We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of steps”

Monumento a Vittorio Emanuele II
Book In Advance
More Info
$66.59*
and up
Vittoriano Panoramic Rooftop Viewing with Skip-the-Line Colosseum Tour
Ranked #29 of 1,498 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the center of Piazza Venezia, this grandiose monument, also known as the Altar of Patriotism, was erected between 1885 and 1911 to glorify the first king of Italy.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
255 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Plenty of steps”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Unknown soldiers statue is for me place to visit every town where i go. Give respect for those who have fight for you. Monument is unbelieveble giant and it really have steps to climb up, but its worth of that. When you are up do yhink that its all. Turn over corner and take elevator to roof and see over Rome. just like from helicopter. Beautiful wiev. really worth of all work you have to do before you are up there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,460
    2,112
    504
    94
    63
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
638 reviews
388 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 771 helpful votes
“Imposing monument”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

What a view! This monument is truly impressive and beautiful. It is so worth visiting! Take the time to read the information about the construction (you will find it close to the elevator). Got to say Wow!!! While visiting the monument, stop inside the museum, it's free and very interesting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SylvieFrancois444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Grand and free”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

This grand and elaborate monument in the middle of Rome was beautiful and well maintained. It is definitely worth taking the steps to the terrace, although perhaps I went to the wrong one because I couldn't find the view that other Trip Advisor reviewers have mentioned, however I enjoyed looking out towards St Peters Basilica and I must admit I got a thrill watching moped riders come within inches of being knocked off by tour buses. I have taken one star because I was absolutely desperate for the toilet but had to cross my legs because I do not pay to use the toilet out of principle.

Helpful?
1 Thank PPPPPeterr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The massive amount of marble makes this monument hard to miss. It is worth the walk up the steps to explore, but beware! You cannot sit on the steps or some very angry policemen will make you move. When you get to the top, reflect on the interesting conversion of Ancient and Modern Rome.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingPalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This monument is the most stunning building I have ever seen. We were with a group and our bus drove around it many times while our guide explained it's history. I did not know that you could go inside or that there is a free museum until reading Trip Advisor. It is obvious that we missed out. We we were only in Rome for 3 days but this monument would have been well worth seeing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Giffy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monumento a Vittorio Emanuele II also viewed

 

Been to Monumento a Vittorio Emanuele II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing