We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see”
Review of Palatine Hill

Palatine Hill
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$68.65*
and up
Segway Tour of Ancient Rome with Optional Skip-the-Line Colosseum Entry
Ranked #11 of 1,515 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The commercial, political and religious center of ancient Rome, which features the Arch of Septimus Severus, Temple of Saturn, Arch of Titus and the House of the Vestals.
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

You cannot go to Roma and not see this grandeur of days gone by. Standing at the point where you can see the Temple and the Pillars at the same time we made a video of the before (Marquee in front of you) and then the now video. Looked amazing when we showed folks back home.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jrny80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11,233
    4,241
    1,061
    172
    65
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

there is nothing to dislike about the roman forum an amazing piece of history a well worth trip we booked a tour guide which was great as without one you would not understand anything that you are looking at

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank louise124124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Plan ahead weatherwise”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We think the Forum visit could've been fantastic but unfortunately it was a disaster. We bought our 2 day tix to Forum/Palatine/Colisseum at the Forum entrance on Via del Fori Imperiale. The weather: January 2013, 40-ish with heavy rain the whole 3 hours that we trekked through mud and puddles. The ticket agents at the entrance were not helpful and didn't even provide a basic map with our admission. There were no guided tours available. Using Rick Steve's and Fodor's guides were impossible in the downpour plus they are not very clear if you don't have a point of reference when you enter. The signage at the Forum is awful. Unless you really know what you are looking at, don't go without a personal guide. We don't know how good the audio guide is because we're not audio guide people. Other visitors wandered about aimlessly like us and we all had the same complaints: Not knowing what we were looking at.
Re Palatine Museum - nothing memorable. The best thing about the Palatine Hill was the view of the Circus Maximus. We had the feeling in advance that the Palatine and the Forum were separate but they're not. The Palatine is a section of the Forum, just up a hill.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank B Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley West Sussex
Level Contributor
150 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Get Lost!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

You can get really lost here wandering around the ruins of the old gardens, palazzos and villas. A top tip is stout walking shoes as the cobbled streets and paths hurt your feet after a while. A lot of it is still being unearthed by the archeologists but there is still lots to see and do.
Orange trees line the structured garden which is an idel vantage spot to take some awseome photos of the surrounding area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank tanzicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley West Sussex
Level Contributor
150 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Briiliant view”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The view is amazing and the aquaduct is a prime example of mastercraft engineering. You can really imagine what it was like to live in those times

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank tanzicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palatine Hill also viewed

 

Been to Palatine Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing