CT
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Small, old-fashioned (not trendy) hotel just two short blocks off Piazza Navona. Easy walk from here to all the tourist sights.

Rooms are furnished very traditionally. Bathroom was modern and well appointed. Elevator worked perfectly. Wi-fi access is pay as you go, not complementary. One Euro per half hour. You have to purchase the hours you want at the desk.

The hotel is very clean. Quiet location made for good sleeping.

Breakfast terrace on the room is delightful. Wonderful full breakfast. However because of early morning tours and flights, we were able to take advantage of this only once.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We have stayed at the Portoghesi on two previous visits and were happy we had the chance to spend another three nights there on our departure from Italy. Most of the reviews have pretty well summed up the situation--nice rooms that are, mostly, not huge, but well appointed. A location that permits a leisurely walk of say 8 minutes to Piazza Navona or the Pantheon; walkable to the Vatican, and Castel San Angelo,
and fairly close to some important bus lines. The street is narrow and quiet for the most part--horn honking has really diminished in Rome over the past ten years. There are adequate restaurants nearby and some very fine ones as well. The Portuguese national church is next door and is a gem. Watch for concerts and recitals there--very interesting mixes of traditional and modern classical music. The included breakfast is served on the top floor which includes an open air area in nice weather. The food selection is fine and the only point to be made is to know that toward the end of the service hours food is not replenished and the door is shut on the dot of closing.

There are a few points which will not cause concern for most visitors, but it should be noted that while there is an elevator, it is reached by walking up two steps from the lobby. Also, it does NOT give access to the breakfast room, and that involves climbing a flight of stairs. As someone who occasionally has mobility issues, I think this could be significant for some folks. The staff are, for the most part, friendly and helpful. There are lockable safes in the room. Internet is available on a computer in the lobby--for which I think there is a charge. I had my own laptop and paid a fee for access. It is sold on basis of set number of hours and can be carried over from day to day. As in many Italilan hotels, the AC is centrally controlled or the thermostats are not offering much discretion. The weather was ok while we were there and we were able to keep our room comfortable, but I suspect during a hot spell, that the cooling is relative only to what is going on outside. But, if you want cool, come to Seattle!

We think the Portoghesi is a great hotel for visitors who are familiar with Rome, but not a bad 'first stop on first visit" place either. It does not boast luxuries, but offers comfort, quiet and convenience.

One overall tip--at least this past June, regular taxis offered a set rate to the FCO airport of, I think, 40 Euros--to which we added a 10 Euro trip for an especially fine driver whom we had engaged before. The hotel will set up a car to the airport, but I seem to recall that their charge was 60 Euros.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shri420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our Italy vacation for a total of 5 nights. The rooms were clean, continental breakkfast was good, and the location was outstanding. Walking distance to many of Rome's sights, in a quaint area close to restaurants and shopping. The staff was friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHL44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Colors Hotel
Navona Colors Hotel
#75 of 1,258 in Rome
651 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#114 of 1,258 in Rome
760 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Due Torri
Hotel Due Torri
#278 of 1,258 in Rome
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#45 of 1,258 in Rome
1,515 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#55 of 1,258 in Rome
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portoghesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portoghesi

Property: Hotel Portoghesi
Address: Via Dei Portoghesi 1, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#91 Business Hotel in Rome
#110 Family Hotel in Rome
#131 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the alleys of Rome that you always dreamed of, Hotel Portoghesi showcases elegant and comfortable 3-star interiors, including modern amenities in an area close to splendid Piazza Navona and the historical city center.The ancient building that hosts Hotel Portoghesi has retained its ancient architectural characteristics; its interiors feel like the romantic spirit of fascinating Rome lives on, an ideal venue for an evocative and unforgettable vacation ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Portoghesi Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing