We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short lines, check your backpack”
Review of Musei Capitolini

Musei Capitolini
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$102.50*
and up
Private Tour: Ancient Roman Art History Walking Tour
Ranked #48 of 1,516 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The creation of the Capitoline Museums has been traced back to 1471, when Pope Sixtus IV donated a group of bronze statues of great symbolic value to the People of Rome. The collections are closely linked to the city of Rome, and most of the exhibits come from the city itself.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Short lines, check your backpack”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The museum is fantastic as long as you have not over museumed by this point on your trip to Rome. The Colossus of Constantine and the statue of Marcus Aurelius are great sites to see. You cannot take your backpack with you so I suggest leaving it in the lockers that are free, and bringing your camera and/or video cam and some water and possibly a guidebook. I believe they do not officially allow cameras, but this was not enforced like it is at the Vatican. I video taped and snapped camera shots without repurcussion. The two museums are connected by an underground tunnel. If you cant find it just ask a museum rep. Even if they dont speak English they will understand what you are trying to find. The underground tunnel between the two museums I found fascinating. It is filled with tombstone epitaphs in latin of average Roman citizens. Roma Pass works here. Otherwise it is a 5 euro entry fee.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Josh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zetema M, gestore at Musei Capitolini, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Josh,
Thank you very much for visiting and for appreciating the museum. We would like to inform you that is allowed to take pictures without flash, but not at the artworks on display in temporary exhibitions. Videos are not permitted. Probably our staff couldn’t distinguish if you were taking a photo or shooting a video. Roma Pass can be used in the most important museums (but not at the Vatican, there you can find in the Omnia Pass). To find out the list of all the museums included in the Roma Pass, please visit: http://www.romapass.it/p.aspx?l=en&tid=3.
About the Musei Capitolini ticket price, we inform you that during the exhibition "The Age of Balance" the full price is 12 Euros. The concession of 5 euros is only for the exhibition “Tiffany & Gallè”.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,212
    527
    138
    38
    25
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Capitoline Museum April 2013”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great Find!!!! Many people might be "Turned Off" at the Prospect of "What, Another Museum ?" while visiting Rome, and it does not have the Name Recognition of The Vatican and the Borghese Museum(s), but WHAT A FIND!!! It has Much of the same Artists as are found in the Vatican, but on a Scale that is much more "practical". Instead of 22 rooms or Galleries of Paintings (which is quite Incredible) or what appear to be remarkably similar after a while, the Capitoline has perhaps 3 or 4 rooms or Galleries dedicated to the same Period or similar artists and Genre, then moves on to the Next Period or Type of Sculpture. Has a Great Area dedicated to Etruscan Period Sculpture and Pottery, and has some of the Remarkable ROMAN Empire Objets d'Arte. This does have the Amazing Bronze Casting of Marcus Augustus. The Vatican does have an INCREDIBLE SCOPE of Paintings and Sculptures, that can be OVERWHELMING (after a while), and even though we visited the Vatican Museums for Almost 7 hours (including St Peters Basilica), and STILL couldn't give it the time we could have spent viewing their amazing Collections, the CAPITOLINE can be viewed in about 3 hours (if you focused during your visit as we were), and if you take some time to read most of the well presented descriptions and background information, then 4-5 hours would be ample time to see this gem, WITHOUT feeling like you had to "Fast Forward" through some of the Galleries.
Definitely Worth a 3 hour visit. Facilities are Well Maintained, and This is One of the FEW that have ELEVATORS placed Periodically Through Their Galleries (many places in ROME have not been Retrofitted, nor COULD THEY BE, for people with any significant mobility or Stair Climbing Limitations).
Think of The Capitoline as "Vatican Lite", with better Air Conditioning and Much Less Crowded (at least in April).
The ONLY Downside that I could comment on was that the Museum Shop Closed at (if not just a little before) the Museum Itself Closed. We might actually have purchased something at their Gift Shop had we had a few minutes after the Museum was getting people to make their exit (uscita). Ideally, they might stay open about 15 minutes after the Closure of the Museum. I guess this gives us a "Reason to Return"!
Thanks, Mille Grazie!!!
Jim N. from Bellevue WA

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Impressive but needs better organization”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

A fantastic museum (claiming to be the oldest in the world ) We used an audio guide, English version. However, it was sometimes impossible to follow the guide's descriptions of the various items,as the numbering system in the museum was not organiazed meticuosly. Thus we sometimes had to hear the same guide info severeal times before we could locate the items which were described. A fantastic view from Tabulatarium, of ancient Rome.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tor Egil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bonneville, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“DO NOT miss this”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Amazing collection of statues, busts, Constantine, carvings... Wasnt crowded at all the day that I was there so I could admire the pieces that Iliked without being rushed along ( like at the Vatican) . Photos allowed on all but special exhibits. I would recommend going to the website and downloading a map beforehand and making a plan of attack. There is just so much to see and as some pointed out, not a lot of directional signage in the museums.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Overwhelming”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We visited on our first day in Rome, with a two year old. We could have spent the better part of a day here, but my husband is now a fan of museums. We were there for about four hours and saw probably less than half.
We saw the Marcus Aurelius statue, which is hard to miss. Some other pretty important pieces that are just there among rest. One of the main things I wanted to see was Agrippa's monument from the Mausoleum of Augustus; it was just sitting there in a hallway between sections. I don't even think there was a label or anything identifying it, but I'd seen the picture and recognized it as we passed.
Pay for the audio guide and plan to spend quite a bit of time there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Musei Capitolini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing