We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museo Nazionale Romano - Palazzo Altemps
Open today: 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Private Castel Sant'Angelo Tour with Palazzo Altemps
2

Book in advance
from
$389.38
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Museo Nazionale Romano - Palazzo Altemps
from $389.38
More Info
from $32.87
More Info
from $218.07
More Info
Reviews (520)
Filter reviews
520 results
Traveler rating
329
159
26
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
329
159
26
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national museum egyptian collection roman museums private chapel magnificent collection on display special exhibit beautiful pieces pope pius near termini combined ticket heart of rome audio guide gaul ludovisi sarcophagus sculptures
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 520 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful building with great sculptures and art.. theres just so much to take in and so grand... great for a rainy day... went there before i went to the vatican museums so all day i was just in the museums and worth every second..

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Abdul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 14, 2016

This is a great way of spending a rainy afternoon. The museum offers a large collection of ancient statuary including the Portonaccio Sarcophagus, and is in itself a beautiful Renaissance/early baroque palace with many of the wall paintings still surviving.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank AngharadWilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 7, 2016

I love the 4 venues of the National Museum, of which the Palazzo Altemps is one. The works of art there are of the highest artistic quality; the Palazzo itself in which they are housed is a worth a visit and best of all it is nearly empty. All the tourists are running around in hordes at the outside sites. If you like art don't miss this. It has the marvelous Ludovico sarcophagus and also a spectacular statute of a Gaul stabbing himself after his has killed his wife. They think it may have been a companion statute to the famous "Dying Gaul."

The location is easy to get to also. It is just north of the Plazza Navona.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Edna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 5, 2016

This gallery houses some of the most magnificent sculptures I have ever seen! It is huge and unfortunately I was only able to spend an hour and a half in here- which in my opinion wasn't nearly enough time to truly appreciate this place! There was barely anyone in here at the time which was astonishing since Pizza Novona was bustling right outside. I cannot wait to go back spend a few hours with these treasures. A must see while in Rome!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank nida s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 20, 2016

The simplicity and the astonishing quality of some of the pieces here make it the best collection of sculpture I've seen. Yes, the Vatican has the big hitters, but these rumble just below the surface and some make you melt. Because its less crowded you actually see the sculpture and the occasional juxtaposition make it more than the sum of its parts. With the Massimo it is extremely good value- and I would go here in preference to the Diocletian Baths (If you want a bath house go to the Caracalla) that comes on the same ticket.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews