We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Could be interesting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palatine Hill

Palatine Hill
Book In Advance
$73.13*
and up
Ancient Rome Segway Tour with Optional Skip the Line Colosseum Ticket
Ranked #11 of 1,264 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The commercial, political and religious center of ancient Rome, which features the Arch of Septimus Severus, Temple of Saturn, Arch of Titus and the House of the Vestals.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Could be interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We didn't have a book or guide and fairly little time to explore so I'm sure one can get more from this if they put in the effort. There is a small museum which presents a different aspect of the Roman Empire from the militaristic side usually focussed on in books/tv, which was quite interesting. The ruins themselves are reasonably impressive but there is a distinct lack of information provided.

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,073
    3,481
    896
    146
    51
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“only with guided tour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

there are no writen signs anywhere... If you don't have guide book, ther no reasen to go.
My suggest take guided tour, or don't go

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Nati S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not to miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The large majority of my reviews for Rome are four and five stars and thats for one simple reason, Rome IS amazing.

Its not every day, you get to walk around and be able to see and touch architecture thats over 1000 years old.

It was rather quiet here, this could be due to the vast landscape and how easy it is to spread out, whilst I didn't get a guided tour in hindsight I would recommend one, its a shame that I didn't get to completely understand the history behind the ruins. But, I had a fantastic time regardless of not having a tour.

I would recommend having plenty of water on you, as it was extremely hot and got extremely thirsty very quickly. This isn't one to miss.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hopelaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Valley, California
Level Contributor
255 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Get a Guided Tour or you will miss out on this experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Beautiful, not a lot of tourists, and so much history to see. You really need a guided tour however or you will miss out on what you are looking at all together. It is really "ruins" and you need an imagination to see what you are looking at. An amazing piece of land, beautiful gardens, and great views on the city....I see why emperors from the beginning of Rome to Mussolini all built homes on this hill. It is quite grand and a nice break from the bustling city around you. Plus it has shade and fresh air around you. Worth the walk through the grounds but be prepared to spend at least 2 hours there if you want to see everything it has to offer.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So much history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

As you walk through these ruins you have to us your imagination to transport you back in time to a much different place. Everywhere you turn there are hidden jems

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Srabs683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palatine Hill also viewed

 

Been to Palatine Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing