We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb views, take the lift to the top!”

Monumento a Vittorio Emanuele II
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.85*
and up
Vittoriano Panoramic Rooftop Viewing with Skip-the-Line Colosseum Tour
More Info
$98.87*
and up
Small-Group Tour of Rome by Minivan and on Foot with Italian Coffee
More Info
$118.21*
and up
Rome in a Day Tour by Electric Bike
Ranked #29 of 1,536 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the center of Piazza Venezia, this grandiose monument, also known as the Altar of Patriotism, was erected between 1885 and 1911 to glorify the first king of Italy.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Superb views, take the lift to the top!”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is a good place to go; there's an open lift at the back to the top, 7e. Definitely worth the queue, 360 degree panoramas of Rome. Brilliant on a bright day!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank robww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,797
    2,276
    540
    100
    67
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic view but beware the journey back to ground level”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I cannot add to the script ions of what is an amazing construction. The complaint I have is with the regulation of the rooftop view. The entry is well controlled and there is an orderly queue for those waiting to be elevated to the rooftop. The average number of persons allowed to enter the lift was 7. Once we got to the top I realised that there was an extraordinary number of people taking advantage of the view. There was no official or staff member visible and I can only assume that the situation on top is self regulated the second lift was not operating and I can only assume that on busier days this would deal with descents. Both fire exits, presumable stairs to the ground floor were taped off and out of use. No matter, we enjoyed the view and then entered a very uncertain queue to get back to the single lift. I say uncertain because you could approach this from both directions and to be quite frank a bit of queue marshalling wonks have gone a long way to resolve what occurred. We were approaching the head of the queue, which by this time was four deep, when a 'delegation' appeared and forced their way to the front. There was no explanation or apology, just an arrogant position that this group had some form of self appointed priority. As a non-italian speaker and visitor to the city I remained silent but the locals amongst the crowd and those of a more spirited disposition made their feelings known. My wife was visibly shaken by what was taking place and there was considerable jostling and hostility evident. All of this could have been avoided by the presence of an official and a sensible queuing system. What would have happened if an evacuation was required? The lift attendant personified a chocolate fireguard and displayed Al the confidence of Bambi's first venture on ice. If you wear a uniform, and there are enough of them in Rome, you should accept the responsibility that goes with it. Shame on you for making what should have been a pleasant and exhilarating experience a nightmare!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank frosticle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“What a building!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is one of the most stunning buildings I have ever seen. It is huge.
The closer you get to the building, the more impressive it becomes.
You can go inside and there is no charge. There is a 7euro charge for going up in a glass elevator to the roof for views over Rome. The building sits way up, so there are panoramic views over the rooftops and church spires of the entire city.
There is a museum within this magnificent building dedicated to the unification of Italy and a war museum. I think it was well worth the visit.
Don't miss a visit to the building if you go to Rome. Also, go back at night and see it all lit up. It really is stunning.
Don't just pass it or stand outside and admire it. Go in and have a walk about inside.
Not to be missed!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eebz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
602 reviews
220 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“One of the best views of Rome”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The best part of this building is the view from the top - accessed via the glass lift at the rear of the building. In fact you can get to the lift by climbing the steps behind the building. It costs 7 euros - and is definitely worth it. The view all around from the top is spectacular.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning building & views”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

One of the most impressive monuments in Rome, it's a magnificent building that took my breath away. I didn't go inside except to climb the vast staircase to get to the lift, definitely recommend paying the €7 to get to the top, the views were the best I'd seen over my whole trip, could've spent hours up there! Also like the binoculars they have on both sides. Would definitely go back here

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank luciereeve13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monumento a Vittorio Emanuele II also viewed

 

Been to Monumento a Vittorio Emanuele II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing